We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Detroit, Denver, or Dallas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not Detroit, Denver, or Dallas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Even as you step off the jet way at Albuquerque's Sunport terminal, you know instantly you're not in Detroit, Denver, or Dallas. How? The gate waiting area has solid wooden-framed leather chairs which you find throughout the terminal, the decor features lots of turquoise, over-sized pottery, silver accents, and interesting tile patterns (even in the restrooms!) that let you know you're in New Mexico. These motifs are carried out admirably at the Best Western Rio Grande, conveniently located just north of Old Town at the I-40 interchange.

This is my second stay here, having been assigned by Hotwire in April, 2012. In the meantime, I'd gotten a Best Western rewards card which at least got me a USA Today at my door each morning even though I hadn't booked through BW. The lobby decor is tasteful, obviously southwestern in its character and this is carried out even in the elevators (wood atop turquoise walls which are polished every morning). The hall carpet, the room number signs, and more turquoise are unmistakably themed. My room had a small bathroom with instantaneous and abundant hot water, plenty of towels, toiletries, and clean as an operating theater. Housekeeping throughout this property is of an obviously high quality and overseen for white gloved consistency by Ricardo.

My king-sized bed was very comfortable, though typically "over-pillowed" and with a useless decorative throw piece at its foot which seems to be found everywhere these days.
Solid wooden end tables and rustic lamps flanked the bed. There was a table-like desk, again solid wood, large bureau, a wall-mounted LG television set (with a bagged remote control) featuring Direct TV which offered no fewer than 5 HBO options, and an encased 3 foot mini-fridge. Especially noteworthy was the large chair with cushioned wooden footstool and a floor lamp. A generously wide window had a sunny, southern exposure looking down on the very well-maintained pool area.

Rebecca, Marissa, Dee, and Aaron rotated on front desk duty and were unfailingly cheery and helpful. The hotel provides a free shuttle to/from the ABQ Sunport. There are several good restaurants within walking distance as well as two gas stations/convenience stores directly across Rio Grande Blvd. The hotel has a restaurant which seems busiest at breakfast. For lunch and dinner, try the more high-priced dinner salads which are imaginative and feature better varieties of greens.

The lobby features two stand-up computers and a printer. Around the corner are two more sit-down computers and a printer in a rather stuffy room. Any quibbles? Just the minor ones I find common to many hotels: bathtub drains left closed after cleaning, "tippy," loose lampshades, and occasional noise bleed from adjacent rooms. The elevator doors seem to take forever to close - even when you push the inward arrow button. There is adequate on-site free parking.

All in all, this is an outstanding property with a lot of TLC invested in it by the staff. I'd happily stay here a 3rd time.

Room Tip: North facing rooms (even numbers) overlook a busy exit ramp from I-40. I don't know how well th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for detailed review. I'm sure your fellow travelers will appreciate the time you put in to writing it. I'll make sure and let Ricardo know you appreciate his attention to detail. I'll also mention your compliments to the front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    513
    196
    71
    30
See reviews for
438
513
122
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopping off overnight at this hotel we were very surprised, it was a lovely hotel, pool area nice and clean. Rooms were really spacious plenty big enough for 2 adults and a teenager. Just a short drive to old town and about 10 min drive to the mall. Breakfast was really good, nice helpfull staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thankful we met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Best Western Plus has a gem of a courtyard located next to their nice pool. The outdoor dining tables allowed us to enjoy most of our meals outside under shaded trees. The pool and hot tub were perfect for children and adults. This hotel is a must if interested in walking (yes, walking) to Old Town's plaza. Across from the parking lot is an awesome Starbucks. Could not say enough good things about the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thanks for the kind words and mentioning are courtyard. We don't really advertise that we have a courtyard area that quite a few families take advantage of. You are correct, guests do have to walk to the plaza square (it is 1/3 of a mile from our lobby door). Don't forget we do serve Starbucks coffee in our restaurant (free for guests) but we don't have those tasty blueberry muffins or fancy pumpkin spice lattes so the Starbucks next door comes in handy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Good location and right off I-40 near Old Town. The area is nice. On our way back from Vegas, we stayed another night here. Soft beds and friendly staff. I went to Google Earth before our first stay and looked at the area:) There is nothing wrong with the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedove1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for the review. Old Town is the historic area of Albuquerque and its primary tourist destination. For that reason and many others, it only behooves the city to provide a safe environment for travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is probably one of the best of the Best Western. The hotel is modern and clean. There is a nice lobby with comfortable chairs. It has several floors and we were on the 4th. We had a mountain view. There is a nice laundry. The pillows are hard and lumpy like all the Best Western's. I bring my own pillow on trips. The air-conditioning unit blows right at you when you are sleeping, also a drawback to Best Western. The breakfast was the same old thing all the Best Westerns have. All in all, we would recommend this hotel as an upscale version of the Best Western chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gecko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

By far, not a 3 star!!! When does rustic translate into cheap? Staff is excellent. Received old, worn, shabby, grey towels that were once white. Mold/mildew smell. Bed is not a dream, more like a nightmare. Area a little on rough side. Definitely a 2 1/2 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTK723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I am disappointed to learn that you did not have a good experience with us. We have reviewed our comments and have taken action to improve. Please accept our apology and know that we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was very disappointed to find out that I had to pay to have breakfast at your hotel. I was given a voucher, but I still had to pay $5.00. In this modern area, it is very rare to come across a quality hotel that does not provide a free breakfast; AND I stayed at your hotel for business reason in the past, mandatory, and you provided light snacks during the social hour in your small bar area. I was looking forward to have a light dinner snack this time and nothing was provided. Overall, it looks like you are taking away some basic things that can make your hotel more enjoyable and financially motivate me to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are glad to see an Albuquerque resident spend a night away from home and at our hotel. We do provide a happy hour and light snacks during the week as that is when the vast majority of our corporate guests travel for business. Our weekend guests are usually here for leisure and like to dine in Old Town and experience the atmosphere of the cantinas around the plaza.

Regarding a free breakfast and quality hotels, most if not all limited service hotels provide a complimentary breakfast. Although, we are part of the Best Western family, a brand associated with limited service hotels, we are actually a full-service hotel with a restaurant, bar, conference space and catering services. As you probably know, most full service hotels with restaurants do not offer a complimentary breakfast. Think of Albuquerque's full service hotels located in the downtown and uptown neighborhoods. I won't mention their names as they don't need the free advertising but they are all quality hotels with brands that command rates much higher than ours who do not provide a complimentary breakfast or complimentary parking (we do!) or complimentary Wi-Fi (we do!). We believe that $5 for a full hot meal cooked to order and served by our wait staff is a fair deal but we will continue to listen to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing