We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #82 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our first stay at the Econo Logde. Although getting in and out can be a little tricky due to traffic, the location is excellent! The room was very nice and clean, bed were comfy. This room seemed to be recently remodeled--everything was in excellent condition. Staff (especially cleaning staff) were very friendly. I would have given this location a "Very good" possibly even an "Excellent" rating, but I chose Average due to 2 things. These things are very important to my family---The pool definitely needed to be cleaned, both days we were there...lots of bugs, but also some trash, including cigarette butts. Breakfast was very limited. Coffee and juice, toast, and cereal was available--Nothing more. If you breakfast is important to you, plan on going somewhere else. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank texaskids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I'm glad you found our location to be convenient and our housekeeping staff to be welcoming. However, I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in quality amenities. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I assure you that we are correcting this issue for improved convenience in future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped in at this Econo Lodge for a night as we were passing through Albuquerque. I generally try to stay away from Econo Lodge because they tend to be old run-down motels in seedy locations. I got a good rate through Priceline and was "assigned" this motel.
I was pleasantly surprised! The motel is well-cared for. It is old and crumbly in some parts but the owners are doing a good job keeping it up to "Choice Hotels" standards. The lobby is clean and reasonably up to date. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi was free and worked well. The worst thing I could say was that I had to jiggle the handle on the toilet to stop the water from running.
The breakfast was very basic continental: Cereal, danish, watered-down orange juice, coffee, and toast was all there was, so we went to McDonald's. All in all, not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgar2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for finding the time to write a review from your busy schedule. We sincerely appreciate the very positive comments regarding how we strive to maintain our property, the overall cleanliness of the amenities, as well as the hospitality of our staff. We do hope that you would stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I made a reservation for my son using points obtained as a Platinum Level Choice Privileges Member. The reservation (which I can prove because I still have the original email) was for a SMOKING room. As per policy, the property required a credit/debit card for incidental expenses. Yesterday, my son discovered that the hotel charged $50 against his card. When I called the hotel to ask why, I was told it was because he smoked in the room. Later, he was ALSO charged a $36 overdraft fee by the bank. After numerous calls to the Guest Relations Department, the hotel reimbursed the $50 - but refuses to reimburse the overdraft fee that THEY caused. It is almost worth paying the $137 to file a small claims case in Magistrate Court. It's the principal. The room ended up costing 8,000 points AND $36. There is no reason management could not have rectified this situation.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radiopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback. You can be assured that we will conduct an investigation to get to the root of the matter. We want to emphasize that it is only when a decision of a department is against our policy that it will be reversed in favor of a guest. However, if it is determined that a decision is valid, then it will be left to stand. Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night while passing through. The customer service was very pleasant. The free breakfast was adequate. Regular carbs as usual and milk for protein. Not too bad. Bed was fine. Needed to hold down handle to flush toilet and that was fine. No security chain inside the door

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ugogo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know that you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you for electing to stay at our property.

We are very glad to hear that on the whole we were able to give you a superb experience. Reviews such as yours motivate us to reach for even greater heights.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, accommodation, and complimentary breakfast.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 Days. When we got there though which was at 3p.m. our rooms weren't ready so we still had to wait 30 min. For them to finish. They're average in cleanliness but we got a no smoking room and got a bed with a sheet with a hole from a cigarette burn. There's a mini fridge, a microwave and a tv in the room. Breakfast just includes coffee, pastries, bread, and cereal. What I did like is that it's walking distance from downtown and minutes away from the bio park and all the museums.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vnessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is important to us, as it tells us whether we are doing a splendid job or we need to correct certain deficiencies.

We apologize that your room was not ready for occupancy immediately after your arrival and you had to wait for 30 minutes. In addition, you found a hole in the bed sheet. We want to assure you that these do not commonly occur. Normally, our rooms are prepared well ahead of a guest's expected time of arrival to avoid inconvenience. Also, our standards dictate that the bedding provided be fresh and free from stains or holes. Your comments will be shared with the head of our housekeeping department for proper review.

Thank you for acknowledging that you were able to take full advantage of our great location.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again. It was a pleasure serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

clean and nice people we almost always stay here when traveling through. We had terrible internet this time. Will ask for room closer to the "hub" next time. Good location if you are traveling I40.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We know you have a choice when you travel and greatly appreciate you decided to stay with us once more.

Thank you for your kind praises which will be shared with the entire staff who work hard each day to ensure the whole place is immaculately clean and our guests feel welcome.

As for your comment on our Wi-FI connection, we shall be looking into this matter. We realize how important it is in this day and age to be connected to the internet to be in contact with family, friends, or co-workers, to access files, or to conduct your business.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff was very nice and seemed genuinely interested in pleasing their customers at the Econo Lodge Downtown. The location was spot on and felt very safe and it was awesome we could literally park our car right at the door to our room. My one complaint is the cleanliness. I found dried pee spots on the toilet and also some unknown sticky substance on the sink counter. I wish I would have just asked the friendly staff to have it cleaned because I'm sure they'd have been happy to help. Overall, I don't think you can get much better for the price! Also, if you got it, use your AAA discount!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlesunflower22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

It gave us great pleasure to read you that overall you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. They will be most happy to hear that their sincere efforts to serve and care did not go unnoticed or unappreciated. We are also pleased to learn that our ideal location and reasonable prices worked for you. We sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future. Have no doubt that we will double our efforts to ensure each room is spotlessly clean and you can trust our staff to serve you with the same boundless energy and enthusiasm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
#101 of 144 in Albuquerque
72 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#75 of 144 in Albuquerque
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
771 reviews
Econo Lodge East
#48 of 144 in Albuquerque
191 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
#104 of 144 in Albuquerque
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 817 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Downtown Albuquerque hotel near the Albuquerque Convention CenterThe Econo Lodge® Downtown is conveniently located less than one mile from the Albuquerque Convention Center and the University of New Mexico. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is close to popular attractions like the Albuquerque Aquarium, the Rio Grande Zoo, historic Old Town Albuquerque and the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta.The Albuquerque International Sunport airport is three miles away. The surrounding area offers a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and eateries. The hotel is close to several restaurants and cocktail lounges, including the Artichoke Café, McDonald's, Milton's Family Restaurant and Coaches Sports Grill.Superior hotel accommodations include:Free continental breakfastFree local callsFree coffeeOutdoor heated poolPet-friendly hotel (stay fee applies)This Albuquerque, NM hotel also provides business travelers with additional conveniences like large work desks and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers and coffee makers. Some rooms feature balconies. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms can be requested.Ample parking is provided on the premises and can accommodate most vehicles and trucks.The Econo Lodge Downtown offers ideal accommodations, friendly customer service and affordable rates, with easy access to all Albuquerque, New Mexico attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing