We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly Different from More Fairfield Inns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
Ranked #72 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
769 reviews
546 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Certainly Different from More Fairfield Inns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is older and not at all like any Fairfield Inn I have ever stayed in. The buildings facade had a decided Southwestern flair. The lobby was a little complicated and there was a warren of rooms - I counted four. This hotel had cookies at the front desk in the evening but my husband got the last one when he went inside to check in at around 1830. He didn't offer to share it with me - how sad!!
The hotel is sprawling and you might get a room that is quite a hike from the lobby area. Ask for a room close to the lobby if that is important to you. There are two elevators at opposite ends of the hotel but they could have used more due to the overall size of the place. Our room was very large with plenty of space for all of our bags. It had typical Fairfield Inn decor and was clean enough. I loved the small balcony overlooking the courtyard. We had a refrigerator but no microwave. The bed itself was comfortable but the bedcovers (comforter) were too light. I felt like all I had was a sheet on top of me. We had to turn off the AC entirely as we were just too cold and, as expected, woke up during the night miserable and had to turn the AC back on. Management might consider investing in slightly more substantial coverlets/comforters. The hotel seemed well insulated and there wasn’t much noise problem except for the unthinking guests slamming doors and talking in the hall after 10:00 p.m. The main complaint I had was that the internet did not work well at all while we were there. We were told at check in that internet would be spotty but it was more like non-existent. Apparently this was an area wide problem. All I know is that I could not get anything done. Breakfast was OK but nothing impressive. They had sausage and eggs (no sausage gravy) and the waffle maker made very hard, tasteless waffles. They might want to adjust how long the waffles cook and consider a different brand of batter. They had greek yogurt which was nice and a bold coffee choice that I really, really appreciated as most Fairfield Inns have very weak coffee.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    77
    28
    21
See reviews for
75
83
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lobby is lovely and staff was very friendly upon check in
We did not get any cookie upon check in as another reviewer noted recently
Bed was comfortable and pillows were good.

However, the towels were awful! They were very tiny and threadbare, something that I would expect to find at A very low budget motel not the Fairfield!

I liked having the bill under my door in the morning.

Good breakfast buffet complete with yogurt and hard oiled eggs among all of the items you would expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariam T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area.

You indicated in your response that your stay with The Fairfield Inn by Marriott was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction.
We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel at 505-889-4000.

Thank you,

Mariam T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barstow, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Marriott never disappoints and this hotel was no exception. From the friendly staff to the great tasting breakfast it was all great. The room was spacious and clean. We had a handicapped accessible room with roll in shower and handheld showerhead. The bed was very comfortable, better than my own. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for our daughters 5th birthday party. She wanted to have a pool party with all of her friends. It was a beautiful day at the outdoor pool. The service of the Fairfield Inn employees were amazing. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Clean, friendly, and a great value!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcb180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I Was traveling for business and stayed the night at the Fairfield inn Albuquerque university. It was 7:00 pm when I arrived and I was a bit tired and hungry. The hotel was clean and there was no fee for parking. The parking seemed safe and my vehicle was never tampered with. I checked in easily but found the following challenges.

The good:
*Check in and out were fast and painless.
*The room was spacious and a good product.
*The front desk had fresh baked cookies!
*The front desk staff was professional, responsive and kind.

The bad:
*Very little to no access to food. I arrived on Sunday and all food business's were closed save the bar at the crown plaza which ignored me after looking at me and acknowledging my presence.
*It also appeared there were very few restaurants inward walking range.
*The hotel is located in what appears to be an industrial location, which is not inviting to walking exploration.
*The internet, wifi, is inconsistent at best.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dmortuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We trust the Marriott brand to offer well appointed rooms, comfortable beds, and good breakfast choices. We also trust Marriott's to provide a safe environment. All this at a reasonable price, regardless of the age of the property.

We were pleased with the indoor pool and hot tub, and the convenience of dining at the Crown Plaza (although we didn't take advantage of it). We were less than pleased with the towels and bedding. The comforter was so thin that I initially thought it was missing. The towels were so threadbare that you could see through them, and there were multiple holes. Just thought that it wasn't up to Marriott standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HulaSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We live about 200 miles from Albuquerque, and always stay here when we have business in town.

I do a lot of traveling around the nation, and this Fairfield is far above average from other Fairfields. There is a pool Jacuzzi, both indoors, and a larger than average size exercise room. However this property is unique in that it is connected to the Crowne Plaza Hotel. You have an outstanding restaurant – the ranchers club – in the other hotel. There are also two very good bars in the hotel, the Crowne Plaza, walking distance! The hotels are connected and you don't even have to go outside.

The location is great if you're traveling. At the intersection of I 25 and I 40. Keep in mind however there isn't much to do within walking distance.

If you want a quiet room, go to the top floor interior room.

They offer some very good discount rates, so be sure to ask for AAA or other discounts you might think you could get....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
Crowne Plaza Albuquerque
#65 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#80 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel
MCM Elegante Hotel
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites Albuquerque
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
Address: 1760 Menaul Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area Hotel Albuquerque
Fairfield Albuquerque
Albuquerque Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing