We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
“Great Weekend Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was curtious and professional. The owners gave us great suggestions for restraunts - thanks for that! The room was very clean and very little outside noise. The Econo Lodge was just a few blocks from Old Town restraunts and shopping and the Botanical Gardens. We highly recommend this Econo Lodge and will stay there again on our next trip to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: Great motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our property to others! That is truly the greatest compliment you can give to us. Our housekeeping staff works hard to make sure our guest rooms are in pristine condition. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the shopping and the Botanical Gardens!

We hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    218
    55
    14
    12
See reviews for
159
268
83
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Extremely dissatisfied with our stay. I have a laundry list of issues, but will try and summarize the major areas of dissatisfaction.

The hotel advertises as pet friendly but I would have to disagree. After running into various issues, the manager informed us she had to check the room because multiple guests reported scratching. Even after doing a walk through with her, she didn't believe that the dog was kenneled because she didn't see us bring a kennel in on the video. For whatever reason, this rubbed me the wrong way.

Additionally, we did not get the type of room requested, instead we got an 'upgrade'. Requested a king size bed and instead got two doubles which is not very convenient for a couple.

When I received the email from Econo Lodge to rate the hotel, I did so. The manager took the time to respond to my email but her responses were very rude and inappropriate. Our issues are not with Econo Lodge, but with the management at this specific location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheC716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Justin,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Just to clear some issues, your reservation was upgraded to a room with two queen beds that is larger and on the bottom floor for easier access with a pet. Early in the morning, about 5 am we were called by other rooms in the vicinity of your room to let us know about a barking dog. Other guests were woken up and dissatisfied that they had to hear a barking dog at an early hour while they were trying to get rest. These guests wanted a refund because your dog was barking continuously for hours. Consequently we contacted you to let you know that your dog was barking and disturbing other guests. When we contacted you, we found out that you left the dog in the room unattended and you left the property. Yes, we are a dog friendly property, but when a dog is left unattended in the room and barking, we have to find a solution to not disturb other guests. We had to check the room in your presence because the guest next door told us that they heard the dog scratching and causing damage. We and the other guests did not know that the dog was in a kennel the entire time. We are sorry that your dog had to endure a stressful situation in a kennel and unfamiliar surroundings.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Elena Mangu
Owner
Econo Lodge Old Town
505 243 8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place was awesome. They contacted me the day before our check-in to confirm our room. When we arrived very late, the person on duty (manager, owner, clerk - not sure) was so nice and so accommodating even though we had obviously woken him. He told us about the hot breakfast in the morning and told us many of things that would be served.
The room was very clean, and they provided the little touches you see in other places, like taking time to arrange the pillows and towels, etc. The beds were clean and very comfortable.
The next morning, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, especially the waffles and bacon.
All in all - I can't say one bad thing about this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear D J M .

Wow! I am so pleased you had such a memorable stay with us! Our wh ole team works very hard to run and mange our hotel. It's guests like you that make our job easy! Thank you for taking a moment of your day to recognize our team. It means a great deal to us to hear such wonderful and positive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed our hot continental breakfast.

Please come and see us again when you are in town!

Best wishes,

Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRESTON
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was super value for money, polite helpful staff,nice clean rooms and a better than average breakfast.
The location is perfect for visiting the old town, botanical gardens and aquarium-all within walking distance.
Also some good restaurants within a 10 minute walk in a very safe area. If you like pizza the Old Town Pizza Parlour is a must.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear linda176,

We are delighted you thought so highly of your stay at the Econo Lodge Old Town! It's wonderful when our guests appreciate the hard work of our team. We appreciate your kind words and will continue to strive to make each stay better and better. I am delighted you were able to enjoy our town!

We look forward to your next stay!

Best wishes,

Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
491 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We are not gonna lie, but we (a couple) wanted to visit ABQ for one of the most obvious reasons: BrBa.

We decided to stay in the Old Town, where many motels are located. Econo Lodge was not only a very economic solution but also a really great stay!

The managers welcomed us very friendly, late night at the check-in. They gave us a city map with infos about the area.

Our room was located on the second floor. It was very big with AC, TV, spacious bathroom with hair dryer, iron and iron board.

One of the best parts of our stay was the motel's breakfast. It was served in the nice check-in area. There were quite a lot of tables, so we found easily a seat. There were all kinds of options available such as: milk and serials, juices, several types of coffees, warm chocolate, flavoured Quaker, fruits, yogurts, omelet and sausages, corn bread, and we left the best for last! Waffle machine, where you could make your own waffles!

All in all, we paid approximately 80$ (with all taxes) for a very good stay. We definately recommend this motel to anyone, who wants to visit ABQ.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaki-Papaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lalaki-Papaki,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our property to others! That is truly the greatest compliment you can give to us.

We value your comments and we are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us. As you did during your stay, we want our guests’ to take full advantage of what Econo Lodge and our town has to offer. I am delighted you enjoyed our hot continental breakfast. Yes our guest love making their own waffles!

We hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very friendly staff! Great breakfast! Good Price! Close to attractions, some within walking distance if you like to walk. Choice rewards too! Indoor pool, outside but covered walk ways to rooms. Nice TV. Comfortable beds. Clean rooms! A nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Walt P,

Thank you for the great review! Our delicious complimentary hot breakfast is a delightful way to start your day. With all the wonderful sites to see here in Old Town, having a complimentary breakfast before you head out just starts the day off right. I will be sure to pass along your kind words as it helps us when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve each and every day


Best wishes,
Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel has been reviewed quite often with mixed reviews. We thought we'd add our observations as well. The clerk on duty at check in was very cordial, helpful and efficient. The room was clean but a little worn. The air conditioning kept the room very cold in the hot weather. The weather stripping on the room door was mostly missing allowing the air and light to enter the room. Shower water pressure and temperature were fine. Breakfast was well prepared with scrambled eggs, seasoned potatoes, biscuits and gravy, yogurts, apples, oranges, juices, waffles, bagels, pastries, cereals, muffins, coffee, etc. Could the reason that people have commented about the lack of available food if they got there late be that the workers staying at the hotel load up their plates more than once with enough food to last them all day? They also like to sit out in the parking lot in the evening which is their right, but it just made the place feel not as safe as most places we stay given that all the rooms have outside entrances.
Would we stay here again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Reserve as early as possible for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegascouple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear VegasCouple90,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review of your recent stay. Thank you for the kind remarks in regards to our friendly staff, room cleanliness, water pressure, and delicious breakfast. We want each and every guest to leave for the day full and ready to explore the culture of Old Town and other Albuquerque sites. I will be looking into the staff eating the guest breakfast items. Thank you for your concern and letting us know. It is true all our guest room entrances are exterior. We know safety is a very big concern with our guests. That is why we have a top notch security system installed on our property. We want each guest to know we take their safety very seriously. We hope you will change your mind and give our property another chance.

Best of luck to you,
Elena, Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Property: Econo Lodge Old Town
Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing