We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming boutique hotel with loads of character but.......”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“charming boutique hotel with loads of character but.......”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We recently booked a stay at the Andaluz in Albuquerque while moving our daughter there for grad school. This is a charming hotel with loads of character and lovely guest rooms. It is a short walk to the train and an easy ride to UNM so should have been perfect and was until we were ripped off by the bartenders at the hotel rooftop bar. The Andaluz has a wonderful happy hour with a $5 food and drink menu that we enjoyed frequently during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed until the bartending staff changed on the Friday night before we left. Stefanie and Lisa (bartenders on duty) made numerous attempts to pad our bill and blatently over charge for drinks. We were even warned by another patron who witnessed one attempt that these two were known for this. When we were presented with our bill the next morning at checkout there were errors with our tab and we explained this to the manager and requested signed receipts. We were told that the receipts were not on site. We were told that we would be contacted on Monday to go over the charges when the receipts were available. Let's just say that a week later I am still fighting about charges for unsigned tabs. So..enjoy the ambiance of the hotel but keep your eye on the girl bartenders!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHSabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re concerned and surprised to hear of this incident. I am currently investigating the situation and would like to ask if you could contact me directly at mconstantine@hotelandaluz, so that I can gather additional details to further follow up . Rest assured that I will take the necessary steps to address your comments, and I certainly regret that this tarnished an otherwise enjoyable experience. We hope that you’ll give us the opportunity to be of service to you again on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Maria M. Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    282
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
198
565
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Good location, close to old town and downtown activities, nice staff. The rooms were small but nice and clean (to be fair, we booked the cheapest cetegory) but the bathroom was unusually SMALL. If you can live with that the Andaluz is surely a good choice. No pool, gym is nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolimoncello2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear leolimoncello2003,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience while staying with us at Hotel Andaluz. We are glad to hear your visit was pleasant. Should you decide to visit again please keep in mind we do offer various room types with larger square footage should you require a larger living space or bathroom. Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences and know you have many choices when staying in Albuquerque.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Good location for the city, classy old hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful large lobby and a library to boot. Restored well, and they don't make them like this anymore. If you haven't stayed in a hotel that's from this era, it's a great choice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Advice32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Advice32,

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit while experiencing the overall ambiance of the hotel and its multiple outlets.
Thank you again, we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,943 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,896 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We went to this 1930 Hilton hotel which has been renovated and modernized. There is still an old fashioned Moorish feel to the place but there are modern hip restrooms, a lovely lobby bar with inviting alcoves and on the 2nd floor a terrific outdoor rooftop bar. There are some drink and food deals at the 5 to 7 PM happy hour--3 or 4 drinks for $5 each and some appetizers for $5. Other than that, drinks are pricey--a White Russian drink was $10. This is a very classy place downtown near the old Route 66.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Pnemiller,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a fine experience in both our lobby and Ibiza bar during your visit that you chose to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you back at Hotel Andaluz soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

One of Conrad Hilton's first hotels has been re-born as Hotel Andaluz in downtown Albuquerque. The spanish/moorish decor in the public rooms is warm and beautiful. The hotel rooms are spacious and modern.
Check-in was efficient and friendly
We tried the roof top (second floor over the restaurant) Ibiza bar for happy hour - nice view and the bacon wrapped dates were great. Two appetizers and two glasses of wine for $20 - hard to beat; service here was very good. We had dinner at the Lucia restaurant - wonderful experience.

Downtown Albuquerque was very quiet Saturday morning, but we found the Farmer's market bustling six blocks away in the park.
We probably wouldn't be out walking the downtown at night.
Parking is either Valet or a city parking garage.
Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjstjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear tjstjs,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to experience a little bit of our downtown area! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I would stay here again. The staff of the hotel is excellent. I love the architecture, especially the parts that have been saved from the original hotel, which dates back to 1939. The modern updates are nice, but a bit Danish modern, not exactly fitting the old hotel. But they are interesting and fresh. We were not impressed with the restaurant. It is very expensive, rather slow, and not quite worth the money. I loved the outdoor bar overlooking the city, and planned to take advantage of it. But when we walked out onto the balcony they turned up the music, which was loud and pulsating, and we ran for cover back inside. There is a very pleasant library with a good choice of reading material. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. No tub in the bathroom, but small and functional. The valet service is very cordial and worth the extra money for the service. I hope that the hotel does well. It is unusual and I like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurplePaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear PurplePaloma,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear your overall stay with us was pleasant and that you had an opportunity to experience the hotel’s multiple outlets. We apologize however, that the restaurant and bar did not live up to your expectations or ours for that matter. If you have a moment I would like to discuss your experience with our food and beverage department further. Please feel free to contact me directly at msanchez@hotelandaluz.com Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences and know you have many choices when staying in Albuquerque.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here as a part of a marriage retreat. The facilities were fantastic and very clean. The staff was very professional and helpful with any question that we had. When we arrived on Friday, they had jazz in the lobby, which made for a relaxing way to start the weekend. We also liked that it is a pet friendly hotel, for a small fee. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Reads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Beach_Reads,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a good experience during your marriage retreat and thrilled that you chose to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you back at Hotel Andaluz soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,637 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isleta Resort & Casino
#27 of 144 in Albuquerque
624 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing