We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for your money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelona Suites
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Barcelona Suites is a good value for the money. All rooms are suites with a small kitchen area. They have a free breakfast with bacon, potatoes, and real eggs prepared the way you want by a chef. Most places serve powdered eggs that taste like powdered eggs. The breadfast area is a large beautiful area surrounded by hundreds of tropical plants. It is in a quiet area of Alququerque but easy to get to. There is underground parking. We have stayed there several times in the past few years and we have never been disappointed with our stay

Room Tip: The place has central air conditioning instead of noisy window units that cycle on and off all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    100
    62
    49
    63
See reviews for
154
78
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We "discovered" this hotel in a travel guide and were pleasantly suprised. Nice, clean, affordable
2-room suites with kitchen, microwave, and refrigerator.
The best part was the breakfast--great!!! Freshly prepared by an on-site cook. WAY better than the bagels/oatmeal deal you get at most big chains.
I would stay here again and were recommend to others.

The only drawback--no onsite fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 302traveler302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

we looked at the hotel online and it looked nice in the pictures but once we checked in it was all a nightmare from there. our first room was gross there was a cockroach in the first living room as we make our way to the bedroom we go to close the curtains and there was bulletholes all over the window im traveling with my hubby and 2 kids 4 and 5 months we immediatley request a new room and as we make our way to the second room we have to pass a bunch of drunken idiots to get to our room once there the room just seemed filthy and there was a bunch of bugs in the doorway and our living room window was right in front of the drunken idiots and they were closing the door and opening it loud NEVER in my LIFE will i stay there again and i recommend to find a new room it sucks having to change rooms at 1:00 in the am with little kids after we told the front desk we were going to change rooms we still got charged for the room but eventually we received the money back!! after 2 weeks dont waste your time!!!

Room Tip: go to the sheraton right down the road same price but BETTER and UPGRADED service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had a good time in our last visit and wanted to try the Downs Casino close by. Both places were great. Down the road close to the mall the prices are higher - but the prices at the barcelona hotel are resonable with great breakfast and still very close to the mail. Love the atrium and the beautiful features. Will definetely recommend to all friends.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side of the hotel much easier access from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. The Downs Casino is very close to the hotel and many guests stay here who visit there. We do try to provide reasonable rates and a great value for your the money.

We hope that you will stay with us again soon,

Thank you-
Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our stay was enjoyable and when venturing out into Albuquerque, we will stay at Barcelona again. It was quiet, clean, affordable and breakfast was good. The rooms are spacious which is a plus for a family with kids.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarreola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are working hard every day to keep up the cleanliness of the hotel and our spacious rooms are perfect for families.

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Thanks again,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup NM USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I have stayed twice at the BARCELONA SUITES, in Northeast Albuquerque. We learned at the hotel that it was built in the 1970s as a singles apartment complex, then it evolved into a hotel. Easily located at the corner of Lomas Blvd. and Louisiana Avenue, behind Burger King. There are both indoor and outdoor pools; rooms are meticulously clean. Parking in front is very limited; I recommend parking on a side street while checking in. Once registered, you will move your car to the secure parking beneath the building. The lobby and main dining area are MAGNIFICENT --- the decore is Spanish colonial with high ceilings and with many decorations. Wedding receptions and other grand events are held on the main meeting area, it is so grand. The rooms are all large suites in eight wings ---- living room, kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom. As apartments, closet space is limited, but as hotel rooms, the units are very spacious. Each unit has two large TVs, fridge and micro. A cooked-to-order breakfast is included in the rent, and parking in the covered garage beneath the building is free. Location is good, with the New Mexico state fair grounds located diagonally across the street. My only complaint about BARCELONA SUITES is that the room rates have edged upwards, despite the depressed economy. The two times we stayed there, we had an attractive coupon rate of $54 + tax; now there is a surcharge for weekends and the coupon rate too has risen by $5.00 . I'd recommend to the hotel to return the room rates to what they were, work on increasing the occupancy rate, and then hold off the price increases until the economic recession eventually ends. I have a steady job, both with no pay raises for the past five years, I have to minimize my own expenses. Steve Buggie, Gallup NM

Room Tip: Lomas and Louisiana are both busy streets, but traffic noise is no problem anywhere at Barcelona Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Our atrium area, as you mentioned, is a unique feature of this hotel.

Our gated garage is an added security and feature for many guests. Our spacious rooms are larger than most hotels in Albuquerque. In addition, we pride ourself in our cooked to order breakfast, served each morning. Thank you for your suggestions about our room rates, we will definitely look into this and see how we can best accommodate you on your next visit.

Thank you again,

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We loved this hotel! We stopped here on our travel from Texas back to Kentucky, we lucked into this wonderful place to stay. The hotel was charming, the people were so friendly, and the made to order breakfast was wonderful. I hope to be able to travel back to this area again and I can't wait to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmexicot123, General Manager at Barcelona Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We can't wait for you to visit us again.

Malini Perumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#39 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Suites

Property: Barcelona Suites
Address: 900 Louisiana Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-7009
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barcelona Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are spacious (500 sq. ft) two rooms suites with a separate living area, bedroom, two televisions and pull-out sleeper sofa. Free HOT cooked to order breakfast. Indoor pool, Seasonal Outdoor pool, Spa, and Business Center. Lounge Open Thursday - Saturday. Conveniently located in Uptown Albuquerque close to ABQ Uptown, Coronado Mall, and numerous restaurants. Also nearby to the State Fairgrounds (EXPO NM) and the Downs racetrack and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelona Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing