We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Lodge Old Town ABQ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Econo Lodge Old Town ABQ”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, to see Old Town and other ABQ attractions.

The room was very clean, our bed excellent. There was a good amount of space. We paid a little extra to get a suite, it was great to have more square footage.

The TV was merely okay. The set up resulted in a semi-blurry picture reminiscent of a tube TV, despite the flat screen.

The air conditioner did not have a setting where you could have the fan running constantly, which I view as a drawback. When staying at a motel where the guest cars park very near the rooms, it is highly preferable to be able to have some white noise. We would have slept better if there had been a "fan on" option.

The location is excellent, you can walk to Old Town, and there are a couple of basic restaurants within walking distance as well. Because of windy weather, we did not do the nearby botanical gardens, but I will note they are also within walking distance.

The parking lot is not really big enough for the number of rooms, and the parking striping is badly done, resulting in some ridiculously narrow spots (but some are okay, it seems they took the time measure properly for only part of the lot). In the end, the parking ended up being slightly chaotic.

The breakfast was very good, I especially appreciated the chicken sausages.

The staff was very friendly and professional, housekeeping did a nice job. A note about housekeeping - despite much signage indicating an environmental-friendly aim of not replacing all the towels and sheets everyday - all our towels and sheets were replaced every day. This was despite our following the steps to indicate we did not need them replaced.

The wireless internet worked well.

In the end, I can't give more than 3, due to the mentioned air conditioner, television and wonky parking lot striping issues. A nice stay, but nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    224
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
162
280
86
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went to The Gathering of Nations and stayed for two nights. The staff were very friendly. I asked for help in figuring out the tv and an employee came to my rescue in minutes. The breakfast was really good offering biscuits, gravy, eggs, bacon, sausage, assorted cereals and pastries, oatmeal, and fresh fruit! It's located near restaurants and shops but feels very safe and is quite charming. The price makes this a true bang for your buck.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKimball27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Veta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great motel, at an extremely reasonable price, with the nicest staff! A sparkling clean room, convenient location and an exceptional breakfast added to the experience. Oh, and an indoor pool. What a nice, nice place. You will definitely be our Albuquerque headquarters!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moe-nah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
221 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

i can see why this econolodge is a platinum rated choice hotel.........when we checked in the young lady was very cheerful and helpful...........the new hardwood floors are great since this hotel takes pets........the breakfast in the am was the best ive ever had at any econolodge..........plus this hotel was near the monte carlo steakhouse that diners,drive-ins and dives recommened.....this hotel cant be beat for price or location will definately return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with hardwood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a fairly standard, quite inexpensive hotel. Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is its location, very close (a ten minute walk) to the picturesque Old Town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and ours was unusually large. The hotel provides a hot breakfast and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. We had a room with wood floors which is great for allergies and cleanliness. Everything in the room was new and spotless. Excellent location a few minutes away from Old Town's restaurants and shops. Front desk personnel were amazingly courteous and helpful. Everyone showed a great deal of pride in their establishment and concern about correcting any problem, no matter how small. The hot breakfast was amazingly varied and plentiful.
I can't wait to stay here again. It was definitely the high point of 10 days on the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the best things about this hotel is the location - close to shops, museums, the zoo/aquarium, great food, and Old Town. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed, coffee maker, and a cold mini fridge. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice, always willing to share recommendations and advice. There is also access to a shuttle service through the hotel for a small fee. The breakfast was more than one would expect - waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage and bacon, fresh fruit, pastries, hot coffe and juice, cereal, and yogurt are just some of the options included in your stay each morning! Money well spent! We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Property: Econo Lodge Old Town
Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing