We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Tijeras, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Amazing Service, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I don't have enough good things to say about the Econo Lodge Old Town. The hotel itself is clean and well-located within walking distance of many of the attractions in Old Town, including the Biopark. What makes this hotel superb is the service. All of our wedding guests (about 20 rooms) stayed at the hotel for up to 6 nights and we heard rave reviews from everyone about the excellent breakfasts and more importantly, the wonderful service given by the people that manage this establishment. It is rare to find people that strive to go above and beyond, yet Elena and her employees excel at it! Every contact I had with Elena both before and after the wedding was a pleasure. She is easy to work with and I felt confident knowing that my guests were well cared for during their stay in ABQ. My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Econo Lodge Old Town as well, so that we could spend more time with our family and friends and we were given 5-star treatment. I highly recommend staying here if you value amazing service with a smile!

Room Tip: Try to get a room further away from the road and office - mornings can be a little noisy as chatty g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    217
    55
    14
    11
See reviews for
158
268
83
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hotel is an older one, but it's clean and the staff is very friendly. Room a/c was noisy. Beds are comfortable and big. Complementary breakfast is nice, it has a wafflemaker, eggs, potatoes, bacon, bread, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and fresh fruit. The bread with raisins in it wasn't really fresh though...but next to the hotel is a Mc Donalds. ;) other things nearby are a Walgreens, DQ, and Baskin Robbins. The old town is only a 5 min walk away, there are many restaurants and little shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here the night before departing from Albuquerque. We had an early flight, and would be checking out before breakfast hours at the hotel. They gave us breakfast pastries when we checked in so that we'd have breakfast for the morning! Above and beyond is such a rarity, but always a wonderful surprise! The location is great. Easy parking outside of our room. Easy fill-up at the gas station next door. Walking distance to quaint Old Town Clean, newly renovated rooms. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSox4Life15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed at this during a week long motorcycle ride with friends from California, Texas, Iowa and Missouri. Johnny and the entire staff were magnificent. They treated each and every one of us as family. One of our group had a mishap and was slightly injured in bike crash and Johnny drove him to the restaurant of our choosing while the rest of us walked. The hotel was spotless, the breakfast fantastic, and the stay was great! Kudos!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was a one night over night stay on our way home. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and trusted them. They were right. This is a two story property next door to a gas station. There is a cinder block wall separating the properties. A large truck was parked in the parking lot and it was loaded with large rocks to be added to the landscaping. The exterior was clean and well maintained.
Check in was fast and the manager was very helpful. He recommended a restaurant in the old town area that was with in walking distance.
We arrived at about 6:00 P.M. and all of the 1st floor rooms were already filled. The room we got was at the rear of the building on the second floor and there are no elevators. The stairwell was enclosed and not very well lighted. Ladies, I'd suggest you opt for another room near the front of the property..
The room's entry was also in a dark corridor and not what I'd consider the safest place after dark.
All of the other rooms opened onto the balcony/ hallway that was open and visible from the parking lot. My room was not at all visible from the parking lot.
The room was clean and had a microwave and a small dorm style fridge. The bathroom was cramped but adequate. There was a sofa and coffee table too.
The new flat screen T.V. was a nice touch but it's glued to the top of the typical motel low dresser and was hard to watch from the bed. It was just too low.
Breakfast was good and hot.
We choose to eat at a Mexican restaurant and drove South on Central Ave. to see what was available. About a block from the motel, we found a place called Los Compadres Restaurant. Dinner was very good and the prices were very reasonable. See my other review about this place.
I'd consider staying here again, but I'd make a request ahead of time to get a first floor room to avoid carrying luggage up stairs and I'd insist on a room near the front of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the property..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Myself and husband stayed here for one night on our road trip of Route 66. It is within walking distance of Albuquerque Old Town. The rooms were clean, the staff we friendly and helpful. We had a free breakfast which was lovely, bacon, eggs, toast, muffins, cookies, waffles and cereal! It was self serve and you could eat as much as you wanted.
I would definitely recommend staying here due to its location and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Can't say enough about this place after we were stuck for 9 days due to our trainers semi breaking down. This staff was exceptional. Considering the circumstances they really looked after us, even getting up at 3:00 am to take us to the bus station, so we could get back home. Rooms were spacious and clean (I mean clean I have been some to some pretty fancy places that were not this clean) My husband really liked the breakfast. Location is perfect, walking distance to Old Town, Aquarium and Botanical Gardens. Only a couple of miles away from Downtown and Museums. I could not have asked for a better place to have an unscheduled stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Property: Econo Lodge Old Town
Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing