We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay along Route 66”
Review of Monterey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Motel
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We are traveling from Chicago to LA via Route 66 and wanted to stay in hotels originally built for The Mother Road. This one came highly recommended so we decided to give it a try. Gustav was very firm that rooms were for non-smokers, no pets were permitted and swimmers must wear shoes when walking to the pool. This all sounded very reasonable to us. We stayed in room 15 and were able to park in front of our door. The room had received updates which made for a pleasant stay. The room included digital TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, wifi and a writing desk. We really enjoyed the well kept swimming pool. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alaska_Railroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

When bragging about the motel to the owner, Henry, he said "thank you, it's my 'baby'." You can tell. The room were IMMACULATE and the grounds were more than clean... They were "loved". Just a quick walk to Old Town. It was a highlight of our Rt. 66 trip.

Room Tip: Request a room off the road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KellieDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Henry the owner welcomed us in true old school friendly helpful style. The rooms are large and well equipped. Really luxury compared to others. This is a place to stay and within a short walk to the old town and good restaurants / cafes, etc

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel yearly because it is such a favorite. This year I was traveling with my 82-year-old father, my 38-year-old son and my 5-year-old grandson, which left me needing special accommodations to suit the group of us. And Monterey did not disappoint.

We had a large room with two queen beds and a pull-out queen couch. The room also featured a table a chairs, a refrigerator, a large bathroom, an ironing board and iron, a hair dryer and very effective air conditioning. There is also a lovely pool, laundry facilities, a lending library and lots of vending machines. This is an old-fashioned motel in which you can pull your car up to your door in a numbered parking space so no one else can take it. Lovely shrubbery and flowers grow around each door to make it feel homey and add a little privacy. The owners (from Poland) are friendly and helpful in giving wonderful suggestions of what to do each day. They also leave a little packet of tasty Polish cookies in your room each day. (These cookies are also made in this country, but they only use the authentic Polish variety, because they "taste better.")

BUT you cannot smoke in a room. They are adamant about that, which is a bonus for me. The also are picky about people making too much noise and people arriving after 10 p.m. on the night of their reservations.

But it is the cleanest, most pleasant hotel I've found and at a wonderful price. And it is within walking distance of Old Town and only a mile away from the BioPark. For me, it's perfect. Which is why I return yearly.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but using the small exit at the back of the parking lot is perfect for exiti...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebErlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has everything you expect or need for an overnighter on old Route 66. The hotel is right on the Mother Road and has the requisite neon sign to welcome you in. The owners (from somewhere in eastern Europe, I think) are nice, very hospitable folks and live on site. The rooms are like time capsules from the days when we traveled with our parents in the family truckster.
The owners were very helpful in telling us about things to do in Old Town, which is within easy walking distance and the location was right on our route. Also, the motel is motorcycle friendly and has fast free Wi-fi.
Rates were very reasonable and the rooms were cleaned and well-equipped. The pool was also very well kept and was a welcome amenity after a long, hot day's ride.
Please bear in mind, though, that my Excellent score is not one of those that attempts to compare this motel with the big, full service luxury brands but, instead, with similar hotels in the same price range.
This is a neat old throwback hotel and I highly recommend a night in a time capsule for anyone who wants a good night's sleep without blowing their travel budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoky_Mtns_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great motel with big clean rooms and good beds. The owner is very helpful and it's only a short walk into the old town.

Road noise is present but not too bad, a/c moderatly noisy, the motel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to the Grand Canyon. Our host was very sweet and informative about Old Town which is only a few blocks away. The room was spacious and clean and an absolute bargain. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
768 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,778 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#75 of 144 in Albuquerque
368 reviews
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Motel

Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £64 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est.1936, the Monterey Motel is a renovated historic Route 66 motel uniquely situated in Albuquerque's Old Town, and within walking distance of ABQ's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing