We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Blue
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Parq Central(Albuquerque)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Old Town(Albuquerque)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albuquerque Marriott(Albuquerque)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Andaluz(Albuquerque)
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rodeway Inn East(Albuquerque)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
81
138
76
35
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
138
76
35
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstempurpedic bedold townconvention centerstarbucks coffeefree shuttledowntown albuquerquecentral avewafflesfree breakfastan older hotelflat screen tvwaffle makershuttle servicefridge and microwaveairport shuttledirectvrazor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Traveling w two little dogs, we chose this hotel. Room was a little tight but nicely appointed w all amenities including a "fireplace". Granite touches and triple sheeted tempurpedic beds were nice. W dogs and only elevators to 5th floor, walking them would have been a problem but for pee pads. Within walking distance to Cecelia's Cafe - a huge plus and close to Old Town and downtown was right there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahMStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our first room's air conditioner didn't cool down the room and they switched us right away to another room. Comfortable, clean and well appointed....even included a power strip to charge our many devices. Refrigerator, coffee pot, soft and fluffy towels and a comfy bed. The lobby was well appointed; although the brochure rack and nearby restaurant menus were kind of hidden away. Breakfast was good; make your own waffles, Starbucks coffee, scrambled eggs, yogourt, cereals. There's a private, secured parking lot and an outdoor swimming pool that needed some cleaning....lots of dead and dying crickets floating around! Courteous staff. Good location for downtown, although not much is happening downtown Alb these days.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room on east side; our room was west facing and was very hot in the late afternoon. A high floor avoids the road noise from Central Avenue.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roniandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was very clean, had a very comfortable bed, and was pleasant. They had a pretty good continental breakfast. The "fireplace" was different, but fine (good for a laugh!). The only drawback was the cruisers on Route 66 in the evening. They were quite noisy, but we put earplugs in and it didn't bother us too much. We LOVED that the hotel was in view of Tuco's lair (from the TV show Breaking Bad). As a matter of fact, we watched an episode with Tuco's lair while at the hotel and could see the Hotel Blue in the background of the shot! Very cool!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side, away from Route 66 (Central Ave) are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnitPhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you do a major detour from the normal tourist route in the States, consider Albuquerque and a stay at the Hotel Blue.
It is handy to most things to see, friendly, clean and well priced.
Our plane was delayed so arrived too late for the free shuttle from the airport to Hotel, but there was no problem using the hotels shuttle to pick up our rental car and get a ride back from the rental depot once we had finished. The hotel offers free secure parking.
The room we got was large overlooking a wee park and parts of the city. The bed was VERY comfortable, linen changed every day and there was microwave, fridge and coffee making for our use. Each morning we enjoyed an amazing breakfast ( included in the price ) ranging from
muffins, cereal, fruit, waffles to a selection of hot dishes.
The fun thing with this hotel is that it is on Route 66 so the opportunity is there to drive a part of this famous road, and we loved seeing the motor bike convoys "doing their thing" along the road at dusk.
Albuquerque is easy driving to Santa Fe and along the Turquoise Trail, so remember Hotel Blue if you put New Mexico on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murimagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place has some very good and some very bad offerings, as far as my experience goes.

The location is at the corner of 8th and Central Avenue (Route 66), in Downtown Albuquerque. You are very close (walking distance) to some awesome restaurants, bars, shopping, parks, and attractions, such as museums.

You are also going to experience some very loud late evenings, as youth in this community like to drag race down Route 66, honking horns, squealing tires, revving engines, kids yelling, until midnight or later, even during the week. This hotel is right where that action is, so you will not sleep until it calms down, around 1 am. I am not sure why the ABQ police don't intervene with this activity on this very popular stretch of road.

This hotel has a gated parking lot, which is a nice amenity, but the gate does not open with your room key. Time and time again, not only me, but others I have seen swiping and swiping their card, trying to open the gate. You have to put your car in park, go inside and ask them to enter the code so the gate will open. It is very frustrating. This happened nearly every time we tried to access the parking lot.

Another issue is the room layout and amenities. Most rooms have a fake fireplace in the room, which takes up a lot of valuable cubic real estate. There are only two drawers in the room, and ours had a broken knob on each of the particle board drawers. The lamps were not plugged in, and the cord was stuffed between the bed headboard and the wall. The place where the "fireplace" is, is in an open area under the TV, and a locked cabinet is next to it, so you can't use any storage for clothes, or other supplies. I literally lived out of my suitcase for 6 days.

There are absolutely no pictures or furnishings in the room, so you feel like they never finished the rooms to make them feel more homey.

Another issue is the soap in the bathroom/vanity areas. They chose to have a mounted dispenser on the wall of the shower and near the sink in the vanity, so if you choose to take a bath, you have to stand up in the tub to get the soap, as they provide no bars of soap.

When another room ran their shower or flushed their toilet, the water rushing in the pipes made it seem like it was coming into my room, as it was very loud, especially in the middle of the night.

The first night we were there, the toilet did not flush properly. We called for maintenance assistance, which never showed up. It was late, so we had to use the facilities in the lobby. Awful. We asked to be moved the next morning, which they accommodated. In our new room, the TV didn't work, could not get a signal for any channels. No maintenance reply to that request either.

The good things about this hotel is the bountiful breakfast. They serve warm scrambled eggs, waffles, toast, yogurt, cold cereal, oatmeal, juice, apples, and Starbucks coffee. It is fabulous. The breakfast is from 6 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day. The staff is courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean enough, and every bed has a temper-pedic mattress, which is very comfortable. Each room has a small refrigerator, small freezer, and a microwave. They offer fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoons, and the latest USA Today newspaper. They also have a shuttle that can pick you up from somewhere in ABQ, and drop you off at your desired location, which came in handy when we were out after dark.

I think you would be taking a gamble staying here, with the loud noise outside, cheap furnishings and maintenance issues. I think your money would be better spent staying in a chain hotel, and not an independent one like this. The price is comparable to other hotels on Route 66, so consider this experience before you book at The Hotel Blue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews