We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very pleasant this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn University
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Room was dirty....microwave,mirror and " clean dishes had dried on juice.......a work order was made on broken toilet seat and never repaired in the 3 day stay also the flushing valve had been repaired before as. It had been fixed with a clip and broke again and we had to stick hand in to flush...we left a wallet in the bathroom that was later returned. Empty. :-/ stayed here before and that time was pleasant....this time not so much :-(

Room Tip: Ask to see first
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As we discussed when you checked out, the only item you brought to our attention immediately was the toilet seat. If the other items had been brought to our attention, we could have corrected them instead of learning about them later.

I again apologize for the issue with the wallet. As we discussed, it was left in our public restroom. I am glad the wallet was returned to you so you had your personal items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was less than I expected from the reviews.
First the Pros: friendly, accommodating desk staff, both evening and morning, spacious room, clean sheets/linens, acceptable mattresses, I found no bed bugs, the TV and elevator worked.
Now, the Cons: safe neighborhood? When we arrived after 9 in the evening, the front doors were locked and got locked back up when I walked out, I think the evening clerk knows the neighborhood. Around every corner was an overflowing garbage can, some overflowing out into the parking lot. Equal tidiness was used in cleaning the room, I used the refrigerator by grabbing the door at any point other than the handle because it was so grubby I didn't want to touch it, the dried spills on the carpet didn't excite me either. The lamp next to the bed didn't light. No ice machines worked--on any floor, you needed to get ice from Reception. We didn't see more than 8 vehicles in the parking lot so the traffic wouldn't have been heavy but the wi-fi kept flaking out. Things are getting worn out and not replaced, the solid surface sink had cracks spreading out from the drain--a bacteria haven. The breakfast was a carb-lovers delight, the only protein in sight was the cream cheese for the bagels, butter for the toast and the milk for the cereal, everything else was some form of sugar or starch. On this trip, I stayed at 2 other establishments for the same per night price, both were well above the level of this one. Another reviewer mentioned the other chains in the area: try one of them or set your expectations low. Ugh.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomeViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the comments and feedback.

Our one ice machine was down but has since been fixed. Our maintenance personnel empty trash before they leave for the day. The cans do get full later in the evenings as guests check in and empty their vehicles. Our breakfast is a standard continental, which typically includes a large variety of breads and very few protein items.

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We strive to make every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant. We obviously did not in your case. We continue to make improvements to the hotel and will use your feedback to help us direct future improvements and projects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A huge thank you to all of the staff of this facility... We arrived at 130am on 2/19 due to my daughter being admitted to UNMH for possible pre term labor. The staff was kind and very very accomodating to us. We were exhausted and just needed a clean safe place to rest. I will refer this motel to all of our friends who travel to Alb for medical services and we will be back to stay there when we come up to Alb for a pleasure trip... Thank you again the staff in this facility all deserve Kudos... THank you again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcbcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We greatly appreciate the feedback.

We hope your daughter is doing well and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed one night at this location and it was a great deal. Polite and courteous check in and check out, even with late night. Very convenient location- safe as well, many other respectable hotels in area. Room was fine: ample pillows and comfortable king size, plenty of floor space for luggage (very surprised), adequate flat screen, fridge, microwave, and great water pressure. I was most surprised by the space in the room- didn't have the typical crowded budget hotel room feel. Mattress on the soft side, looked new. Breakfast had standard juice, waffle maker, cereal, breads etc. Partners only complaint was no ESPN. Again, GREAT value for the price. Decor was fine. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becksKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your comments and for taking a moment to post a review. We appreciate it!

We have made many improvements here at the Western Star Inn in 2012 and have more coming in 2013. One of the improvements will be to change TV providers and increase our channel offerings. You can follow us on Facebook or our website and keep up on the latest news from our hotel.

We hope to see you again in 2013 if your travels take you back through Albuquerque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Usually stick to the major chains, but due to a handy location and good rate stayed at this hotel right off the interstate.First the positives: very friendly staff, nicely painted exterior and lobby, good rate for walk-ins and decent breakfast (although lacking when it comes to fresh fruit). But now the negatives : the rooms really do need some updating. The TV's are very old-school style, in an era when even budget hotels are moving to flatscreen. After about 30 minutes of being on, my ancient TV started to make a screechy humming sound. All you get in the bathroom is one tiny soap (for both hands and shower, I guess) and a shampoo. So, they could be more generous in the toiletries area. And they have a gym, but it's pretty basic with only 2 pieces of equipment that doesn't work very well.

Everything is getting a bit old.. the TV, microwave, decor, bathrooms, etc. Also, not crazy about the neighborhood, good that it's right off the interstate but a needle was spotted on the ground at the hotel!

Overall, I did like the hotel based on the friendly staff, good breakfast and location, and I am impressed....but at some point they will have to invest in some room upgrades in order to stay competitve with similar chain hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback, and your time in writing it!

We are aware that there are areas to improve, and modernize, at our hotel. We are currently outlining our capital requests for next year and plan to make many more improvements to the ones we made at the beginning of this year. We'll be talking about these improvements on our website and Facebook page; check back after the first of the year!

We hope to see you back again if your travels take you through Albuquerque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality & comfort in our room. The linens and pillows were exceptional. Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room was great as we travel with a cooler and water.
The little extras that would normally come with the high priced hotel chains were all there.
The breakfast was above the usual continental style juice and coffee & sweet roll with waffles and fruit.
The staff was extremely helpful in recommending sightseeing & dining adventures.
The on sight laundry facilities were a very welcome addition.
The location was perfect as it sits at the junction of I-40 and I-25. Across the street is a truck stop with great fuel prices.
In the morning, before we started for the day, I was checking the fluids in my car when I needed water to top off the radiator reservoir, the housekeeping staff loaned me a bucket and filled it for me so that I could. I consider that as going beyond the usual duties and it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Accommodating for people who have mobility challenges. Car park right outside the door.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiaSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you so much for your review!

We appreciate you taking time to post a review of our hotel. The staff works extremely hard to make this one of the best budget hotels in Albuquerque. We're glad you agree!

We hope to see you next time your travels take you to Albuquerque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Have hip & spine pain. The bed and especially pillows are the Best Ever. Didn't disturb bedding as I was so comfortable. Want to buy those pillows.
Breakfast was excellent, Waffles...Yum.
They could add Yogurt.
Went for 2012 Balloon Fiesta. Location of hotel was perfect for Shuttle parking.. During day went to Craft Fair & Old Town. Easy access to all locations.
If you have a superb bed and hot breakfast, who cares about the rest because you're not in hotel, you're a tourist.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanb1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your review!

The pillows are Registry Gold Label pillows from American Hotel Registery. I hope you enjoyed the balloons & will come back and visit again if your travels bring you to New Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#61 of 144 in Albuquerque
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn - Midtow...
#128 of 144 in Albuquerque
2 reviews
MCM Elegante Hotel
#78 of 144 in Albuquerque
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Address: 2015 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1716 (Formerly Western Star Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing