We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Resort & Casino
Ranked #33 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We are frequent visitors to Las Vegas, so when we visited Albuquerque for the first time we decided to stay here just to see what it was like. What a great find. The place is just beautiful. It is not the mega casino you would find in Vegas, but it is a very nice small casino. The grounds are surrounded by the Sandia Mountains and the view is just beautiful.

It will be a little bit of a shock for most casino dwellers since there is no drinking on the casino floor, but it has a really cool bar just feet away. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated. The bathrooms have high-end fixtures and are very nicely tiled. The restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. It was too cold to use the pool, but the area looked very inviting.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Experienced exquisite Southwest elegance within a beautiful Indian Casino Resort. Staff was there for one reason; To make guests feel at home by catering to every need. Was greeted with pleasant smiles and have enjoyed the spacious rooms and equally elegant Southwestern decorated bathrooms accompanied with a relaxing tub and a separate step-in-shower adorned with a glass wall and door. Rooms are furnished with Keurig style coffee/tea maker, sleek mini fridge and a room safe. Felt right at home in room each time I have stayed at this fine, Five-Star hotel. You can't tell you're at a gambling casino when you're in your room. Have not had the pleasure of attending a concert in the outdoor amphitheater but maybe I will someday. Free underground or outdoor parking is available. Restaurants and fast food snack bars are located in great places and prices are very reasonable. The Casino itself is very lively, with slot machines and catching happening at all hours downstairs away from guest rooms. It's a great place to have fun and get a little R&R. Poolside has a wonderful sitting area where you can enjoy the view of the gorgeous New Mexico mountains. Will definitely stay here again, soon I hope!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Many praises to David Meeks, he went out of his way to arrange that my room was next to my friends upon my arrival. Friends and I stay often and have never been disappointed. The entertainment draw has been in the upper lounge: Karrie Simmons band. Fabulous!!!! really different atmosphere. PS won at slots jackpot now thats a good weekend.

Room Tip: mountain view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

this room was amazing! Just simply perfect! The rooms are very pricy however I see why! Luckily for me I am a member of the casino so my rates were 60 dollars vs the labeled 200 .... This hotel is the absolute perfect blend of New Mexican and Native American culture! I was blow away of the perfection of this hotel and my room. The best of the best was put in the room. Romantic and fully upgraded. Just beautiful

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank shan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am sorry to say that this is not only my first casino review but also not a good one. While the casino is your typical smokey, loud & colorful atmosphere there is no liquor drinking at the tables only smoking & water/coffee cokes etc. The vibe was kinda like everyone was in "zombie ville." no excitement. I would say for a sure bet go & eat at Sadie's Mexican restaurant located in the back of the casino. You will not be disappointed. The food & margaritas are fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I got married here. With our wedding, we stayed in a suite and had several of our guests stay in rooms too, so we got to see an array of rooms. The rooms were all beautiful and well done. But the city views aren't horrible.

The wedding and reception was held in the same room. We had contracted for 160 guests and had two ballrooms. The room wasn't set up as we had agreed when we entered the room for our rehearsal during the day. I didn't think much of it at the time as I had way too many other things on my mind. Unfortunately they set the gift table up right next to the entryway. And, sometime between the first guests arriving and when Sandia Staff dropped off our gifts in our room, gifts were stolen. (We found this out about 2 days after the wedding.) There was no evidence that it was staff related theft, or that it wasn't, but Sandia took the stance of, "It's not our fault" immediately. They didn't know what to do. So, they repeated themselves...over and over. The staff we were working with told us to talk to security and fill out an informational report. We did. They told us to not expect anything to come of it. We didn't.

The staff has been nothing but rude, and off-putting. Beth, our wedding event coordinator tried to help us, and I don't think she's at fault. However, I would not recommend this venue to anyone getting married. We had to jump through so many hoops...and this was a SIMPLE, really, really simple, wedding! I'm glad it wasn't complex!

If you go, enjoy your stay. I will never set foot in Sandia again as I don't want to get treated like a child and a thief myself. I don't appreciate that. I don't think you would like it either. Good luck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear adknight,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback. It's with comments like yours that allow us to serve our customers better. We are saddened that your wedding reception did not meet your expectations. We at Sandia strive to exceed every guests expectations and have your stay or your event be a memorable one. Please feel free to contact our Sales Department at any time to discuss your on-going concerns.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Berry
Director of Hotel Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very pleasantly surprised on our resent stay!! The resort itself is located just off I-25 in NW Albuquerque. It sets all alone with the beautiful desert mountains behind it. Valet parking was free and the attendants were very nice. We arrived about 2pm and our room was ready, check-in was quick and the desk person very helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was large and had a separate bath and shower. The resort is beautiful inside and out. The casino was clean with a large selection of slots and gaming tables. They even had a non-smoking slot area. I used the workout area and the spa. I highly recommend both. My wife had a pedicure and said it was one of the best she has had. We ate at the Thur Shan Buffet and the Council Room Restaurant and both had excellent service and food. Every employee at the resort we encountered greeted us and made us feel special. I highly recommend this resort and will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#25 of 143 in Albuquerque
707 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#44 of 143 in Albuquerque
282 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#45 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,408 reviews
Courtyard Albuquerque
#64 of 143 in Albuquerque
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Address: 30 Rainbow Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £167 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing