We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66 charm & more”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were thrilled with our room at the Monterey. It had all the charm that motels used to have, yet was spotless & had everything we needed & great location. Although we only stayed one night on our drive from Phoenix to Denver, we will definitely try to go back. So many little pleasantries like the wonderful smelling honey almond soaps & complimentary Belvita bars. Highly recommend this motel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice clean place within walking distance of Old Town. Be careful to follow the owner's helpful advice and enter and exit as directed and you and he will be happy campers. No breakfast offered here and the choices nearby seem limited. Great value for the price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank nichpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It's fun staying in a real motel. It reminds me of traveling on other parts of Route 66 as a kid with my parents. In those days we only stayed in motels. All were cheap; most were clean. The Monterey Non-Smokers motel is well-maintained. The furnishings are simple, comfortable and kept clean. Everything appeared in good working order. The owners are charming and recommended good restaurants in Old Town Albuqerque. We stayed two nights. Our daughter and a friend had stayed during the summer, and they recommended it to us. Can't beat the rates either!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This is a classic Route 66 motel in ABQ (so bear that in mind when you're looking for a place to stay). It's authentic retro but that doesn't mean it's old, falling to pieces, unclean or uncomfortable.

It's none of these - I spent a couple of very enjoyable nights here and found it very well looked after, the owner was super helpful and friendly and while it's not a modern hotel by any means its safe, clean and very comfortable. For the price it's an absolute steal.

Some might think it a bit dated but that's part of the appeal: if you're looking for a genuine Route 66 experience, I have to think you'll be hard pressed to find a better place than here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank bhaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I wish that all hotels and motels were as charming and delightful as the Monterey Non-Smokers Motel. My 3-night stay here was just about as pleasant and comfortable as it could get. The owners are a charming Polish couple who have devoted the last 15 years to making their motel the best it can be. Their pride clearly shows in the care of the property. There are several pots scattered around filled with colorful flowers and beautiful rose bushes that surround the doors of the rooms. Although small, there is nice pool, laundry area, and a convenience room with soda and ice machines. There are also several books and magazines to borrow, if you want to read while lounging around the pool. My room contained a small fridge, large closet, wide-screen tv, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, small table with two chairs, to sit and eat at, desk for my laptop, free wifi, dresser, and a very comfortable queen-sized bed, with lots of pillows. The motel is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in Old Town. It's also close to the museums and interstates. I highly recommend the Monterey, if you need to spend a night or two in Albuquerque, or if you're just passing through. I hope your stay is as great as mine was!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is absolutely spotless. A credit to the owner and cleaners. Big chains should learn how to keep hotels clean by visiting this place. Lovely owners. Great location. Safe and quiet. Undesirable guest are declined which is great. There is no need to stay anywhere else in Albuquerque, you'd be stupid to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tristanclappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Driving in to the old style motel, we at first thought that we had made an error in reserving here, but were pleasantly surprised with the room. Decorations were a little old fashioned, but the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. We were able to walk to the Historic Old Town for dinner, albeit having to cross at a very busy intersection. We stayed again (at a lower price because the Balloon Festival was over) on our way back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catsnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#14 of 144 in Albuquerque
810 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,432 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
159 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#42 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing