We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, great restaurant”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at Hotel Andaluz for two nights in May 2012. The first room I was given (1001) had annoying noise from the adjacent elevator room, but the staff happily moved me without delay to a really cool room called the Zen Den. The rooms are clean with modern amenities (internet, ironing board and iron by request, flat screen TV etc).

The lobby area has a quiet room off of it that resembles a library - comfortable chairs, books, adjustable volume jazz music, computers for use, etc. There is also an upstairs bar area and the Lucia restaurant is attached to the lobby. I ate there one night and had an awesome steak and great creme brule.

We walked a half mile to Holy Cow for lunch one day, which I recommend highly. We also walked 1.8 miles to the iconic Frontier Restaurant, which is also worth checking out.

Anyway, my stay at Hotel Andaluz was great and I would love to return. They have a very friendly front desk staff, clean, unique rooms, free passes to a nearby Globo-Gym, a nice restaurant and reasonable rates.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Andaluz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our first visit in February was for a week, so we were there for the live entertainment on Thursdays. If you want one of the casbahs, especially on weekends,make sure you call ahead to reserve one. We ate breakfasts, dinners and special event meals during this stay. ALL were excellent, as was the service. We stayed for another week at the end of March, during which time I came down with a little something and was wanting to eat something that was not on the menu........by this time, we'd established some rapport with just about everyone and felt comfortable asking if the chef could come up with something..............NO PROBLEM!!! I feel confident in writng that any newcomer would have received the same willingness to help. So kudos to the dining room team as well as Leto at Guest Registration. Take some time for yourself to enjoy the ambience in the Library...the music, the fireplace and thebooks. No pool or spa on site.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koukla46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Koukla46,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our Library is a very relaxing place to unwind. Our casbahs are rich in colors and relaxing at the same time. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff helped to make your stay memorable. I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our Food and Beverage staff as well as Lito from Guest Registration.

Our mantra here at the Hotel Andaluz is that we never say "no" to guest requests.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We happened to stay here on a Saturday night and we were pleased that we didn't have to leave the hotel for dinner or entertainment. Their restaurant was excellent and the service was wonderful. We were able to have our dessert in the lobby area after dinner and the seating was very comfortable. They have several casbahs along one side of the lobby and we spent a little time in one, but we wanted to be closer to the entertainment. They had a jazz trio and singer and it was just a pleasant experience.

The hotel was built in 1939 but has been upgraded. The room was not that big but it was fine for one night.

They have an outside lounge on the second floor which was very nice, but smoking is allowed and that detracted from the experience. There was also a woman there saving seats for a large party and that was annoying as well.

I would definitely recommend at least a one night stay. This is also the type of place where valet parking works to your benefit. We never considered parking on the street. After being on the road for a couple of weeks, the experience was a welcome change.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Greetings to Keen3 from Chicago, IL!

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback after your recent stay at Hotel Andaluz! The recap of your visit allows us to enhance our service quality and provide genuine New Mexican hospitality!

Kindly note that I have shared your comments to our entire culinary staff and they are all very happy to know that their efforts ar so well appreciated. The jazz we currently have in our lobby definitely add's to the ambiance of the hotel and makes for a relaxing evening. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Saturday night stay with us!

Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority. Again, we thank you for staying with us here at Hotel Andaluz.

Sincerely

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel Andaluz is a stately hotel smack in the middle of downtown. It is convenient to everything including I-40 and convenient to all our favorite restaurants including The Standard Diner. Rooms have more style than your average box hotel but are nowhere near as nice as the hotel leads you to believe. There are also some little quirks like no ice and no coffee maker - you have to have them delivered (no charge). Also, the beds sit in a wooden frame on the floor that is just the right height to cut up your shins when you walk by. They really should do something about that. Bathroom, as already mentioned by others is tiny. Being a green hotel, they have installed wall units for shampoo, soap and conditioner. In our room, it squirted straight out instead of down into our hands, and made the counter a mess.

Room seemed clean but there was a sandwich and a can of something left in the fridge by a previous tenant. We had it removed when the bellman brought up ice. Not a very great impression for a hotel we had high hopes for. I hope next time, we'll choose better.

Self parking is now $10, in and out, but we were lucky enough to find street parking for the night we were there.

Room Tip: When checking out, I asked if our room was typical of all rooms and he said yes. I guess they're...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Greetings to Yahooer from Chapel Hill, NC!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as we consider it of utmost importance in providing the ultimate experience our guests expect and it allows us to enhance our service and quality.

I have addressed your comments to our housekeeping staff regarding the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is certainly not the high standard of excellence we continuously strive to provide each of our guests here at Hotel Andaluz.

Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and if you ever find yourselves in the Albuquerque area again, we would love to have you stay with us and we will provide you with a complimentary upgrade and breakfast for 2 in Lucia.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The reception and lobby are beautiful. Wonderful job. However, the rooms were too small for my liking. Small bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Greetings to Jeff & Des!

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Andaluz and for taking the time to provide a recap of your visit on Trip Advisor!

It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed the ambiance in our lobby. Our owner took great strides in maintaining the old word charm while providing a modern and contemporary feel to our hotel.

If you ever find yourselves in the Albuquerque area again, we'd love to offer you a comlimentary upgrade to one of our more spacious rooms with amazing view's of the Sandia mountains.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

There is no parking at the hotel. The valet barked and gave poor directions to the parking structure. The parking attendant at the structure was very rude (state owned so not the hotel's fault). Parking is $8/day if you do not remove your car until check-out. It's more if you leave and come back again.

The front desk staff have been friendly on the phone and upon check in. The lobby is very nice. The rooms do not look like any of the photos on their website. They have a very skilled web designer. Online the hotel looks very upscale but the rooms are very small and not nearly as fancy as they show. "Spacious" is NOT a word I would use. They really do highlight the nicest suites they have available. Again, the lobby is very nice but who gets to sleep in the lobby?

They definitely cater to the night club and major events like weddings.

For the price, they really should include parking and free breakfast. Friendly valet staff I guess must be extra too.

There are much better options in Albuquerque. Even the Best Western by the airport is better than Hotel Andaluz.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drsooseme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is one of the first Hilton hotels built in the US (no longer a Hilton). It has been beautifully restored and has multiple "green" attributes too numerous to mention. The beds are comfy, heavenly sheets, nice baths, very friendly staff, nice restaurant as well. We've been to ABQ 5 times and this has been our favorite lodging.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Greetings to Laurie G from Concord, MA!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Andaluz and for providing an excellent recap of your visit! It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

Our owner went through great strides to keep a lot of the original ambiance of our original owner Conrad Hilton while creating an iconic property with all of the elegance you might expect from a 4 diamond hotel. The bedding is indeed luxurious and is certainly a favorite among our world traveler's.

We thank you again for your review and for continuing to stay with us on your frequent visits to Albuquerque. We will be looking forward to your stay again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,679 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,778 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Isleta Resort & Casino
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: £127 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing