We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Blue
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Sure, it's not the Ritz Carlton, but then again, it's not Ritz Carlton prices. It's great value for money, located right next to the city centre and the beds are fantastic.It seems they've spent money in the right place (i.e. the standard of the beds) rather than the appearance. I'm not sure if it's standard, but I had complimentary breakfast and free wifi, I would definitely stay there again. Without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel is historic and was built back in the 1960s, I understand that and I'm not counting that against the property. It is just falling apart in some places. The exterior corridors were actually quite nice; there is an enclosed stairwell and an open air one.

To start off, the door to the room was cracked, chipped, falling apart and barely closed. It let in a draft and some light. The AC did not work very well. The housekeepers had it off; it took around 6 hours to get the room cooled, and we were on an east-side room. The room is extremely small. Unless you need two beds, get a king. There is barely any walking room in a room with queen beds. If you are claustrophobic, that might be a problem. The only larger rooms are the suites; so get those if you want to stay here.

The restroom is not that bad, they do have soap and lotion dispensers so you might want to bring your own. Thankfully, the sink is separate from the shower/tub and toilet. The counter space on the sink is pretty good; and you even get a toothbrush and shaving kit without asking. The closet is a bit hard to access because it is right by the sink. On the plus side, the room really does have DirecTV HD programming with Samsung HDTVs. Below the TV is a funky looking electric heater that looks like a fireplace. The cabinet where the DirecTV box is located is locked so you can't steal it; but only the top half of the drawer should have been locked--a lot of space is wasted. The free WiFi is fairly fast; faster than Verizon LTE I believe.

Now to the public areas, the lobby is very dated and feels lonely. The meeting rooms are spacious but very old (probably from 1970s or 80s). The fitness center is very small and only has a few pieces of equipment. The breakfast area is spacious and they serve a variety of food. The "business center" is just one Dell Vostro running Windows 8 in the lobby (with printer). The pool is outdoors and is 9ft deep at the deepest point.

For no reason at all, the underground garage was closed; so we could not park our vehicle underground to protect it from the hot sun. The housekeeping facilities are underground; the garage was small and creepy with no cars in it. The hotel is served by two Dover hydraulic elevators. They do quite well when both are working; on the last day of our stay one elevator was stuck on a floor because the shaft doors would not close. Waiting for the elevator took forever and it was 2-4 times faster to take the stairs (even from the top 6th floor).

*Overview*
The only reason I gave this hotel three stars instead of two was because of the real DirecTV HD, Tempur-Pedic beds, and free breakfast. Other than those main amenities, this hotel is not up to par with other similar hotels in Albuquerque. I would only stay here again if major upgrades were done like replacing the doors, AC/heating units, and making the whole building look either more modern or new-looking retro style. Right now it looks like a typical old, dusty, grimy '60s motel.
The good: The location is absolutely great; within walking distance of downtown/old town ABQ and the train station. Free breakfast is pretty hard to find in the downtown and uptown regions of the city; not only does it save money, but time as well.

Room Tip: Get a suite or king if possible; the regular rooms are too small. Get an east-side room for a great...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artiepenguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Interesting hotel at end of the Main Street going to the Old Town. Art Deco style with entrances to rooms from the outside balconies which meant it was noisier and colder than normal. Biggest plus of the room was the extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast included in price and was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayL1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The room itself was fine, akin to a well kept budget chain hotel. The staff was helpful, and the breakfast included every option that you might find at a Comfort Inn-type hotel (eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffle iron, etc.) Free airport shuttle and newspapers were pluses. On the outside, though, it's a dump, beat up, dingy and uninviting. The banged up, scarred elevator interior and outdoor corridors might make you nervous. Add to that the "Walking Dead" feel of downtown ABQ, close proximity of multiple bars and a "gentleman's club," and it was worth about half what I paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opusRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

First of all, realize that this is an older hotel. It is a little past its prime, but staying there was a treat. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The exterior needs upkeep, but our room was ok. It was clean and comfortable. We sleep well and the breakfast was great. I felt that the price was a little high considering the age of this hotel.

Room Tip: top floor was fairly quiet but cars can be heard
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed there for a conference, for four nights. Upon arrival, was received by a very nice friendly front desk clerk. Was checked in quick and was told of my amenities. They have free wifi, which was great. Free shuttle to and from Airport. Free great breakfast and starbucks coffee. Temperpedic beds are so relaxing. I had a great time at this hotel. Will stay here again, it made my home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claritycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The bed must be the only redeeming factor for the cost. Dressed in thread-bare linens(ripped in two places), the mattress was very comfortable, though. The shower curtain had mold all over the inside, and the desk clerk was not clear about directions. Upon entering the locked parking lot, we walked all over the place trying to figure out how to get back into the building.
All-in-all, an overrated expensive experience. I have stayed in suites in Albuquerque for much less than this room cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
768 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,400 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
#104 of 144 in Albuquerque
193 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Blue

Address: 717 Central Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3007
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing