We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Relaxing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bottger Mansion of Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Ranked #5 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
“Warm and Relaxing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I were traveling to Albuquerque on a spur of the moment decision, and we wanted somewhere nice to stay for the weekend. We found the Bottger online, but the website would not allow us to book a room on the same day. We called anyway, just to check. Steve was friendly and helpful; he told us they could book us a room, and gave us information on the options available. We stayed in the William Hazeldine room. It's a lovely room with a large bathroom, marble floors, and a comfortable bed. I enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub immensely after long days of walking around the city.

Breakfast was delicious both mornings, and both Steve and Kathy were full of restaurant recommendations and places to go around town. The house is pretty, and the decor is a good mix of antique and modern with none of that fussy feeling some B&Bs can have. They have guest parking in the lot across the street, so there's always a place for you to park while you're there. This is especially good since the Bottger is at the edge of Old Town, where parking is hard to find.

If we're in Albuquerque again, we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    65
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
231
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
352 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this B&B because of reviews on Tripadvisor. The location is perfect if you want to visit the Old Town Plaza and it's many good restaurants and shops. They are convenient to gas stations and car washes to those on driving trips. They also offer off street parking in a public lot across the street which worked out well for us. The B&B has their own assigned spots so there is no problem finding a place to park. We stayed here 2 nights in the Route 66 room and appreciated it's large size and private sun room. Unfortunately, we both felt like we were intruding on Kathy and Steve. Whenever we would ask for something, they'd give us a look like "do you really need that"? The breakfasts were fine but I don't drink coffee or tea. Each morning I was given a very small glass of orange juice. Not once was I asked if I wanted more even though my glass was empty. I had to ask for more juice each day and felt like they really didn't want to give me any more. We didn't realize this but each room has its own thermostat except for the Route 66 room. That room is controlled by the thermostat in the commons area. When we returned from our first day in Old Town, the room was very chilly and I told Steve about it. He showed me where the thermostat was and I noticed it was set around 68 degrees. As we had the sun room, I am sure that our room was cooler than that. Before going out to dinner that night (late October and chilly) we bumped the thermostat up to 71. When we returned, it had been turned back down to 68. We went to bed and the room kept getting colder. I finally got up about 2am and put all of my clothes back on and went back to bed to stay warm. When I asked Kathy if we could get more blankets the following morning, she first had to ask me which room I was in (why should that matter?) and then said we could have them. When I told her I had to put my clothes on to stay warm, her response was a laugh. She must have seen the look in my eyes as I was ready to leave then and there. When we were leaving for the day she said they would put an additional heater in our room. They were true to their word and our final night was fine. This was one of the 4 B&B's we stayed in on our driving trip and the only one we would most likely not visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid the Route 66 room if it is cold outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Bottger was highly recommended by two friends. They were right. The Bottger is a short two blocks from the Old Town Plaza. There is free parking which can be important in Old Town. Our room had three beds and a private bath. The breakfasts are very good. The owners are very helpful with directions and travel advice. Plus they have excellent trip information on their website. We liked the common area with the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The big advantage to a B&B over a hotel is the small size and personal service of the hosts. The Bottger Mansion had both in just the right amount. The historic home is interesting and comfortable, the hosts are most helpful, gracious, and knowledgeable. The food was great, and the other guests were excellent breakfast companions. The location right in Old Towne could not be more convenient and there was free parking across the street. From making balloon ride reservations to advising us on Sky City ( the Acoma Pueblo) our host truly made our visit pleasant. Thanks. We recommend this accommodation to all.

Room Tip: Some rooms can see balloons rising up at dawn I was told. I loved my corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
436 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a very nice stay at this excellent B&B. The"Tingley" room is a large room nicely decorated. thanks to Kathy for the excellent breackfasts that are different each day. We particularly appreciated the location so close to the Plaza and old town. There are many good restaurants nearby. Steve gave us many recommandations about those. We would have appreciate that they accept to keep our luggages one hour before the checking in time.

Room Tip: We recommend the "Tigley" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gupom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here twice -upon arrival in ABQ and just before flying home after a 2 week southwestern road trip. Kathy and Steve are excellent hosts! Our rooms were both clean, well appointed and comfortable. Each room had a bit of history written up about the mansion in its former life. Great to read as Bottger Mansion is actually in Old Town ABQ - just one block off the historic square. Breakfast our first morning was so yummy! My first taste of the many uses of chilies presented as a chili raspberry sauce for an egg soufflé . Excellent! Coffee, tea and fresh baked goods were available all day. It is obvious that both Kathy and Steve love what they do. They were a wealth of information and insider tips. They made dinner and trolly reservations for us which was most helpful! Upon returning to ABQ we were attending the Balloon Fiesta and our hosts had a Fiesta packet all ready for the guests. As one must arrive before dawn to see the balloon launch our hosts had healthy, bagged breakfasts packed and ready to go. (The launch was amazing!! A MUST see.) Steve and Kathy, thank you so much for a great stay! It was wonderful!

Room Tip: Slept in two rooms and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose this B&B based on all the good TA reviews. It met all our requirements...clean, quiet, comfortable, & convenient. The hosts were very pleasant and we enjoyed their gourmet breakfasts. As the only place to stay in Old Town it was the perfect starting point for walking around town to visit the shops, Mission Church, Albuquerque Museum of Art & History, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller Rodey room located on the second floor. The Huning & Tingley rooms were...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Italy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bottger Mansion of Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottger Mansion of Old Town

Property: Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Address: 110 San Felipe St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bottger Mansion of Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bottger Mansion of Old Town B&B is right in the historic heart of Albuquerque. Walk to shops, great restaurants, galleries, museums and parks. Nearby attractions include the Botanic Garden, Rio Grande Zoo, Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Route 66, and much more. We are just 10 minutes from the Albuquerque airport and near hospitals, downtown, the Convention Center, and the University of New Mexico. Enjoy free WiFi, free parking, free beverages and snacks, private baths, flat-screen TV, cable--modern amenities in a historic home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bottger Mansion of Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing