We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Downtown Location”
Review of The Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Blue
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient Downtown Location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our first room's air conditioner didn't cool down the room and they switched us right away to another room. Comfortable, clean and well appointed....even included a power strip to charge our many devices. Refrigerator, coffee pot, soft and fluffy towels and a comfy bed. The lobby was well appointed; although the brochure rack and nearby restaurant menus were kind of hidden away. Breakfast was good; make your own waffles, Starbucks coffee, scrambled eggs, yogourt, cereals. There's a private, secured parking lot and an outdoor swimming pool that needed some cleaning....lots of dead and dying crickets floating around! Courteous staff. Good location for downtown, although not much is happening downtown Alb these days.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room on east side; our room was west facing and was very hot in the late af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roniandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    135
    74
    34
    40
See reviews for
58
86
60
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was very clean, had a very comfortable bed, and was pleasant. They had a pretty good continental breakfast. The "fireplace" was different, but fine (good for a laugh!). The only drawback was the cruisers on Route 66 in the evening. They were quite noisy, but we put earplugs in and it didn't bother us too much. We LOVED that the hotel was in view of Tuco's lair (from the TV show Breaking Bad). As a matter of fact, we watched an episode with Tuco's lair while at the hotel and could see the Hotel Blue in the background of the shot! Very cool!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side, away from Route 66 (Central Ave) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitPhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you do a major detour from the normal tourist route in the States, consider Albuquerque and a stay at the Hotel Blue.
It is handy to most things to see, friendly, clean and well priced.
Our plane was delayed so arrived too late for the free shuttle from the airport to Hotel, but there was no problem using the hotels shuttle to pick up our rental car and get a ride back from the rental depot once we had finished. The hotel offers free secure parking.
The room we got was large overlooking a wee park and parts of the city. The bed was VERY comfortable, linen changed every day and there was microwave, fridge and coffee making for our use. Each morning we enjoyed an amazing breakfast ( included in the price ) ranging from
muffins, cereal, fruit, waffles to a selection of hot dishes.
The fun thing with this hotel is that it is on Route 66 so the opportunity is there to drive a part of this famous road, and we loved seeing the motor bike convoys "doing their thing" along the road at dusk.
Albuquerque is easy driving to Santa Fe and along the Turquoise Trail, so remember Hotel Blue if you put New Mexico on your itinerary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murimagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place has some very good and some very bad offerings, as far as my experience goes.

The location is at the corner of 8th and Central Avenue (Route 66), in Downtown Albuquerque. You are very close (walking distance) to some awesome restaurants, bars, shopping, parks, and attractions, such as museums.

You are also going to experience some very loud late evenings, as youth in this community like to drag race down Route 66, honking horns, squealing tires, revving engines, kids yelling, until midnight or later, even during the week. This hotel is right where that action is, so you will not sleep until it calms down, around 1 am. I am not sure why the ABQ police don't intervene with this activity on this very popular stretch of road.

This hotel has a gated parking lot, which is a nice amenity, but the gate does not open with your room key. Time and time again, not only me, but others I have seen swiping and swiping their card, trying to open the gate. You have to put your car in park, go inside and ask them to enter the code so the gate will open. It is very frustrating. This happened nearly every time we tried to access the parking lot.

Another issue is the room layout and amenities. Most rooms have a fake fireplace in the room, which takes up a lot of valuable cubic real estate. There are only two drawers in the room, and ours had a broken knob on each of the particle board drawers. The lamps were not plugged in, and the cord was stuffed between the bed headboard and the wall. The place where the "fireplace" is, is in an open area under the TV, and a locked cabinet is next to it, so you can't use any storage for clothes, or other supplies. I literally lived out of my suitcase for 6 days.

There are absolutely no pictures or furnishings in the room, so you feel like they never finished the rooms to make them feel more homey.

Another issue is the soap in the bathroom/vanity areas. They chose to have a mounted dispenser on the wall of the shower and near the sink in the vanity, so if you choose to take a bath, you have to stand up in the tub to get the soap, as they provide no bars of soap.

When another room ran their shower or flushed their toilet, the water rushing in the pipes made it seem like it was coming into my room, as it was very loud, especially in the middle of the night.

The first night we were there, the toilet did not flush properly. We called for maintenance assistance, which never showed up. It was late, so we had to use the facilities in the lobby. Awful. We asked to be moved the next morning, which they accommodated. In our new room, the TV didn't work, could not get a signal for any channels. No maintenance reply to that request either.

The good things about this hotel is the bountiful breakfast. They serve warm scrambled eggs, waffles, toast, yogurt, cold cereal, oatmeal, juice, apples, and Starbucks coffee. It is fabulous. The breakfast is from 6 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day. The staff is courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean enough, and every bed has a temper-pedic mattress, which is very comfortable. Each room has a small refrigerator, small freezer, and a microwave. They offer fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoons, and the latest USA Today newspaper. They also have a shuttle that can pick you up from somewhere in ABQ, and drop you off at your desired location, which came in handy when we were out after dark.

I think you would be taking a gamble staying here, with the loud noise outside, cheap furnishings and maintenance issues. I think your money would be better spent staying in a chain hotel, and not an independent one like this. The price is comparable to other hotels on Route 66, so consider this experience before you book at The Hotel Blue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel sits on a noisy street with loud bars that you can hear from all of the rooms; people partying and screaming outside of the rooms; old, stained carpets and dirty floors, downright gross. manager was rude, unresponsive, and insufferable. Don't stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a very average hotel, but owners/managers are doing some regular upgrades to the hotel.

One of the biggest upgrades has been adding channels to the direct TV menu. Great location downtown for walking and eating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etobicoke, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's on historic Route 66.
Mid Century architecture
Rooms were spacious, and you might have a nice view.
Staff were kind.
Lobby cookies were a really nice touch.
No problems with wifi.

Breakfast wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst. It was busy, would be nice to have more tables.
Hotel is a little tired looking, but well priced.

Room Tip: Higher floor and facing east - you can watch the sunrise over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,227 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monterey Motel
#24 of 144 in Albuquerque
502 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
#106 of 144 in Albuquerque
190 reviews
Anthea at the Granite
#8 of 12 in Albuquerque
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Blue

Property: The Hotel Blue
Address: 717 Central Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3007
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing