We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass it up!”
Review of The Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Blue
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased and surprised at our stay a The Hotel Blue. It's in a great location near downtown ABQ with the Farmer's Market right across the street. The beds are VERY comfy and with doors on the exterior walls its actually pretty quiet.
The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was huge and delicious!
Don't pass it up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRM_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Although it looks a little run-down on the outside, The Hotel Blue was a pleasant surprise! I booked a night here before heading up to Santa Fe. The bed was so comfortable and in the morning, the farmer's market was right outside the door! The staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolTimeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Yes, I was surprised, I had a very wonderful experience at Hotel Blue, I was a bit apprehensive, in that the Hotel is a bit old, however the very friendly staff made all the difference in the world, coming out of the elevator door in the morning and seeing the smiling faces of staff, reception staff were always, 24 hours a day happy, friendly, attentive, willing to help in any way. Drivers of the shuttle 7am-10pm, very user friendly this makes up for the little problems of the airconditioning in the rooms NOT keeping the rooms cool enough to sleep properly. The airconditioner in my room said 60 F but my thermometer said 90! It was cooler outside my room than in it, so I left my door open in the morning. But the temperature of the swimming pool made up for the hot room, must be getting glacier water running into it. It is wonderful after a long day walk to have a deep, 9 ft deep cold pool to go into. Most hotels now days do not have pools over 5 ft deep and none of them cold, except in the winter!!!A perfect place to collect insurance from your wheelchair loved ones accidently rolling into the deep end while you are in the bathroom.

I always worry when a hotel advertises Continental Breakfast--the breakfast should be advertised as American Breakfast Buffet, Continental Breakfast is what you get on the Continent of Europe, hot coffee or tea, milk, butter, jelly, and bread, rolls or crouissants. Simple and not very healthy, they have a wonderful diverse breakfast, actually called an English Breakfast in Europe (rubbery instant scrambled eggs, sausage patties, breakfast potatoes, 3 kinds of bread, 2 kinds of bagels, butter, cream chees, jellies, honey, 4 kinds of instant oatmeal, 3 kinds of yogurt, milk, 3 kinds of juices, waffle batter for you to grill your own, apples. I was especially pleased with the 24 hour good coffee and good juice being available. NOT even the expensive hotels give such service for normal customers. My bed, towels and linens were 5 star quality. The internet was fast and worked 24 hours a day. I never tried the TV or the fireplace, but I am sure it is a nice touch on wintery days. I will definitely stay here again if at a meeting in the convention center, many good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: look for a room on east side of building so it does not heat up from the afternoon sun in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

yes...you can tell this hotel is not new. I'm from ABQ and I cannot remember it not being there, though the name has changed several times. the rates are very good. easy to get to, easy parking (no extra charge for this). Breakfast is included, but I'm in ABQ, with several restaurants within walking distance we opted to dine at restaurants that serve chili (red or green love those words). the check in was very easy, lobby is clean, nice big pool with shade and lots of seating. the bathroom looks like it was remodeled. nice flat screen TV and Wi-Fi...oh but when I sat down on the bed to remove my shoes I fell in love with the place. TempurPedic. not too hard, just right. we stayed three nights the first visit then one night on the second. both times the bed was wonderful.
again, at the edge of downtown, close to old town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Hotel Blue has an unimposing exterior and a very welcoming minimalist stylish interior.

Pets are welcome—although there are to date, no pet amenities, so bring your own bowls. The pet rules regarding weight and size are very flexible—there is a $15 daily pet fee and furry guests are accepted on the 5th floor only (as extra cleaning is routinely given to this floor).

The property is well kept, the staff is friendly and the location is in the heart of downtown, across from a well shaded grassy park that has a great Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings (pooches on leash are welcome).

There are quite a few vagrants in the area and in the park (as mentioned by other reviewers) although they seem harmless, caution is advised.

I would also like to mention that on Friday and Saturday nights, there is a major car cruising scene in this area, with radios blaring and the screeching of tires, unfortunately, out of the control of the management and local businesses. It does quiet down after midnight.

General Manager, Sunil has done a wonderful job of creating a comfortable (deluxe Tempur Pedic beds) and inviting atmosphere in the rooms—equipped with microwave, fridge, coffee makers. He has spent the last 7 years overseeing the hospitality details of this property.

Great value at a bargain price of $77 (tax included)!

Room Tip: A room that doesn't overlook the park, might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a road trip
Good points - had free secure parking, free wifi, free breakfast, secure building, large clean room with tv and coffee facilities, just a stroll to bars and restaurants, good price, quiet room.
Not so good - nothing really, it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Hotel Blue looks a little scuffy from the outside but I believe they are still in the renovation mode. Very well maintained inside with clean and nicely decorated rooms. The breakfast they provide is a nice assortment with a little something for everyone. In addition, you can grab coffee/tea/hot chocolate/juice 24 hours a day. Located on Central Avenue just a few blocks from the Amtrak station that also houses the RailRunner to Santa Fe. You can walk down Central Avenue to Old Town or walk back up to the main center for a few decent restaurant choices. If you don't have a car, the fact that this hotel is located around the corner from the Bus Rt 66/Rt 766 which can be taken to the main transit hub OR directly up to the trendy Nob Hill area works out well. There is an okay Italian restaurant across the street and a popular Java Joes about a block away with coffee and menu items. Nice hotel personnel...warm and friendly. Much more interesting to stay in the downtown area than Uptown or outlying areas. SUPPORT DOWNTOWN ALBUQUERQUE! You'll enjoy your stay here :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMGalNewDiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,366 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#17 of 144 in Albuquerque
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,752 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,433 reviews
MCM Elegante Hotel
#82 of 144 in Albuquerque
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Blue

Address: 717 Central Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3007
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: £56 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing