We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was lucky enough to spend four nights at the Hotel Andaluz and was very impressed. Having never been to New Mexico I loved the ambiance. The lobby is spectacular, warm and inviting with unique alcoves big enough for a small group to hang out in. I can't remember a hotel that offered so many different places to sit and relax. The room was also lovely, with plenty of space and a separate sitting area with it's own TV. It was very clean and comfortable and had a view of the mountains. As mentioned in other reviews, if the weather is good be sure not to get a room above the "rooftop" bar. It was too cold at night for more than a few people to be out there, and so we were never disturbed, but it could be an issue in warmer weather. The on site restaurant is terrific. In every way this is a lovely, charming gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

The owners did a fantastic job with remodeling this hotel. They kept the historic features but updated it to a contemporary urban feel. It's simple luxury, it's green, it's local, and it's a great place to stay if you're looking for something besides a big chain hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was our first visit to Hotel Andaluz, and it was a great experience. We chose the Classic room, which is their smallest, but it was nicely sized for our overnight stay. We liked the "green" choices made in the design of the room. We took the opportunity to have drinks in one of the gorgeous semi-private alcoves in the lobby area. I would recommend Hotel Andaluz to friends, and the next time we're passing through Albuquerque, we'll gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is undoubtedly one of the most lovely and unique hotels I've ever stayed in. Gorgeous lobby, artistic details in the room, vintage yet modern feel. The hotel restaurant is outstanding. I would absolutely stay there again, if I find myself in Albuquerque.

The only negative issues I had were (a) the check-in process and (b) a fire alarm that went off at about 6am. The reception desk is awkwardly situated in a small room with 2 desks and some chairs, and it just doesn't really work. I felt like I was applying for a loan. As for the fire alarm, it was apparently a system malfunction, but the staff did not seem especially regretful about it, and did nothing to make up for having everyone evacuate their rooms in pajamas and robes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcbased08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A group of friends and I stayed here for New Years. The hotel was beautiful and the party was fun but what really impressed me was the service. On the way to Andaluz, one of the members of my party hurt his back. While Dave was checking us in, he expressed great concern for my friends injury and even offered pain relievers which we declined because we had some already. But, Dave went above and beyond, and was able to rustle up a back brace for my friend to borrow for the night. He was able to enjoy the evening pain-free with this courtesy. No extra charge, just asked to return the brace upon checkout. Will definitely consider Andaluz again even though I'm a local!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliea942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Pros:

+Trendy, artsy, beautiful, historic
+Something different from chain hotels
+Friendly staff (atypical of these downtown trendy hotels)
+Very economical
+Very comfortable rooms, tasteful and practical decor
+The centerpiece lobby is awesome to hang out
+Beautiful library too
+Not scary like that other restored hotel (Parq central: which is clearly a mental hospital.... just driving by it gives me the creeps.... eek)
+Great restaurant on site

Cons:
-Parking not free, but not a rip off, even if you valet
-Not much to do around downtown Albuquerque, not its fault.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel was an awful expierence. They think its a 5 star hotel and its a 2. The staff was extremly rude and snobby STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfatguyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectaions. The safety and security of all of our guests is of utmost importance to us Thank you for your comments.

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,727 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,830 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#25 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Isleta Resort & Casino
#24 of 143 in Albuquerque
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £98 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing