We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic breakfast!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardunos Restaurant & Cantina

Gardunos Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #24 of 1,777 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience Albuquerque's finest Garduño's location. Enjoy authentic regional New Mexican and Mexican cuisine at this favorite restaurant and bar in the inviting hacienda-style interior or the lush outdoor garden patio. Garduño's serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers an extensive selection of tequila, wine, liqueurs, and world-class margaritas. Garduño's - Always a Fiesta!
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We loved the breakfast burrito -- HUGE and also the potatos come with it -- very very delicious and my friend ordered huevo rancheros and they were fabulous!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    118
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clearly rated from Albuquerque tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

As I try to equally report on the highs and lows of the city, I broke down and visited the new Guarduno's location inside Hotel Albuquerque over walking distance from Old Town Albuquerque.

I am uncertain what the hotel was thinking exactly closing two somewhat decent restaurants in the hotel to make way for and accept a local New Mexican chain restaurant that has on the decline for quite some time teetering back and forth on bankruptcy. This added to the fact that Old Town area is already a place where you can find great New Mexican food an easy walking distance from the hotel leaving a tremendous amount of competition.

The food at Garduno's in Old Town was seriously lacking even by the standards of their own other locations and definitely that of New Mexicans somewhat bland, average, poorly executed with seasoning I believe even more throttled down for more tue tourists staying at the hotel.

The prices were honestly too expensive. True hotel locations tend to price a bit higher for the convience of staying in your hotel but when there is so many better places to be found walking distance and even adjacent to the hotel for far less money in some cases, it seems like a bad move setting their price point where it is likely only to catch visitors who do not know any better.

The chairs and tables were quite uncomfortable hard wood straight with no real support or padding.

Service was quite slow. Took waitress fifteen minutes to acknowledge us just to get drinks, another fifteen to twenty to bring those and get our order, and basically never came back to check on us or refill any beverages.

There is a myriad of new mexican choices all ranging from notches better than Guarduno's and for hotel visitors who want to stay close to their hotel but experience New Mexican food, first recommendation would be Little Anita's which is another local chain restaurant and is literally adjacent to the Hotel Albuquerque front parking lot, just walk across the parking lot. This location is one of Little Anita's bettee locations, much better than Guarduno's, and priced better, often with a lot more friendly service.

For those who want to expand horizons a bit and experience other nearby food offerings bordering on the fantastic, I might suggest High Noon or Seasons both just a few short yards off of the Hotel Albuquerque south wing exit on the northwest corner of Old Town. Both of these are less than a minute walk from the hotel and you will enjoy a far more enjoyable evening for your dinner and not feel so much like you wasted your money.
I definitely highly recommend High Noon nearby.

I would not say Guarduno's in and of itself is bad in as much as it is over priced, poorly managed, and the quality is just lacking far too much against other nearby choices in the same immidiate area.

For those who are just simply stuck on the idea of going to Guarduno's, though I personally do not recommend it, I would say go ahead and leave your hotel and travel east on I-40 a few miles to Louisiana exit and on north side of the highway you will find a larger stand alone Guarduno's location sitting behind Target, located in the old Winrock mall parking lot which has better food and service than their Old Town hotel Albuquerque location thougj again, there are still many other better nearby choices to be found. Aside from somewhat better food at the uptown Guarduno's location, that same mall also houses a brand new IMAX and RPX theater so you can make a full night out with dinner and a movie at this location as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank MattNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“just "ok" food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I'm a NM native so I'm very picky about my New Mexican food. The red and green chile were average with little flavor and the food was just middle of the road.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Holy guacamole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The tableside guacamole is amazing! The sweet corn cake is addicting! Best fish tacos I've ever had! Delicious drinks too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellirusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
501 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Borderline 3 probably depends on your taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was staying at the Hotel Albuquerque in November and decided to have dinner here as the hotel offers a small discount to eat here when staying. The atmosphere of the restaurant, part of a local chain, was good in the off lobby restaurant. When arriving was empty except for a few people in the bar area. The chips and salsa, well this is again a taste thing but personally thought it was the best part of the meal and bought a jar of Garduno's salsa to bring home which i found in nearby Old Town. The food was beautiful in presentation but disappointing in flavor. Service was also simply average. This is rather corporate food overall and not as localized as i would have liked, there are so many fine restaurants in Old town i was disappointed to have not tried because of choosing this one. Again could be dependent on what your expectations are.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gardunos Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gardunos Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing