We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A car guy's dream”

Unser Racing Museum
Ranked #16 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A car guy's dream”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a well-designed and modern museum, featuring many of the racing cars driven by the various members of the Unser family. It also has a building filled with classic road cars and trucks, automotive art, and all the trophies the family has won. You can usually find Al Unser himself there, and he is very friendly and open to talking about cars.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    52
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unser Family Racing”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Visited this museum in Albuquerque and certainly found it well worthwhile; located not too far off I-10. Nicely arrayed race and family vehicles for the Unsers, with stories of interest. Either view at your own pace, or guides are provided for additional information; found all staff to be very friendly and knowledgeable. Several "hands-on" interactive displays for kids (young or old); some of the "older" kids (with gray hair) were especially attracted to the simulator and trying their hand at actually driving a race car on a track! Two buildings on the premises and the second one includes a room full of trophies collected by members of the family. Also, a nice souvenier shop. Admission quite reasonable. If you have any interest, well worth the stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Packardite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams Center
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Show”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This Museum has the story and the actual vehicles that the Unser Family had raced through the years and items that were used in Garages of yesteryear, of which some that I used in my Garage in the late 50's. Got to meet and shake hands with Mr. Unser. We were late getting there, so many things were missed. If you plan on going, spend at least a halfday to see everything. What I didd take in was well worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not just for Indy fans”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Saw the reviews for this museum on Trip Advisor, so we decided to go. We are in Albuquerque visiting for a week. We were not disappointed. The admission price of $6 for military and seniors is inexpensive and well worth the 2-3 hours we spent there. This is the first museum that I have been in where they greet you and then accompany you to the different rooms to give you a personal overview of the museum. The place is loaded with cars, videos, photos, trophies and everything is labeled and explained. I was impressed with the archive room which is in the second building. When you leave there, you have a better understanding of the Unser family and what racing means to them, now and 4 generations ago.
This is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Whilst attending the Balloon Fiesta I was driving around and came across the Unser Museum, what a piece of luck! This museum although small compared to some is one of the best laid out. I am not even an Indy fan but have still heard about Al Unser and his son Al Unser Jr, so it was not completely alien to me.

The cars are absolutely fantastic and laid out in a way that you can get some really great pictures. I was totally surprised to see the legend that is Al Unser walking about talking to visitors and readily posing for pictures with them. I thought what a geniune gentlemen he was, no airs and graces, like some of the so called superstars in F1 who haven't achieved anything near what Al has in his career.

To get an idea of the Unser family achievements you just need to look at the trophy/archive rooms which are stacked floor to ceiling.

This is a must see if you are in Albuquerque, I will definately visit again when I'm there.

I must mention the staff who were all excellent and couldn't do enough to explain or show you around the exhibts giving the full history behind each of the cars, their knowledge was second to none.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pointscollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unser Racing Museum also viewed

 

Been to Unser Racing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing