We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown
Ranked #70 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This place is a terrible. It is outdated and filthy. The only plus the rooms are relatively quiet. Therefore they are small and the furniture is worn out. Everything smells old and smoky. Don't stay there. Pay the extra few $ and stay at a decent place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
This is the second review I have responded to concerning the smell of smoke. As I have said before, we do have two smoking rooms on the basement level, which makes me wondered if the reviewers may have been on that level. As with all hotels, we have different room types at different rates, and if one was to book on line at an exceptionally reduced rate, one should expect to be in the best room in the hotel. If we are sold-out, guest have to be situated as to price paid and as this reviewer states "you get what you pay for..." That being said, if any guest - at any rate - would just let our staff know about their concerns - we will do our very best to make them comfortable - and if we can't - we will refund their money and help them find another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    205
    177
    134
    131
See reviews for
270
167
101
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

EVERYTHING Reeks of smoke, elevator ceiling missing, 24-hour coffeebar is a joke, pool not open, breakfast food looked scary, & my feet were black from going barefoot in the room. Got Premium Cable? No! Great mattress though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
"EVERYTHING Reeks of smoke"...to coin the reviewers term, "Really?" There are only 2 SMOKING rooms in our 120 room, 6 floor hotel - and they are in the basement - at the very end of the hall on a separate ventilation system. We even have a strict policy, which guests sign at check-in - notifying them that $250 will be charged for anyone smoking in a non-smoking room.

I checked with Maintenance and they did have to take panels out of one of our two elevators in order to work on the lighting...and as with all hotels, our pool has to be cleaned and maintained so there are times when it is closed - but only for short amounts of time. I apologize for the cable not being "Premium" but we subscribe to the only cable company in town so there is little we can do in that area. I'm also unsure as to what the reviewer expected our 24 hr. coffee bar to be - but we have an automatic coffee dispenser with regular, decaf & hot water for tea - with all the sugars, creamers, ect. located in our breakfast area with comfortable chairs & tables and even a flatscreen, color TV for the guest's use.

The most disturbing comment in the review was "my feet were black from going barefoot in the room".! Our carpets are cleaned on a schedule, as are all hotels, but suitcases and luggage racks are pulled in from the parking lot daily - not to mention people coming and going from outside - Honestly, there is not a hotel in existence where a person should go barefoot on the carpet and I would not recommend anyone reading this review to do so - in our hotel - or any other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I wish I could give a nice rating but this property failed on all accounts. The hallway stank. The room had only one lamp near the bed that worked only at the switch. Nothing worked with a switch except the bathroom. This is unsafe as there was no way to turn on a light when entering your room. This is inexcusable as it is a safety issue. The location is horrific, not a thing in walking distance - would never stay there again. It also took forever to check in. Nice older gentleman working there but slow as can be. Breakfast was like the army... you had to get a coupon for some slimy gravy handed out by a rude drill sergeant. No thanks!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMA-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but we most certainly meet "fire codes" and all other required inspections. Every room in the Plaza Inn has a switch at the door which turns on a ceiling light. All rooms also have at least two (2) additional lamps - on the night stand and on the desk. The larger rooms have three (3) lamps plus the overhead. It is the Executive Housekeeper's policy to have all the lights left on when a room is cleaned until she has inspected the room to insure that all the lights fixtures are working for the next guest. If anyone reading this response has any type of similar complaint, please notify front desk so that it can be resolved immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

parking tight, elevators dirty missing ceiling ice machine not working and only one non smoking room found heavy smoke remaining in room had to change room staff very helpful and friendly!
I wouldn't stay her again and wouldn't recommend

Room Tip: talk to front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoSalesManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 6 July 2015
Good afternoon.

Thank you for staying at our property. I am so sorry about your experience at the property. We strive for our guest to have the best experience possible and we dropped the ball with your stay. We are a 100% non smoking hotel since i have started as GM. I am also very bothered by smoke and cannot stay in a room that smells of it. We are under new management and ownership and are cleaning up our hotel. It is no longer the Plaza Inn and is now the New Howard Johnson Hotel Midtown.

For that I am so sorry. We train our staff every week in cleaning our rooms as we would our homes. We also concentrate on training our team with excellent customer service. I hope that you can give us a second chance int he near future.


Our hotel is under going some amazing renovations in all of the public areas and the guest rooms, however the guests rooms may not be done until September of 2015. We would love for you to come and stay with us again and see our growing changes.

Our breakfast is our proudest growth and is totally amazing. We have a full hot breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, cinnamon rolls, french toast, gluten free bagels, boiled eggs, Otis Spunkmeyer Freshly baked muffins, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts , ...etc so much more. Also, from 4pm-8pm daily we have freshly baked cookies, iced lemon tea and hot coffee.

We also have a free local shuttle that goes within city limits and to the airport . Flat screen TV's in all guests rooms. A newly renovated Pool and hot tub, Pet Friendly, Wyndham reward program, Free USA Today newspapers & onsite catering for meetings and banquets. We have also transformed our lobby and have knocked down some walls to open it up and create a more open feeling. We also have Chalk Board paint on all of our breakfast tables where guests can draw and play games. This has been a huge success and we invite you to come and give us a second try. For Kids we have a Treasure chest, where every kid gets a toy and we have a designated kids Zone with toys and books. We are also transforming 20 rooms to Kid themed rooms with batman, Spiderman, minions, beauty and the beasts, Frozen, cinderella & many more. As you can see, like any aged diamond in the rough, with a little TLC, we are looking better and creating memorable stays for the better!

When you stay with us its better than staying with family! Were one of the cleanest properties in new mexico and we won't nag you.

We welcome you back anytime!!

Tammera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My sister and I stayed there for six days in February. It was awesome!
The shuttle picks you up from the airport and then from 7am-7pm it will bring you pretty much anywhere in the area! That was an awesome amenity because we flew there and didn't want to rent a car. The staff is all nice: Poli, who serves breakfast is super friendly; Eugene, David, and Vance, who all drive the shuttle are awesome! They were energetic and all of them suggested fun things to do and then always asked how the activities were afterwards! David even came into Frontier when he was picking us up there and didn't see us outside. None of them ever made it seem like we were a burden even though we rode the shuttle multiple times per day.
Breakfast was okay-the eggs were not good but the biscuits made up for it! Also had coffee, OJ, bagels, toast, cereal, etc. Some days they also had popcorn and cookies at nighttime! :)
The view from the balcony was great, you can see all of ABQ. It's next to the highway though, so if you don't like the noise of passing cars then I'd suggest asking for a room on the side that doesn't border the highway.
Overall, it was a great place to stay and we were very happy. You get a great value for the money paid and they make you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicalynn514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoSalesManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 6 July 2015
Good afternoon.

Thank you for staying at our property. I am so sorry about your experience at the property. We strive for our guest to have the best experience possible and we dropped the ball with your stay. We are a 100% non smoking hotel since i have started as GM. I am also very bothered by smoke and cannot stay in a room that smells of it. We are under new management and ownership and are cleaning up our hotel. It is no longer the Plaza Inn and is now the New Howard Johnson Hotel Midtown.

For that I am so sorry. We train our staff every week in cleaning our rooms as we would our homes. We also concentrate on training our team with excellent customer service. I hope that you can give us a second chance int he near future.


Our hotel is under going some amazing renovations in all of the public areas and the guest rooms, however the guests rooms may not be done until September of 2015. We would love for you to come and stay with us again and see our growing changes.

Our breakfast is our proudest growth and is totally amazing. We have a full hot breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, cinnamon rolls, french toast, gluten free bagels, boiled eggs, Otis Spunkmeyer Freshly baked muffins, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts , ...etc so much more. Also, from 4pm-8pm daily we have freshly baked cookies, iced lemon tea and hot coffee.

We also have a free local shuttle that goes within city limits and to the airport . Flat screen TV's in all guests rooms. A newly renovated Pool and hot tub, Pet Friendly, Wyndham reward program, Free USA Today newspapers & onsite catering for meetings and banquets. We have also transformed our lobby and have knocked down some walls to open it up and create a more open feeling. We also have Chalk Board paint on all of our breakfast tables where guests can draw and play games. This has been a huge success and we invite you to come and give us a second try. For Kids we have a Treasure chest, where every kid gets a toy and we have a designated kids Zone with toys and books. We are also transforming 20 rooms to Kid themed rooms with batman, Spiderman, minions, beauty and the beasts, Frozen, cinderella & many more. As you can see, like any aged diamond in the rough, with a little TLC, we are looking better and creating memorable stays for the better!

When you stay with us its better than staying with family! Were one of the cleanest properties in new mexico and we won't nag you.

We welcome you back anytime!!

Tammera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Do you remember as a child when you were ordered to do a task with a time limit.
Reserved multiple nights CC on file. Beginning the second night management would call my room, ignoring my do not disturb sign and demanding I be to the desk on 5 min to sign my ticket. After explaining I should be scheduled for multiple nights as well as the fact I asked not to be disturbed. 30 min later the sheriffs office was at my door. NOT PROFESSIONAL! NOT CLEAN! You would be better off sleeping at the strip club. Trust me!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryHairCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
In the event that any official department, such as the Sheriff's Office, comes to the hotel asking about a guest, it is our policy to call the guest's room and ask them to come down rather than sending the official through the hotel to the guest's room. However, if the guest refused to come to the front desk, there would be no other option than to send the inquiring officer to their room. This is the only scenario where the "sheriffs office" would be "at {your} door", particularly since you stated that you refused to come to the front desk to "sign {your} ticket", as the hotel doesn't issue tickets. Also, thank you for your suggestion: "You would be better off sleeping at the strip club" but, unlike yourself, I don't think most of our guests have that option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

No its not the Marriott.. no its not the Hyatt. It looks outdated, but the value is perfect. Its quiet..its clean...staff was fabulous.. cleaning staff was outstanding...I promise..if you want value without the frills..go here. If you want a quiet place ..clean place..bug free place for the value..go here...just remember...its not the Marriott.. but its comfort and customer service is comparable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesus a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Your candid review was much appreciated. It's true, we are not a high end franchise hotel - but there are plenty of those in the downtown area - at a much higher rate. We feel there is a need for a clean, comfortable place to stay - at an affordable rate - and that's what we provide. As you said - we do excel in hospitality! Thank you for noticing and I will pass on your kind remarks to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University
#88 of 144 in Albuquerque
75 reviews
Sleep Inn Airport
#44 of 144 in Albuquerque
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown

Property: Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown
Address: 900 Medical Arts Ave NE, Off I25 & I40, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2707 (Formerly Plaza Inn Albuquerque)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson ABQ Midtown-formerly Plaza Inn Abq. offers 120 Spacious Guests Rooms and Suites. We are just minutes away from UNM, Presbyterian Hospital, Heart Hospital, Kirtland AFB, Isotopes, Lobos and Downtown ABQ! We are the preferred hotel for ABQ Balloon Festival, Sporting Events and local Attractions. We are also a Pet Friendly Hotel. We offer a FREE Hot Breakfast with Omelets, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, french Toast, Grits, Boiled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy & more, FREE WIFI, Freshly baked Cookies Daily from 4pm-8pm with Tea and Iced lemonade, Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Pet walking area, FREE USA Today, free shuttle, Refrigs and microwaves in EVERY Room. We have over 6 Restaurants that deliver food right to your room. Enjoy our Chess game in the lobby. We also have meeting rooms and Banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Plaza Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing