We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location at Old Towne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location at Old Towne”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It is in a really nice location by Old Towne which is very charming. It is nice to be able to walk around there day or night. The restaurant on site,Gardunos, is good but it would be nice to have another option for dinner is you have had your fill or Mexican type food, but hey this is New Mexico. The beds were very comfortable and hotel was clean. Nothing especially outstanding, but overall nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear lunaWisconsin, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate the feedback. We are always pleased to hear our guests take advantage of the on-site amenities, like our restaurant Gardunos and that you had a delicious dinner experience. Our location is a favorite aspect to guests and locals alike as it is convenient to the historic Old Town Plaza and lovely local adventures just in walking distance. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    506
    171
    68
    53
See reviews for
293
493
108
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesilla, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Attended conference at Hotel Albuquerque ~ great rooms and service. Room was big and very comfortable. Wonderful experience checking in and checking out. Front desk personnel very professional and handsome!!!!

Room Tip: Room was very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trustee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear trustee52, we are pleased to hear your recent stay with us was a great experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable and deluxe accommodations and that our staff provided excellent service. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service and it is a great compliment to the entire hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide wonderful feedback, we sincerely appreciate. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After spending 6 nights in airbnb's - I needed a night of 'luxury.' For $100 - that is exactly what I got. Everything was perfect at the Hotel Albuquerque. Very warm and helpful staff, very clean and airy rooms - mine was on the 9th floor and faced the mountains. I liked the emphasis on conservation (rather than toxic cleaning product smells and wastefulness). I liked the Aveda products, I liked the bed, the sheets, the pillows. I had fresh-brewed Starbucks coffee and really good tea. It was a wonderful 24 hours of comfort and quiet. And, it is 2 blocks from Old Town (technically in Old Town) and across the street from a Mexican tile business (so much beauty there). Will definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone I know going there.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Elizabeth C, we thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town and are delighted to hear your stay was a blissful experience! We strive to provide deluxe accommodations as well as all the necessary amenities and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary Aveda products and Starbucks coffee. Our location is a favorite aspect to guests and staff alike as it is convenient to the historic Old Town Plaza and lovely local adventures just in walking distance. We are always happy to hear guests are able to take advantage of our location and explore, especially the views of the majestic Sandia Mountains. We thank you for your fantastic five star review and for the compliments to our staff. On behalf of all the staff at Hotel Albuquerque we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future for continued luxurious stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Winter Spanish Market was great, the staff at Hotel Alb, all were awesome, our room was beautiful and comfortable. We were one of the artists that participated and we couldn't have asked for a more welcoming place.Thank-you....muchicimas gracias!!!

Room Tip: Our room had a balconey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Vickie O, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable experience and that the market was a successful endeavor. Thank you once more for the fantastic five star review, we sincerely appreciate it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for future stays at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in November 2013 in the off season. Reading some of the mixed reviews I was a little concerned, but was positively surprised. The hotel was very clean, nicely furnished, the staff very friendly and helpfull. The Restaurant served breakfast and dinner all day. The Mexican food was excellent, a little on the spicy side but pretty authentic. The Bar served great Margaritas. The Old Town was less than five minutes walk, the same distance as the Museums of Art and Natural History. Downtown Albuquerque is about a ten minutes drive, The Center for Pueblo Indian Art and Culture about the same. Interstate 40 is two minutes away and it takes ten to fifteen minutes to the airport. The OldTown with the San Felipe de Neri Church is worth a stroll and has some restaurants and besides the typical souvenir shops some high end quality stores and galleries for Native American Arts and Crafts.If you have time for some road trips I would recommend, besides Santa Fe, the Salinas Mission and Pueblo ruins (3) southeast of Albuquerque by taking the longer scenic route off I-40.
I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south look over the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinStutensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear MartinStutensee, we are delighted to hear your stay with us was wonderful and that all elements of your stay were enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town and for your positive review. We are always pleased to hear that our guests take advantage of our on-site restaurant Gardunos and that you had a great dinner experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poteet, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This property is overrated. I only stayed there because it is in close proximity to Old Town (which is great and I love!) but next time I will pay the $5 for parking at old town because this property is not worth what you pay to stay. On the last night of my stay there was a ball and the hotel was overrun. This would not be so bad however guest of the hotel had no where to park and a huge section of the parking lot remained vacant because the staff were instructed to "keep it clear for valet parking". That is all well and good and I do not blame the staff, but the attendees were parking themselves and were taking up parking that should have been for guests of the hotel. I was absolutely offended at this total disregard for paying customers. This owner evidently does not have a problem biting the hand that feeds him. I was thinking about staying at another property but will never stay at any Heritage property again because this was an insult of the highest order!

Room Tip: Save yourself the hassle and stay elsewhere. If you want to visit Old Town you can pay $5 for all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Irene R, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. We appreciate your feedback, as it is the best way for us to improve our services. Our location is one of the most favored aspects of the hotel, as the historic Old Town Plaza is just south of us. I definitely wish to apologize for the apparent lack of concern for guests not attending our event being held, as nothing could be further from the truth. We do have free parking around the entire hotel, with our largest parking lot east of the building itself. Again, we do apologize and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque in the future to enjoy our excellent location and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In my line of work I visit and evaluate destinations and write hotel property reviews. The sad state of affairs is Albuquerque Tourism is in line with Breaking Bad, meaning, Albq is just a place to land before escaping to Santa Fe. Now about this hotel; dirty, tired, lacking decent amenities, and if hospitality is all they got- they lack that too.

On the outside the hotel is aging and not in a good way, the property is also unkept. The parking lot needs paving BAD- it's rough. The neighborhood is less than upscale for the price. The hotel touts being right next to Old Town, it is- but Old Town isn't what it used to be, it's dirty and the shops are chochkee at best (if you want rustic and authentic go to Santa Fe).

Lobby is nice, but not that nice. It barren but decorated with typical Albuquerque flair. This property has an EXCELLENT and beautiful courtyard, great for weddings, but don't put family overnight here.

Rooms are way way tired. Carpet is old, rooms and halls need repainting. The bathrooms are small with cracked calking and dirty tile (the shower still had hairs- yes I said hairs from the prior guest). In my opinion even a luxury property gets a poor rating if unsanitary. My room had a tube tv cir 1990- not a flat screen, a genuine tube tv encased in furniture reminiscent of the late 80's. Room furnishings were sparse but adequate. If you are a business traveler you will be happy and disappointed; on on hand they have plenty of outlet strips, on the other hand they look like National Lampoons Griswold Christmas (there has to be a fire code violation here somewhere).

Bed was ok but pillows... Ew, whereby making me think twice about the linens.

In room amenities? Good luck... The coffee maker is old and well- that's the end of in room amenities. Even the in room phone wasn't working (I tried to call for room service).

Overall room experience was on par with an independent "motor lodge" and I'm not kidding. Sadly Motel 6 has cleaner rooms. A $75. Night Hampton Inn has way better rooms.

Hotel Amenities; this is definitely a conference hotel although be it a tired one. The hotel gym (if you call it that) is tiny, less than a room size, and the equipment is awful and outdated. So I went to the front desk to ask where I can get a complimentary cup of coffee- they directed me to my room or the hotel restaurant. This perplexed me- Hotel Albuquerque promotes itself as an upscale property but can't provide patrons with a simple cup of coffee?

Overall experience; well there was no per se experience. Hotel Albuquerque is a no frills hotel promoted as and charging as a premium property. What should its price range be? $50.-$65.00 per night TOPS. My recommendation is if you are looking for a premium or luxury hotel experience here or in Albuquerque- look to Santa Fe or somewhere else, simply put there isn't any. Try either Santa Anna or Sandia Resorts (on tribal land), or just go to one of the many GREAT Albuquerque 3 star hotels spend less and get more.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBRExecProducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear FBRExecProducer, thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and that we were not able to meet your expectations. All departments have reviewed your comments and are definitely prioritizing making up for our service. We are very glad that our wonderful Spanish gardens could shine through. We hold several outdoor events, and firmly believe we have the best outdoor wedding venue in Albuquerque. We are always listening, and stand at the ready to accommodate our guests. Your constructive feedback is always welcomed. Again, we do apologize, but we promise our staff will go above and beyond to make your next stay a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#38 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing