We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mahi fish sandwich on the island”
Review of Kalama's - CLOSED

Kalama's
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
BC Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best mahi fish sandwich on the island”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stop in for lunch anytime we are on the Big Island. The mahi fish burger is the best and well worth the price. Only issue is that they don't maintain a public restroom, so stop into the Kona Coffee Co-operative next door and buy something there so that you can be a legitimate "non-public" to use their's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffry P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome shaved ice!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After visiting Manini beach we stopped by Kalama's and had three delicious shaved ice! The ice was perfect, and my daughter is still talking about it, almost a year after. Going back there in a month time and we are for sure going to stop and have some more shaved ice ;)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent little place!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went here after Kayaking on the ocean upon the recommendation of our tour guide. We are glad we did! My wife had the Eric burger (I believe) and it is a big chunk of fresh fish served on a delicious bun. Best fish sandwich she's ever had, she claims! AND we've been all over the Hawaii Islands! I had the steak terriyaki plate and it was good. Finish it off with a wonderful shaved ice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ready4MoreBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious burger”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Kim chee burger was delicious. Opened at 11 am on a Sunday. Teriyaki fries were scarfed down quickly! Quinoa bowl a bit bland. Food adds up quickly here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best potato-Mac ever!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

First time we were in Hawaii,we came across their first hamburger place. We were introduced to potato-Mac and loved it so much,we went back several times. The owners were wonderful and she actually gave me her potato-Mac recipe. It is a favorite of my friends and co-workers at all gatherings we have here in Texas. We've been lucky enough to go back 4 more times and seek Kalama's out every time! See y'all soon! Bill and Gail, Austin Tx

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail_Mac58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalama's also viewed

Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing