We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chunk of Seville”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia US
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A chunk of Seville”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Retirement age professionals who travel widely found this a piece of Southern Spain in terms of ambiance and architecture. We try to avoid chain hotels, where we can find, something of interest. I picked it based on the pictures. The reality lived up to the images. Homey little library with a fire burning and little side room "casbash" where you might have a tete a tete. The rooms are classy modern New Mexico . . . lots of wood. Watch out though. The address is on 2nd street. Neighborhood isn't great, but it's very easy to get to the Conventin Center.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiminvirginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. The owner of the hotel was very passionate about design, decor and ambiance he wanted guests to experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    281
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
198
564
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
470 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed the nights of December 8&9 in upgraded King room on the 8th floor. the hotel has great charm and has been redone with a lot of effort to detail and towards restoring this 1939 hotel to its former glory.

The room was quite nice, we had a nice view, and more then ample room, though not overly spacious for what was billed as a suite. the toilet was divided from the sink area which I do not like but not a big deal.

Service was very good and quite personable. Had happy hour in the both the upstairs and downstairs bar and dinner in the Lucia Restuarant which was good but not great. Enjoyed the hotel and thought it great value.

Beware though, its not in the greatest area downtown and there isn't much around the hotel worth spening time on; though, we did find a nice cafe or two on Gold street a block away for breakfast.

as has been said very close the airport and nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: high floors and away from the upstairs bar if the weather is "good" and the youngsters are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for your time and your kind review. We love hearing about our guest experiences and are glad to hear you were able to explore not only the hotel, but our downtown area as well. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I drove from Vegas to Albuquerque and decided to stay here, it was close to the airport where we dropped off the rental car which is always a plus. The hotel itself was pretty nice, it has a real charm to it and the room we had was very good and the bathroom had the best smelling soap I have ever used! I ordered room service as I didn't feel like heading out after a long drive and the food was the best thing I had tasted in ages. The hotel is in a nice area, close to the train station and there are some restaurants nearby too. I had to leave early in the morning to get a train so didn't get a real feel for the hotel, it's staff and the area but I was pleased I booked it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCready82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you chose to stay with us, even if it was for a brief moment. We hope you keep us in mind if you are ever in the area again!

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Andaluz for 2 nights while my husband underwent gamma knife treatment at Lovelace Hospital. I had chosen the hotel 1) to see what all had been done to the old La Posada & 2) the proximity to the the hospital. I am so glad that I did. The hotel remodel is stunning. We had a booked a king and the room was lovely, large and a great view of Sandia .

But it was the staff that makes this hotel so exceptional. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful. When we returned from a long day at the hospital, the young man who was parking cars, helped my husband up to our room on the ninth floor, ran back down stairs to get ice for the ice pack and offered to go to the store to get anything we might need.

We ordered room service for both supper and breakfast, everything was deliciously prepared and served promptly. We will definitely be staying there again- hopefully under much less stressful conditions

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are truly honored to have been your choice hotel for you and your husband during such a fragile time. The staff was pleased to accomodate you and your husband and are looking forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We booked this last minute through AMEX because of an issue with our original hotel and I couldn't have been happier! It was located downtown which was close to all of the main attractions of Albuquerque. The service was great and the restaurants there was amazing - it's been awhile since I've loved a hotel restaurant.

I loved the New Mexico feel of the property! I'd absolutely recommend this to anyone - our room was wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobolovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your unexpected stay and hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis - USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed here the first weekend of December 2011. Have been thru ABQ several times on our way to Santa Fe; decided to check out this city for a change. We stayed in an Andaluz King room - beautiful, nice layout, very comfortable bed. A similar room in San Francisco, CA would cost $400 per night; ours here was about $160 before taxes. Ate Saturday breakfast and dinner in their restaurant, Lucia. Both meals very good. Hotel is one block off Central where there are about 7 blocks of restored downtown Albuquerque. Interesting history nearby. Can only imagine how amazing this hotel would have been when it was first opened as a Hilton and this was the tallest building around. Would definitely stay here again if we have another opportunity to be in ABQ.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor might get some noise from the lobby; other floors are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicycle-AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am glad to hear you had the opportunity to explore not only the hotel but its history as well! It has been a pleasure watching this historic hotel transform into what it is today, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy a little piece of that history with us.
Thank you again for your kind review and hopefully we get to see you in the future! '

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I was booked at the Andaluz by a conference planner, so had no advance clue that I would be treated to an elegantly designed, medium-sized hotel that's been masterfully updated and staffed by gracious professionals. The public spaces are unique and lovely, the sleeping room was large and modern, the food was outstanding, and the service was exceptional.

Two examples of the service quality: (1) At 7:15 a.m. I reported a depleted laser toner cartridge in the business center; by 7:20 it was replaced so I could complete an urgent project on time. (2) A day after checking out I called to report that I'd left something in the room; the missing item was located and shipped to me promptly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanU-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear of your positive experiences with our staff and that you were pleasantly surprised during your visit.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Troy Byington
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,634 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,692 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isleta Resort & Casino
#27 of 144 in Albuquerque
623 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing