We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the old days, only better”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #19 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My last trip down Route 66 was in 1970, so I'm not sure if this is one of the motels I stayed at or not, but it sure is in better shape than the $3 rooms back then. Owners are friendly and helpful, room is clean. Nothing fancy, but if clean and comfortable is your main concern, it is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Highway is noisy in the evening, but it quiets down fairly well. Near the rear might be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My second review. Very pleasant and comfortable place to stay, usually in room 12. It is a little back from the road and not noisy. The cleanliness of the facility can not be matched by corporate motels which save money by cutting service. I love the old world Polish cookies on the table for bed time snack. The last time I saw that was in an old expensive downtown hotel in Louisville which still treasures traditional comforts for travelers. It was Christmas Eve so the pool wasn't open, but the location is walkable to view the lights and music in Old Town on Christmas Eve. There are several local restaurants, as they are too small to offer breakfast, including several New Mexican choices. My most welcomed place to stay when I travel.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two are near Central Avenue and may be noisy with traffic in the mornings, but they us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chacochaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Place was clean, owners are very nice, but the beds were like torture racks--so hard that we tossed and turned all night. Think we will opt for a little higher end next time, but it you are looking for low price and don't mind the beds you will be okay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank kat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

hotel Monterey is clean and the location is good, the price was good at 58.00 plus tax. not really sure i'd stay there again, but for 1 night it was ok.
probably the best thing about it was that your able to park right in front of your room. i'd say the thing I disliked the most is the really out dated decor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were thrilled with our room at the Monterey. It had all the charm that motels used to have, yet was spotless & had everything we needed & great location. Although we only stayed one night on our drive from Phoenix to Denver, we will definitely try to go back. So many little pleasantries like the wonderful smelling honey almond soaps & complimentary Belvita bars. Highly recommend this motel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice clean place within walking distance of Old Town. Be careful to follow the owner's helpful advice and enter and exit as directed and you and he will be happy campers. No breakfast offered here and the choices nearby seem limited. Great value for the price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank nichpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It's fun staying in a real motel. It reminds me of traveling on other parts of Route 66 as a kid with my parents. In those days we only stayed in motels. All were cheap; most were clean. The Monterey Non-Smokers motel is well-maintained. The furnishings are simple, comfortable and kept clean. Everything appeared in good working order. The owners are charming and recommended good restaurants in Old Town Albuqerque. We stayed two nights. Our daughter and a friend had stayed during the summer, and they recommended it to us. Can't beat the rates either!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#17 of 143 in Albuquerque
802 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
148 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,846 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing