We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Comrades "Outstanding Motel Value & Ambience!"”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadian Comrades "Outstanding Motel Value & Ambience!"”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Monterey Non-smokers Motel is a trip back into the past that folds around you like a comfortable chair. Everything is as we remembered it from the '50's, but cleaner and better maintained. (everything worked perfectly!)
Location was close to all the attractions we had wanted to see, especially historic Old Albuquerque.
Our host and hostess, (the Owners) were most congenial, helpful and all around "nice people"
to talk to and be around.
We would highly recommend this Motel to everyone who reads this article, and we are planning a return trip next year.

Many Thanks for a Great Visit, Good Conversations each day, and a special hug and kiss
to Victor. All this made our trip a memorable one.

Wayne & Jann, your Canadian Comrades

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    162
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
106
238
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really have nothing to add that others haven't covered. Cheap, convenient, clean and an easy walk to Old Town this is a perfect location. The rooms are large and quiet - and although an old building the place echoes the care that is obviously take to maintain it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Well maintained and spotless, this vintage Route 66 motor hotel is everything other reviews report. The owner-manager is accommodating and helpful with area attractions and restaurants. Just a 5 minute walk to the historic plaza, it is well located and a true delight and exceptional value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LightPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, TX
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I reserved a room at the Monterey just for one night. Check in was fast and easy. Our room had its own parking spot next to the door. The shrubbery needed a little trim around our door, but you can tell the property is well maintained. The exterior is in good repair, the parking lot was well marked and there was plenty of signage. Our room was super super clean. I couldn't even find dust on the base boards in the bathroom. In fact the bathroom was in such good shape, I would have felt okay eating in there. We had a small fridge, a flat screen TV, a sitting area with a table and cookies. The carpet looked older but it was maintained. The sheets were clean and the bedspread appeared very clean. This room did not need a blue light inspection and this is the first time in a long time I can say I felt okay to lay on the bedspread. The beds were comfortable and I slept very well. The AC unit was a little noises but it wasn't so bad it kept us awake. The pool was closed whole we we there but the area looked clean. The owner was on property when we checked in and he was very nice to give us directions and recommendations on places to eat. We would stay again!

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or fitness center. Trip Advisor would not let me unchecked these two options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were on a Route 66 motorcycle ride and found one of those great old motels in Tucumcari New Mexico (Historic Route 66 Motel) but we were too early to stay there. The manager recommended the Monterey Motel in Albuquerque as that would be our final city of the day. We were glad she told us about it. The Monterey is in old downtown Albuquerque and we were able to walk to everything. The proprietor was a neat old guy from Poland with a nice personality. The rooms were clean and fresh and had the old fashioned look right down to the little metal plaque that told you when checkout was and where to leave the key. And roses - incredible rose bushes between every room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clif2nG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Extremely clean and well cared for vintage motel. If you are on a Route 66 road trip and want to experience the good old days be sure to stay here. Excellent location a short walk to Old Town Albuquerque and Botanical Gardens. Very friendly and helpful owners to assist you. Best place we stayed at on our road trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wonderfully clean and comfortable room and property. Very pretty room with lots of special touches. A must stop for Route 66 fans when in Albuquerque! Very near to Old Town and lots of restaurants, history, shopping and entertainment!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cbcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
746 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#73 of 144 in Albuquerque
364 reviews
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Property: Monterey Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing