We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inflexible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“inflexible management”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed one night in Albuquerque with the intent of traveling to Santa Fee then on to Colorado. When making the reservation in Santa Fe is sped dialed Albuquerque instead. Within minutes I caught my mistake and attempted to rectify the incorrect reservation only to be told that the Albuquerque management was inflexible and they would not cancel my reservation. Not only were they inflexible, the manager was not even present on the property and never returned my call. We have stayed in Hyatt Hotels all over the world and have never been treated to shabbily. I am very disappointed because when we returned to the hotel, we were given a smaller room with a very loud air conditioning unit.

Room Tip: Do not stay close to the elevators. These rooms are approximately two feet shorter than the normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 671irmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am extremely sorry about the inconvenience you were caused and was not aware of the situation. We do adhere to our policies that have been set in place and I totally empathize with you.

Sincerely

Shehnaz Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    178
    73
    34
    29
See reviews for
203
126
32
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've been trying now for three weeks to remove an extra $123.14 charge they made to my credit card (charges made by the hotel staff for any future expenses at the time of my stay / ahead of time). I've stayed in many hotels throughout the country and I've never come across this with something like this. When my wife tried to cancel the last day (she was told that she was going to have to pay for that extra day day regardless / policy that they have because they have a high occupancy rate according to the manager).
I'll have to go through the whole process of disputing the extra charge listed above by writing and waiting a few more weeks through my credit card company. It has not felt as a customer friendly hotel at all. I never write reviews; however, it's important for other potential customers to know this because of the amount of time I've used up trying to clear these extra charges. I Also didn't give the best marks to the room because the windows had to be opened it smelled had a smell of staleness (stuffed and not fresh at all). The Drury Hotel was so much better (Hot breakfast and supper and much better customer ethics).

Room Tip: The Drury Hotel is much better. Plus they have free Hot breakfast and supper included with your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your response.

Shehnaz Mehta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great budget hotel in a great location

Pros
Clean, large bedroom
Very helpful, nice staff
Located next to mall, restaurants and groceries - 2 block walk
Cons
Service level appropriate for a budget hotel
so so breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliketravel101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shehnaz Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Large, clean, well-decorated room.
Very good, friendly service.
Good location near I-40, restaurants and stores, such as Apple.
Easy access from Interstate.
Reasonable pricing.
Breakfast choices were average/good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Shehnaz Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheney, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed at the Uptown even before Hyatt bought and upgraded it because of location. It is still a prime place to stay because it is across the street from Uptown. Lululemon, Anthropology, Apple, Trader Joe's, Starbuck's, etc. but the rooms are becoming dated. The furniture is showing, and worse, feeling it's age. The internet is so slow as to be unusable, I went to Starbuck's... The people are nice and the place is very clean, just needs a total update! I want to come back, but I am looking for newer or updated places to stay.

Room Tip: Looking South is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morse99004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for you candid comments. We will pass on your comments to our Corporate Office. We have just completed a very big Internet upgrade and I have had great reviews on that from all our customers.

Thank you

Shehnaz Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Personnel at the front desk were very friendly upon arrival. They even offered a quick review / walk around of their amenities. They even called me once I arrived at my room to ensure that I was satisfied with it. The location is great as there are numerous shops and places to eat right across the street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_77Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Please come back and visit us soon.

Shehnaz Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I arrived late (1:30am) for a quick rest on a long trip- greeted by a polite & professional young man who efficently checked me into a room (even offered me a room with a nice view on the 17th floor, which I appreciated!). Decent room rate, too...The rooms were clean and comfortable, but for me the highlight was the gift shop!!! I never visit the gift shops when staying at a hotel, but this one was very nice... had everything I needed (souviner wise) to bring home to my family. Nice place to stay- would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shehnaz mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#20 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,300 reviews
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#52 of 144 in Albuquerque
681 reviews
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#17 of 144 in Albuquerque
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown

Property: Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Address: 6901 Arvada Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4291 (Formerly Hyatt Place Uptown)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt
Hyatt Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing