We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Pricey, But Worth It. Killer Shakes.”
Review of Standard Diner

Standard Diner
Ranked #12 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey, But Worth It. Killer Shakes.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I really like this place. It's an updated version of the traditional American diner, with a particular New Mexico flair.

This place seems to take notice of the details, and every dish is familiar, but with a twist. For instance, we had ceviche to start, but this ceviche had watermelon and green chile in it. See what they did there? A little New Mexico twist was going on. Same thing with the chicken fried steak I ordered; there was green chile in there, too.

The outdoor seating is very nice, and the interior has great booths. Service was really good, even though they got slammed while we were there. A bit pricey, but it's worth it. Also, killer shakes that you can get to go. Me gusta.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    262
    124
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osawatomie, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fries Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stopped by passing through on a road trip. The burgers were great! Probably one of the best I've ever had! The fries though we're soooooo good! Both the sweet potato and white truffle Romano. They even put cucumber in your water instead of lemon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great place with great breakfast and lunch menu in downtown area. Guy Fieri has been there for the Food Network show, so how can you go wrong with this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“comfort food in comfort setting -”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great Location - near the University and Old Town. Supper service, great menu, comfortable seating. Diners, Drive In and Dives visited and loved it ! Served eggs and breakfast all day. Big ole menu- Not a bad meal on the menu - went back twice on this trip. Sweet Potatoe fries, burgers, million sandwich choices - all good So much to offer and they have licquor license. Go Go Go. Do not be put off by location or parking lot the food is definately comfort food of the 1st order. Kids will love going here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great diverse diner menu with a fun twist, good atmosphere, and great service! What more could you want? We had chili cheese fries and a beet salad that we split - crazy, and crazy good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PattyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Standard Diner also viewed

 

Been to Standard Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing