We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night after multiple stays in 2 star motels, I'm very glad we paid a bit extra to stay at the Rio Grande Inn. The place was nicely decorated, very clean, and the staff were warm and welcoming. Pool area was well maintained and surrounded by greenery. Right next to the freeway (though you would never know it) and very close to old town, which is a much better location for basing yourself in Albuquerque than staying in down town. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant onsite and really enjoyed the service and our meals. Fitness centre is also well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our location and the meals in the restaurant. I love to see travelers from around the globe come and stay at our hotel. We're a long way from Australia and I'm glad we can make your stay away from home so comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    514
    196
    71
    31
See reviews for
439
514
122
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was easy to find off of I-40. We originally planned on using an app to receive the best price, but the staff, specifically Dave, helped us receive just as good of a price for two nights. He was overly helpful for two women traveling from Alabama, giving us maps and brochures of the fun and exciting spots in Albuquerque, especially Old Town. Our room was very clean, the atmosphere is quirky, and furnishings obviously well kept. Dave even called our room after we left the front desk to make sure we had everything we wanted and if there was anything else he could help us with. Everything about our stay has been hospitable and welcoming, especially for outsiders like us. (Thanks again, Dave!)
The room had a great view of the mountains, two queen size beds, mini fridge, easy wifi, big flatscreen tv, and excellent ac. Housekeeping definitely take car of the rooms and guests.

We will definitely stay here anytime our travels bring us in Albuquerque.
Make sure to ask for Dave!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding David. I will share your thoughts with him. We definitely can get you the best price. Usually at least 5%-10% below what you can find online. It is always best to talk to an employee of the hotel for the best deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for three nights whilst travelling route 66. The hotel was just off the route so the location was great. Also within walking distance of Albuquerque's old town. We found our room to be clean and comfortable and the furniture was nice. Had some issues with the room keys , they did work they were just tricky and took several tries every time, other guests had similar issues. The hotel is located near a busy road, there are a number of entrances to the parking areas but only one at night as the other gates are closed. Breakfast was included in our stay and we were given breakfast vouchers which gave us a choice of a cooked breakfast from a limited menu plus one drink. The portions were good and the blueberry pancakes were lovely. Customer was very good throughout the hotel. We also had room service one night and found it reasonably priced. We used the room phone to make reservations at Ten Thousand Waves and Tamaya Hyatt trail rides but were not charged for these as the were local calls. We found the hotel bar a little expensive ($9 for a small glass of wine) however there is a wine store next to the hotel were we picked up a bottle of Pinot Grigio for about $16. We found we couldn't purchase beer as easily as we had in other states. The gas stations and convenience stores around this area do not sell alcohol but we were advised that it could be purchased further out of town. Overall we had a good stay in the hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for the review and we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our location. $9 does sound like a lot for a glass of wine. I will check with the F&B department and see what they are serving at that price. By the way, I love St. Claire's (winery & bistro next door).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here for five days in July and had a room that overlooked the pool, which was really the only downside to my stay. Often there were swimmers in the pool until 9:30 - kids and parents having fun, which equals noise.
Staff could not have been more helpful, housekeeping was superb. I left some things in my room upon departure and housekeeping located them and sent them to me - excellent customer service.
My room had two queen beds, a mini fridge, Wi-Fi, TV with Direct TV, large bathroom and lovely AC.
Dogs are allowed here and it is a family hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4slund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for the review and kind words. I am glad to hear that you got your items back and that you were pleased with the service. Sorry to hear about the noise from the pool. Don't worry, those little guys will be returning to school in a few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife have stayed at this property several times during the past year. During the summer months it is always frequented by tour busses. This causes much confusion, as the "guests" are usually wandering around the property lost, using the swimming pool to the exclusion of other guests, and generally adding nothing to the travel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank calost93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for the review and for being a repeat customer. Because of our location, we are a very popular destination for motorcoach groups and tourists in general. It gets very busy during the Summer travel season and savvy travelers can find the best rates during the Winter months. Plus, our pool is domed over the Winter and Old Town looks gorgeous in the evenings when the luminarias are lit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 dogs while traveling from California to Ohio I booked over the phone. No pictures or reviews. Best choice I could have made. Everyone we came in contact with that worked there was friendly and helpful. Room Service was fast and food was great.Only booked for one night but hubby wasnt feeling well the next day. The front desk did not hesitate to give us another night. Told me to let them know if they could help in any way. They allow dogs and have a very nice and clean area to walk them. I would without a doubt stay there again. .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank donna q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to post a review. We hope your husband is feeling better and that you were both able to enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
313 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here one night while traveling through. Picked it for its location near Old Town - a 20 minute walk away. Room was OK, good WiFi, nice to have a mini-fridge in the room too. AC is one of those old fashioned window units below the window, but it was on a thermostat, which is good.

Not so nice features: (1) Slowest elevators ever - some people waited 4 minutes for it to come, and then the doors take a long time to close. (2) Out of USA Today newspapers by 7:30 am! Front desk clerk simply said they were all gone by then, Oh well! (3) Have to pay for breakfast - at a Best Western - come on! (4) Front desk/dining room cashier shared duties, and front desk person often answering phone at same time - not a fast operation at all - they could use some more help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We appreciate the feedback. It is 1/3 of a mile from our front door to the Old Town plaza square which should be around a 6 minute walk. Google maps has it at .5 miles but we think they're crazy. Either way, the walk should be ten minutes tops and we don't want people thinking we're a mile away from the plaza. You do have to pay for breakfast and we do have wall mounted A/Cs. Sorry. Believe it or not, they still make wall mounted A/C units and ours are the newer models with thermostats. Sorry about the USA Todays. We usually end up recycling papers on most days. It's a dying media. Most of our guests get their news online these days via their smart phone or tablets. Other guests watch it on our Direct TV package. We have MSNBC, CNN, Headline News, Fox News, Bloomberg, Fox Business, etc.... Lastly, we definitely do not have front desk agents who work in the dining room. However, the restaurant is located right next to the front desk and if a clerk sees someone waiting to be seated then they will help out. We are a team and frankly, it is just awkward to stand next to a guest who is waiting to be seated and not attempt to help them out. Of course, we don't want our help with the restaurant to be a detriment to our guests checking in/out but timing is everything. Again, thank you for your remarks, they are all valid and a fair critique of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing