We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Design, Attentive Service, Gorgeous but Loud Lobby”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Stunning Design, Attentive Service, Gorgeous but Loud Lobby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Design: The design of this historic hotel is stunning and the lobby is the most welcoming and cozy ambiance Albuquerque offers with lovely lighting, a water feature, interesting architecture and loads of seating. The lobby is huge with a lofted ceiling, live entertainment some nights, cocktail service and adjoining private rooms perfect for an intimate gatherings. Entertainment varied ranging from a DJ one night to a gifted flamenco guitarist another. Warning, the music is the lobby is really loud. I escaped to the adjoining library with its cozy fireplace, office equipment and beautiful decor to find the music was piped in there too - but easily turned down or muted with a volume switch - now you know its there. The coffee served in the lobby in the morning is very tasty, Red Rooster coffee I believe. Free wifi is a plus and there are lots of outlets in the lobby to charge your gadgets.

Rooms: My corner room, 611, had loads of sunlight - too much actually - too much morning light through the wooden slatted blinds that are not adjustable up/down though the slats can be closed. No blackout curtains. Ackward closet situation but not an issue. Safe in room. Toiletries are top notch and decor is lovely. Fridge was a plus. Housekeeping was prompt and thorough. No tub in this room, though I read others have a claw foot tub, so if that is important ask before you book or get a room assignment.

Service: Service was attentive, friendly and prompt at valet, bar and reception. Entire hotel was spotless. Service and food was average in the downstairs restaurant. Having lobby cocktails (try their sangria) is a plus. Yes, it really is all about that lovely lobby.

Location: Yes, downtown Albuquerque shuts down a little early, but its a nice stroll down Central Avenue. Skip Maisels has wholesale Native American jewelry and pottery from many local pueblo tribes and the prices are unbeatable. It is worth a trip alone and I never miss it when in Albuquerque. I am drawn to my old favorite local foodie spots with local ambiance, true local food, not five star types: Monroes (New Mexican food), Garcia's ) best breakfast burritos all day), the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center's cafe (every item delicious) and the cafeteria (really!) inside the Latino grocery store, Panaderia Crown Bakery (empanadas, pizzas, fresh jalepeno bread), Pro Ranch Market....so much to choose from! Wear pants with elastic.....(smile).

Room Tip: A corner room provide more light, but beware there are no blackout blinds and only a shower, no tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It means a lot to us when guests take the time to post their opinions and reviews. Thank you very much for yours and your attention to details. The owner will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the design of the property. have a great holiday season and a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    272
    94
    44
    38
See reviews for
193
548
91
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkport, New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Heading to AZ stopped in Albuquerque for a day and decided to stay here because of the location. Room was perfect, a corner king room. More than enough lights. Quiet. Great bed. Who needs more? Terrific service all around except for the restaurant which I reviewed separately.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52607Smiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We want your total stay to be exceptional so we will definitely address your concerns regarding your dining experience. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and the comforts of the room. Have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We had a Christmas party there and the entire staff took fantastic care of us. We first ate at mas the hotels rest. It was fantastic. I can not say enough about this glorious place and it's amazing staff including mark Lovato the manager that was extraordinary

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank currantooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're delighted that you had a great experience and your kind words for Mark Lovato are sincerely appreciated. Come visit us again soon and have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Everything from the rooftop bar, to the restaurant, the indoor gazebos and beautiful rooms was simply amazing. My mother stayed here while my sister and I were at an airport hotel. We stayed with her most of the time. Walking distance to so many great places. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saki5394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Wonderful and perfect are two of our favorite words! We're delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to you returning in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I were in Abq for a 2 week business trip, work was horrible, a but this hotel was just what my wife and I needed for the after work syndrome ... Love the the Mas area , very beautiful and new.. Staff was great and our rooms were beautiful as well...fitness center was across the street and that was very convenient .. All we did was wrk go back to our room, unwind and go to the gym, than we would happily return to the hotel for great dinner and drinks...hats off to Jolena and Hortencia for being so great..we will stay here for our business trip again and again,

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south so you can have a great view of the city, also use the valet service,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We're pleased that Andaluz proved to be an oasis of relaxation for you after a long day at work! And we appreciate the kind words you had to say about our staff. Providing a great guest experience is truly our top prioity. Thanks again for the kind words and Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandringham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Guys - save up your money and take your sweetheart to Hotel Andaluz! The penthouse suite will absolutely exceed your expectations - hand hewn copper tub, steam shower, 180 degree views. Suite 1011. Excellent food downstairs and a stunning decor throughout.

Room Tip: Dogs allowed - good for some, not for others if they bark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We agree with you! The penthouse is amazing and it sounds like you had a very special experience! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Have a great holiday season and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulce, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The property was simply choice. Just a block from Downtown Music Venues, like Sunshine Theatre, Launchpad, Burt's Tiki Lounge and my favorite, the Sister Bar. Wonderful Resturants in the area. Fitness pass to an awesome gym. I was in great company with well behaved peps. The staff is very friendly and considerate. I look forward to our next trip to Downtown Albuquerque. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozmike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Sounds like you had a good time with us! We're fortunate to be right in the heart of the downtown district where you can literally walk to a lot of venues and establishments. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We greatly appreciate the kind words! Enjoy your holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Isleta Resort & Casino
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing