We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water, Server with Attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Hot Water, Server with Attitude”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in connection with a professional education seminar. Although the facility/ room was nice,the location sucks relative to nearby amenities. One morning the entire hotel had no hot water, and we all froze in the shower. I was comped one night lodging for this, but it still did not make up for what I put up with. To get this credit I had to call the hotel a week later and complain. I sincerely hope that management got rid of the jerk who ran the restaurant: waiting on tables, taking orders. This squid brain had a major temper problem, who got ballistic when I asked him why it took 15 minuted to be served a bowl of soup before the main course. I also understand he was hitting on some female attendees at my seminar. Maybe the Albuquerque police should follow up on this guy, because I was sure he was ready to OFF me when his temper flared. Anyway ,a truly average property with no amenities which I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countydufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did enjoy your time with us. We will most definitely discuss with our Restaurant Server that items that you have mentioned, as this is not our Standard of doing business. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    101
    49
    30
    21
See reviews for
120
72
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Luxury hotel stay !! We had advance check-in.. So when we arrived everything for check-in was ready.. All I had to do was sign & show ID. The staff was so nice & friendly.. Gave us a map of the city when we checked in .. We took the aerial-tramway up to the view of the Sandia Peak which was absolutely breathtaking !! We ate at a favorite restaurant " Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen " that wasn't too far from the hotel !! If you love Louisiana food then your going to be in " Heaven " when you dine here... Everything on the menu is absolutely delicious. We have had just about everything or maybe everything because we have eaten at more several locations in our travels... Although you'll find you have many choices of wonderful restaurants in Albuquerque !! I know that will return sooon...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norma456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for writing this very nice review of your recent stay in Albuquerque. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only our hotel, but some of the local attractions and restaurants as well. We look forward to your next trip to Albuquerque and hopefully your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay after a very long day in the car. I waited too long to book the room and tripadvisors #1 was sold out. So I booked 2 queen bed room here. We arrived after 11pm. Check in was easy but the hotel AC in the lobby and halls was out... It was HOT! Our room AC worked fine. My biggest pet peeve about hotels is the bedding. I dislike a comforter that 1,000's of others have used without being washed. This comforter clearly hasn't been washed in a while and you could see the creases in it from being folded back as I did immediately. Gross!!! The bathroom was pretty gross too. Our view was staring at the hotel roof. Clearly we were given a poor room but I did book the room on their own website so not sure why the room was so bad. It needs to be updates and maintained. I've stayed at much cleaner 2 star hotels. The only positive thing was the water pressure in the shower and it was a place to rest before we got on the road again. It is also located conveniently next to Cracker Barrel for the best breakfast. Would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sagbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find our hotel up to your standards. I do want to apologize regarding our hotel's AC, and let you know that this issue has been addressed. I will also address the room issues you mentioned with our Housekeeping Department. We do hope that you will reconsider and give us another chance on your next trip to Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The room was immaculate. The front desk people we knowledgeable and efficient. Cook to order breakfast was great. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in this area. Easy to locate, right off the freeway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the rest of our Team. We look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was great! We wanted 2 queen sized beds in the room instead of full size, so we chose this hotel. We were not disappointed. Pillows and beds were comfortable and the shower was great! We will stay here every time we travel to and from Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank cindyraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our room with Two Queen Beds! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and accomidating. Nice location right off interstate but still quite sleeping. close access to shopping and dining on Northeast side of ABQ. I would use this location again. Very nice breakfast and lobby bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share these comments with our entire staff. We look forward to accommodating you again on your next trip to Albuquerque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Not surprised with Hilton but the staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms top notch. The included breakfast was better than continental but also offered an expanded breakfast you could pay extra for. Internet worked fine. Close to interstate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton G, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel team friendly, and you enjoyed your breakfast and also our Internet. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#55 of 144 in Albuquerque
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque North
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#51 of 144 in Albuquerque
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
Address: 5320 San Antonio Dr NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-4157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#38 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque/Journal Center hotel is located in the north end of Albuquerque, New Mexico and adjacent to the Albuquerque Journal Center Business District. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is north of downtown and only 15 minutes from the airport and the city of Rio Rancho, New Mexico and other things to do in Albuquerque. Available meeting facilities along with free business services make this a great place for your next meeting, reunion or getaway. Whether you're with family or on business, we want to help you start your day off right with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast served in The Garden Grille & Bar(R). Enjoy dinner in The Garden Grille & Bar(R) or if you prefer, order room service. After a long day, enjoy an evening drink in our Lobby Lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi internet access, and friendly, helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing