We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Rossville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is near the Old Town and they have a shuttle if you don't want to walk. The staff was very nice. However, the lights went off twice in one night - once for just a few minutes, the next time for 10-15 minutes. There was no explanation given nor any apology for the inconvenience. It wasn't their fault as I understand it was a neighborhood thing, but it would have been nice to have it acknowledged. Another thing that was frustrating was that the keys didn't always work. You had to put them in anywhere from 2-10 times. I got three different keys and they all did that. Some of the other guests had the same problem. When I took the key back there was no "I'm so sorry", etc. just a replacement key. Their lock system needs to be updated. We were on the back side of the hotel, so we had to walk all the way around the hotel to get to the main lobby to get new keys. It was very frustrating.

Room Tip: I ask for a quiet room as it's next to the highway. We didn't really hear the noise once we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry about the power outages that occurred during your stay. I contacted the power company the next morning and was informed that there was an auto accident in the area and a pole was hit knocking out power. The first outage happened around 8 pm and it was off for approximately 1 minute according to the utility. The next outage was at approximately 10:30 pm and lasted for approximately 20 minutes. The staff determined it was better to answer questions from guests who inquired as best they could. We did not want to disturb guests who did not inquire, especially since at the time it occurred we had no information as to what the problem was, and by calling the guest we may indeed disturb their sleep. When the utility was contacted for the later and longer outage, our staff was informed only that they were aware of the problem and the estimated resolve time.

Thank you for the information you provided about the trouble you had with the key and back entry door. We have resolved the issue.

We appreciate your comments about your experience. Please know we are always working to improve and your comments help direct these efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    525
    199
    74
    33
See reviews for
444
527
125
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel is really wonderful. The rooms are very clean, they provide a shuttle every top of the hour and the staff is awesome. We'd especially like to thank Aaron and Krishna for an unforgettable stay as they were extremely friendly and helpful. If you visit Albuquerque, don't miss this hotel. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charondies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for the review and kind words. We will make sure and share your compliments with Aaron and Krishna. They work hard and we know they will be happy to hear that their effort is appreciated by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Really clean, updated and much nicer than it looks on the outside. The food is excellent in the restaurant and the lounge is fun without being rowdy. Unless you're in pretty good shape, it is not within easy walking distance of Old Town and the walk isn't a good one. I think that they do offer a shuttle, tho.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for the review. Please read gkswimdad's review from August 18. He puts us at 2/10 of a mile. Google maps has us at .5 miles from Old Town. I am in no way close to being in a good shape (I have other admirable qualities) and I can walk a half mile fairly quickly. However, we do have shuttle. Thanks for mentioning it. It is complimentary and runs on the hour from 7am to 10pm. You do have to reserve it at the front desk as it would be wasteful to operate an empty shuttle. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and thought our interior was clean/updated and much more appealing than our exterior. Sounds like we are average looking but with a great personality! Nothing wrong with that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you are traveling through Albuquerque and are planning on a restful night, this hotel is not for you. If you are interested in being woken by the sound of the fire alarm twice in one night, then this hotel is for you! When we asked the front desk what the problem was with tne first alarm they stated "They were resetting the system." The 1st alarm was at 10:30 pm. The second alarm was ar 5:40 am. When asked again. False alarm again and the manager did not know of the alarm earlier that night. The manager was not apologetic but instead asked snotty "What do you want me to do about it? Our comment was we will leave, because we take our saftey and rest seriously. In looking at the room...there are no fire sprinklers. WOOPS - As I was getting ready to send this it went off for the third time at 7:15. Glad we are leaving

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Please accept our apology for giving you the impression that we do not take the safety of our guests and employees seriously. The fact is that we absolutely do. I am very sorry that the alarm did go off and that it disturbed the rest of our guests. One of the smoke detectors detected a potential problem and set the alarm off. The staff checked the situation, found no problem or danger, and reset the alarm. It did go off again in the morning and our Director of Maintenance was here and resolved the problem with this one smoke detector. The manager that spoke with you on the phone tried to assure you there was no danger and apologized for the alarm going off. I am very sorry that he gave you the wrong impression. He is normally very attentive to his duties and does a good job of satisfying the needs and concerns of our guests.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Right from the start this place showed how special it was.

The staff at the front desk were great - the welcome gift was unique and thoughtful, and I was given an upgraded room.

The room itself was large and spotlessly clean. Nothing to complain about.

The pool was well maintained and not overloaded with guests at any time. A good place to unwind after walking the short distance to Old Town or driving to Santa Fe.

The bar had an excellent selection and the bartender made a great Margarita.

i ate in the on-site restaurant four times during my stay. The voucher breakfast provided a good variety at a great value. The dinner was a bit heavy on the Mexican dishes. Staff at all times were a pleasure.

I'd recommend this hotel to anybody at any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. I'm especially proud that we were able to get a 5 star review from someone who has written 75 reviews and counting. I will speak with the F&B department about the adding more American items to the dinner menu. I prefer "comfort" foods (somebody's been watching Top Chef) so I understand where you are coming from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Ia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

very nice...we selected the hotel from AAA book -- the location was fine close to interstate. They did recommend a rest. for dinner and we enjoyed the evening. The trip was memorable and enjoyed where we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for the response. I'm glad to here that you enjoyed your stay and am happy to hear you found us in the AAA book. I am always curious to see if people still use traditional travel publications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We could not of asked for a better venue for our wedding reception. The facilities were beautiful and accommodated our guests and needs easily. The staff at Best Western went above and beyond to make our day amazing! When my bridal party and I checked into the honeymoon suite the day before the wedding, Justina Martinez had placed a congratulatory photo of my husband and I in the room along with soda and snacks for us!
During the reception, Justina was on-hand to make sure everything went smoothly when transitioning from dinner to dancing and ensuring every guest was happy. She even purchased the specific soda my husband loves so he would have it to enjoy throughout the night! The amount of care that went into the small details that made our day amazing is what sets this venue apart from the others!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandiJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the review. We understand that your wedding day is one of the most important days you will experience. We are glad we were able to play a small part in that memorable experience. We wish you and your husband a long and loving marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing