We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was like a Motel not a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank)
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This was like a Motel not a Hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

When booking a Holiday Inn Express I have an expectation that it will be somewhat nice. I don't expect the Ritz but at least something that resembles a hotel. Unfortunately when driving up to this "hotel" we realized we had made a mistake. It looked more like a Motel 6 than a Holiday Inn Express. When we got to our rooms it was not much better. Old beat-up furniture, sloppy paint job, a metal bar in the bathroom area to hang clothes, dust and dirt around everywhere and a loud crapy air conditoner. Frankly it was a dumpy place. We were so disappointed, we decided to find another hotel. Luckily the Hilton Garden Inn had two rooms for the final nights of our stay. For slightly more money we ended up in a Jr. Suite and a nice hotel. I would not stay here again even for free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FlatowLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank), responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear FlatowLeach,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    81
    46
    32
    22
See reviews for
107
65
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This motel is beautiful, The staff were so helpful the rooms were beautiful and clean. The breakfast was great. Just a really beautiful motel, you wont be dissapointed if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: The rooms down stairs in the court yard are good, there is a place to sit with friends and its real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stopped in here on our way down to Texas and found the staff very helpful and friendly.Room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was the normal fare that you get in most hotels - good enough to keep our family all happy. The Owl restaurant just up the road was really nice for an old style "Happy Days" style place. Only downside for the hotel was the real bad knocking noise coming off the upstairs pipes when someone upstairs turned on the taps.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Window Rock, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here to go skiing at Sandia Peak. Rooms were fine and breakfast was good too! No highway noise and a few restaurants around. Getting out near the Owl Cafe is a bit tricky - better to avoid that intersection.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As others have said, this is an old Holiday INN that was converted to a Holiday INN Express. Outside entrances and small, small bathrooms. The rooms were clean and without odor. Could hear the neighbors somewhat through the walls. Breakfast was typical but service was not H.I.E. protocol. Use this site as a waystop, not a destination. It is in a sea of I-40 motels. There are other, newer Holiday Inn's in ALBQ to choose from just down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Va
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here the week befoe Christmas to visit family in Abq, Tijeras and Santa Fe. Found the location to be centrally located with easy access to highways. Recommend eating at the Range Cafe or Little Anitas for great Chili. Hotel was in good shape and staff was always friendly and helpful. Will stay again when in town !

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, East Facing for Sunrise or West for Spectacular Sunsets !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWSfxMgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberling City
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The room we had - number 137 - was in desperate need of repairs - and cleaning! This is not what we have come to expect from Holiday Inn - and was a big disappointment. The shower head was coming loose from the wall, the wall behind the toilet was 'caving in' and there was something dirty/sticky on the bathroom floor. There was also evidence that the sink had backed up during the night. I will say the beds were comfortable but that's the only good thing about the entire experience. The complementary breakfast buffet was worth pretty much what we paid for it. All in all, I would advise people to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: If you DO decide to stay here, avoid Room 137 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadru J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank), responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are sincerely dissapointed that the guest had to experience the issues in the bathroom but since then, this particular room and all the other rooms have been checked and double checked. We are confident that the guests who will stay with us in the future will be most satisfied with our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge East
#48 of 144 in Albuquerque
187 reviews
Rodeway Inn East
#75 of 144 in Albuquerque
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank)
Address: 10330 Hotel Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87123-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Albuquerque I-40 and Eubank is conveniently located just off Interstate 40 at exit 165. Many of our rooms have balconies with unobstructed views of the Sandia Mountains This Albuquerque, NM hotel is close to popular area attractions, including the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta, University of New Mexico (UNM), Sandia Peak Ski & Tramway, Old Town, Kirtland Air Force Base, St. Clair Winery, Rio Grande Zoo, National Atomic Museum, Sandia Labs and many casinos. A short drive away you will find the Ice Caves and Bandera Volcano. Feeling adventurous? You can even enjoy glider flights in Moriarty 20 minutes away. Hotel amenities include indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, fitness center, room service provided by historic Owl Cafe open daily, complimentary breakfast bar and a meeting room that can accommodate 30 persons. Complimentary cookies served in the afternoon. Free wireless high-speed Internet is also available. Visit Albuquerque, NM and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Albuquerque I-40 and Eubank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (I-40 Eubank) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque (i-40 Eubank) Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing