We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST OF THE BEST STOP IN NOWHERE LAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Coffeehouse & Cafe at Honaunau - CLOSED

Kona Coffeehouse & Cafe at Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE BEST OF THE BEST STOP IN NOWHERE LAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is worth the trip down the road from City of Refuge, JoesNuts.com for a farm tour and the painted church -- well worth the afternoon! the water is FAB

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well worth the stop. The food is amazing. The burgers are local, the Macadamia burger is not to be missed and the ahi-melt is awesome! Oh and the coffee is great! We liked it so much the first time we stumbled on it we came back the next day before snorkeling at Pu'uhonua O Honaunau Park. Highly reccomended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for lunch, am looking forward to their Sunday brunch ;-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

With a cozy little backyard, this restaurant has all you need for a good meal; high quality ingredients, good service and beautiful flowers on the stone wall surrounding the back yard. They have a weekend brunch which we must try out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedanishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ahi melt to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place is great. They have the ahi melt on special, but it goes quick. They also have a very unique slaw. The dessert platter, well, save some room. The flourless chocolate cake is like heaven.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
396 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stopped at this roadside restaurant at the recommendation of a park ranger, and it was terrific. We ended up going here twice for lunch. On the first visit I ordered the Mac vege burger. I have to admit I'm not into vege burgers, at all, but this one interested me because it was freshly made and prepared at this restaurant, with locally grown macadamia nuts. I was VERY pleased with this burger and looked forward to ordering it again. The service was good, and helpful, and the prices were reasonable. This restaurant is located on Highway 11, near the Painted Church, and I'd happily go to it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Coffeehouse & Cafe at Honaunau also viewed

Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing