We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel of our trip: loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
North Branford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the best hotel of our trip: loved it”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

My wife and I just returned from a trip--part-business and part-vacation--that took us from Denver to Tucson by way of Albuquerque, Flagstaff, and Scottsdale. We stayed in five different places on the trip that included a very upscale resort in Scottsdale, an elegant older resort in Tucson, and a new and quite nice Marriott in Flagstaff. On the plane home to NY/CT, we discussed our various hotels and decided enthusiastically that our favorite--by far--was the Monterey Non-Smokers Motel. Our room was spacious. It was immaculate. Unlike all the others--and most hotel rooms today--it was WELL-LIT. We could actually read and get some work done. It was, by far, the most comfortable with a perfect bed and perfect pillows. No marble floors--just a cozy and spotlessly clean rug. AND--it had what the best motels from the 1950s had--convenience!!! That's right--you can park right outside your room--a home away from home. That's what the fifties did so well. Left something in the car? Don't have to walk through endless corridors, take the elevator down three floors , and search for your car in a distant parking space. Your car is RIGHT OUTSIDE your door. Hallelujah! What a great concept. And the location was ideal--easy access to everything in Albuquerque. And if you, like us, enjoy old neon signs and mom-and-pop places--this motel is the one for you. Henry and his wife (and Gustav the dog) have taken great pains to make sure this place is clean as a whistle and updated on the inside--what remains utterly intact is the great sign and the convenience of the classic American motel. And frankly, their insistence on "no smoking" seems to insure that they have a very civil and genteel clientele. I am a history professor, and this is the kind of place I am always hoping to find--an authentic slice of Americana on Route 66--but one that is kept immaculately clean and has all the modern amenities. By the way, the shower was perfect as well. And you can't beat the price. In an era when it costs $6000 to have an ad in the AAA guidebook, most mom-and-pop places can't compete with the big chains. That's a real shame--and the AAA should have a separate guide for small local places like this one. That's why tripadvisor is important. We're so glad we found this motel. It's a gem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    161
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
104
236
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I stayed here while passing though on a roadtrip westward. I chose Monterrey based on the reviews. Gustav was pleasant and clearly cares about the motel. He emphasized the non-smoking part and was happy to share nearby restaurants. You get an assigned parking spot right in front of your room, which added to my piece of mind since I was moving and had my car filled with my belongings. The room has an older style, but it was very clean and had the feeling like I was staying in my parents' spare bedroom. It felt warm and welcoming; not cheap and low-class. And for about $55, it also had a fridge and microwave. The motel is walking distance to Old Town, and Gustav has menus and maps that you can look at to help with your decision. Gustav is assertive and could be viewed as rude, but I thought he was very helpful and straightforward in his expectations. Afterall, it is his business and livelihood.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachInMyBackyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Read other's reviews and decided to try it out. Definitely a good bargain! Nice Polish proprietor, clean room, had everything I needed, and it was just a short walk to Old Town Plaza. And, being female and alone, I felt quite safe. And they had a sweet old dog in the office, I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walksfarwoman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

The hotel was nothing fancy, but it isn't easy to get anything clean and comfortable for such a low price. The room was as clean as can be, and the bed was actually quite nice. It is conveniently just a couple blocks from I-40. Has an interesting 1950's feel. Definitely worth using if you're on a low budget. I will definitely stay there my next trip through Albuquerque.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This is a renovated motel on old Route 66 within easy walking distance of Old Town. Our room was spacious with plenty of light, something often lacking in motels. There was room for both of us to use our notebook computers at the same time comfortably, with free wireless access, of course. Lots of room for our stuff. Heated inground pool with pleasant sitting area, coin-operated laundry, microwave and fridge in the rooms. All in all, very well planned and very clean. A most welcome place to stay for those of us who would rather spend our vacation dollars on something besides 5-star luxury. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wompbomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Old Town in walking distance, rooms clean and cozy, flowered sheets,
flowers and small trees in front of your room - we would choose theis small motel again!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

If you want to walk to Old Town & the Biopark this is the place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable at a great price. But if you want pleasing landscaping, a window view and a magnet pool area then you should look elsewhere. Their pool looks serviceable enough for cooling off but not something you'd want to sit around for half-a-day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing