We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauger Estate B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mauger Estate B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Tammy, the owner and host, is wonderful..friendly, helpful and accommodating. the B&B provided us with a much needed retreat from a working vacation in Albuquerque. A different, spectacularly delicious breakfast welcomed us each morning and a pleasant room with a comfortable bed gave us a good night's sleep each evening. She even spoiled us with wine and cheese each evening, which we enjoyed on the gracious front porch. The Mauger Estate is convenient to both downtown and Old Town, which is where we spent several fun evenings. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose the first floor suite, which boasted its own private entrance and yard, complete with a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ragtop_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
155
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went to Albuquerque with a group of 13 dancers and 4 Moms for 2 weeks!. Tammy accomodated us in the two townhouses, and three of the rooms in the house. The townhouses were perfect for us as we had to make the kids lunches and cook some of their dinners, so the fully equipped kitchens came in super handy. The House rooms were gorgeous, beautifully furnished with lots of attention to detail. The breakfast was the best time of the day! Tammy went all out with fresh baked goods everyday, a new egg dish or french toast, fresh fruits of all sorts, home made granola, and the list goes on. I still dream of that breakfast! All day we had fresh basked, amazing, chocolate chip cookies, and from 5-7 a happy hour with cheeses and crackers and wine....
The location was good, we had a car and access to everywhere was great, but walking was also easy. The Old Town is an easy 20 minute walk away and is really beautiful. Thank you Tammy and Marin and Zoah, and to Elsa and Julia who kept our rooms spotless and helped any way they could to make us more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUS2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a fantastic 4th of July at the Mauger Estate. We were on a cross-country road trip, and wanted a break from chain hotels. This lovely historic home was perfect. My family enjoyed the big room, and it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was top notch. I went for a great run the next morning, and enjoyed the sights of Albuquerque. We would love to stay again.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty sweet. Our king one bedroom was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hachimachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 for 1 night. The room was spotless, lovely, visually interesting, and warm.
The bed was very comfortable-no back discomfort at all. We had a late check-in, and found the arrangements to access the accommodations straightforward. There were still cookies available in the parlor, much to our delight. Breakfast the next morning was delicious.
Parking is mainly in a lot immediately behind the house. We felt no qualms walking there after dark.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Loved that first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdDebTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Mauger Estate for 5 nights when I attended a conference; my husband joined me the last two days so that we could visit family.

Mauger Estate is a welcoming, homey place. Tammy obviously loves to cook and bake for her guests. The breakfasts were amazing, and I almost bought the cookbook (expect I was afraid I would gain weight). There were chocolate chip cookies every afternoon, along with the wine, cheese, and crackers. Enjoying those treats with other guests was so welcoming after being in workshops all day.

Our room was the one with the balcony in the front of the house. There were two chairs out there, so we sat outside a couple times once my husband arrived. I checked in by following the instructions on a note with my name on the front door, and a corresponding sign on my room, which had the door left open. That seemed to be the regular way to check in. This allowed me to look into other rooms that were waiting for guests. They were all different, but mine seemed to be one of the smaller ones, although there was a small desk and an arm chair. The bathroom was tiny, almost closet like. There was shelving over the toilet, but I would have liked more space to place things around the sink.

Since breakfast was not until 8 am, I would really have liked to have coffee available for guests early in the morning. There were coffee sachets in the room (and you could pay extra for Starbucks sachets), but those are never satisfying. Coffee lovers might want to know that the Starbucks at the Hyatt opens at 6:00 a.m. and a local coffee roaster, Java Joe's, opens at 6:30. Both of these are within a 15-minute walk. There were tea-making facilities available for guests to make tea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first time here and we will definitely be back! The hosts was fantastic and very informative! Her Chocolate Chip cookies were great as was breakfast! Our room was wonderful and had a courtyard of it's own. The bed was comfortable and the room quite large with our own courtyard entrance. Very romantic and close to Old Town.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly B&B so great for people with pets. Our room would be perfect with it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taosbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in this B&B at both ends of our New Mexico trip, and found it to be a great home base at the end of our day of exploring. The day would start with an ample and delicious breakfast. The home was decorated in its period, but still very comfortable. Our hosts were very helpful and sharing with their knowledge of the area. We were upgraded on our second visit to a larger suite, much to our pleasant surprise. What a great way to end our very pleasant trip to New Mexico, which proved to be an unexpected surprise. Would highly recommend this home, which is close to the airport and to the old town.
Rehana

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were well decorated, with ample space, clean and comfortable. Both were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatun884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauger Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauger Estate B&B

Property: Mauger Estate B&B
Address: 701 Roma Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mauger Estate B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 restored Victorian B&B is very well located in Downtown ABQ. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfortable rooms and superior service make the Mauger Estate an exceptional choice. The warm and inviting atmosphere is sure to make you feel at home. Whether you like to mingle or experience a quiet retreat, this is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mauger Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing