We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problems with owner yet - and "Eric's mahi burger" is great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalama's - CLOSED

Kalama's
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“No problems with owner yet - and "Eric's mahi burger" is great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Judging by the previous reviews, the owner here needs therapy, but we've never had problems. However, the gallery and indoor seating and restrooms never seem to be open - having them at all may just be a trick to meet health-department regs. The teenage girls at the cash window aren't exactly briliiant, either, and they can't hear well over the kitchen noise, so you have to speak up when ordering. But the "Eric's mahi burger" is well worth stopping for, served on what they call a "potato bun" which is mild and tasty and soft, and with a generous slab of grilled fish and good cole slaw (under the bun) and sauce (eat this burger fast, before it gets soggy). Also, the ahi spinach wrap is worthwhile - it has a spicy wasabi, and is quite good.

There are a few tables here outdoors, and adequate parking, but the weather's hot, and we stayed locally, so we did take-out. This is a roadside shack - some people just stop here for the shaved-ice drinks, to cool off - but the food's surprisingly good. Closes early - get there before 4 (if not earlier) if you can. Extremely informal - some people shirtless, and those are the tourists. Well-located next to the coffee roastery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Abusive Owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stopped this business by because we were told the attached store/gallery had an ATM not for a snack or lunch. The lighted sign said open but the door was locked. We inquired about this to the owner. He immediately went into a four letter tirade which we cannot publish on Trip Advisor. He characterized us as not been able to read, ignorant and made many other personal insults. He told us to get off his property with further four letter words. Our experience is consistent with several previous comments. We were so concerned for our personal safety that we stopped by the local police station on the way to the airport but the officers were out on a call. This business has to be avoided. Sadly behavior like this is a disrespect to all the kind and gracious people and hosts who we met on every other occasion on the Big Island of Hawaii. In the interests of Aloha and public safety, this review must be published.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskanSourdough_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A MUST have the traditional way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have been to many shaved ice places in this island but Kalamas has our hearts! This is THE place to go for certain. The thing to remember as a tourist, is that Hawaii is laid back and a much slower pace of life. Real shaved ice does take time and Kalamas is worth the wait! Sit back....relax....smell the plumeria! As for the locals, smile....tell them where you're visiting from and what you like about their island. They have been warm and gracious to my family and all the friends I've dragged up the mountain with me!

See you in June Kalamas!! :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photo007Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is NOT fast food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stopped for lunch on our way to Manini Beach. We were a party of 4, with another 4 people ahead of us, and it took about 20 minutes to get our food. Our food was freshly cooked and was quite tasty - but if you're expecting to grab a quick burger and jump back into the car this is not the place. They even have a sign stating that if you are in a hurry, you're welcome to go someplace else, but we did not notice it at first. Still, we enjoyed our lunch, and appreciated that they had a veggie burger option. Mahalo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Tasty surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The girls here make delicious food. If you like swimming and snorkeling at Manini beach and Kealakekua Bay Park, Kalama's is your bet for a quick and unpretentious yummy lunch in the neighbourhood. Come by 12:00 to catch first orders, otherwise waiting for your meal might gives you stomach ache....
They say shaved ice here is the best on the Kona coast. I can definitely say is one of the best. Passion fruit, guava is my favorite. Don't forget to ask for coconut sirop on top.
Amongst a full list of meals, Eric Mahi Burger stands out for quality and savour. You won't go wrong with this fresh mahi grilled burger that melts in your mouth. Bon appetit!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalama's also viewed

Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing