We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I make a yearly trip to Santa Fe, and have avoided staying in Albuquerque until last year when we tried Los Poblanos. Now it's our yearly trip to Santa Fe and Albuquerque. The Los Poblanos grounds and territorial architecture are exquisite. The common areas are inviting and the guest rooms are nothing short of perfect. The bed linens are line dried when the weather permits. The dining room is creative and features beautiful local ingredients. This place is a keeper.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Everything about Los Poblanos is different, from the way former worker residences have been reworked to rustic/modern rooms and suites, with woodburning fireplaces, high ceilings, and period furniture, plus great beds. The dining experience, based on their own greenhouse and fields, puts an herb or spice twist on the classic dishes in a modest but enjoyable menu. The staff are all friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

Room Tip: Farm Suites #1 and #2 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCM1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was a unique experience to stay on a lavender farm. The snow showers and freezing cold weather were a surprise to us but it was nice to see the snow again. The fireplaces in the rooms were a cozy addition. The breakfast area was warm and inviting. We purchased the lavender salve at the barn store that received amazing reviews that seems to help with dry skin, insomnia, cuts, and even heard it is used in Japan as a competitor with Botox. Awaiting its arrival in the mail.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ambience Amazing. Quaint, soothing, beautiful, historic, service A+. Grounds beautiful, farm active, animals charming, food excellent. We only had one night, wished for more. Will absolutely return! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lininaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose Los Poblanos for an overnight in Albuquerque on a cross country Route 66 Adventure. It is a bit removed from the lively heart of the city, but offers views of the mountains and a more natural setting among gardens and lavender fields. Checking in, Sarah was super friendly and helpful. She has a great sense of humor and gave us a wonderful property room. Our room was bright and airy with a four poster bed, sitting area, wall mounted tv, and large kitchen area. Plenty of closet space and sumptuous lavender bath products that they produce at the farm. The pure white rooms felt a bit sterile, but still very luxurious for a farm. There is free internet and lots to do on site. There are guided farm tours, multiple gardens to walk, plenty of event space, a charming farm shop, greenhouse, honeybees, a pool and the best part.....the animals.

Wandering the grounds are peacocks and other fowl. There are chickens, goats, sheep, cows, llamas and my favorite, pigs. They have coin operated feed dispensers too. It was neat to hear crows in the morning and assorted farm animal noises throughout the night.

We had dinner in their restaurant which uses as much on site or local produce as possible. It was very good. As was their included breakfast. We would have liked more than 2 choices at breakfast, but we appreciated the creativity and flavor balances in the dishes.

Los Poblanos gave us a very romantic and laid back night in Albuquerque and we are very glad we stayed here. The unique combination of organic farm and luxury inn found a very nice balance and we truly enjoyed exploring their property and experiencing their hospitality first hand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I loved the feel of the place on arrival. The grounds are beautiful, and unlike anything in most other places. That should not be understated. It's a exceptionally unique location, business, and concept, all of which I immensely appreciate.

The accommodations have promise, but had their issues. The room we were staying in was infested with a variety of bugs. We had to deal with a few dozen each evening before going to bed and another few dozen each morning upon waking. This was rather off-putting, as we were not expecting nor prepared for a camp-like experience at that price. The shower, while beautiful, leaked water from the sides. The room was large. The artwork and furnishings were fun and interesting. The fireplace was a plus and quite cozy, even if not always set up to burn properly. The lavender amenities were also nice, though never replenished (even simple things when "used up", like shampoo).

The food was generally good, sometimes exceptional and sometimes below average. On the below average occasions, it tasted like someone was trying too hard to put lots of things in a dish without much specific thought on the taste or preparation. On the exceptional occasions, the food rivaled and surpassed the very best restaurants around the country and world. Either way, it's very fresh and locally sourced food from folks that seem to generally care about it.

In my experience, the majority (though not all) of the staff was surprisingly rude, or perhaps just generally disinterested and unhelpful. I didn't understand this, especially from what was billed as a local business and functioning organic farm / inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosPoblanos, Manager at Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hello T B,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps our small business continue to grow and improve. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and on-site dining. However, I am so sorry you were disappointed with our service. As seen by our other guest reviews, we take great pride in providing excellent customer service throughout all of our guests’ time at Los Poblanos. I have discussed your review with our maintenance and housekeeping staff and please be assured that we have addressed the issues you encountered during your stay. We have also consulted our on-call pest control company, who practices all natural pest control, to make sure no future guest will encounter a similar situation in any of our rooms.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We hope you will consider Los Poblanos for a second visit the next time you’re in Albuquerque.

With regards,
Nancy Kinyanjui
Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

You're crazy to miss the included breakfasts. Some of the best food I've ever had. The aspens in late October are ablaze of yellow. My friend spend hours chasing the peacocks on the property for a perfect picture. Just an amazing getaway. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Girard rooms are lovely and old--but also have old bathrooms. Just keep that in mind. Bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinkies1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,426 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
148 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,846 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#32 of 143 in Albuquerque
517 reviews
Isleta Resort & Casino
#23 of 143 in Albuquerque
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

Address: 4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-5520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £155 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among 25 acres of lavender fields, enormous cottonwood trees, and lush formal gardens, Los Poblanos is one of the most magnificent historic properties in the Southwest. Designed in 1932 by the region's foremost architect, John Gaw Meem, Los Poblanos combines 50 guest rooms, a working organic farm, and the ideal setting for meetings and special events. The natural beauty, comfort and privacy of Los Poblanos offer our guests a truly relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Poblanos Historic Inn And Organic Farm
Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing