We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Accommodating”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We just returned from a 2 week trip to Hawaii which included visiting Maui, Kaui (hiked the famous Kalalau Trail for my 40th birthday) and the Big Island. It was a fantastic vacation. We chose to stay in a B&B for our trip to the Big Island as we wanted to have a more local experience (that we believed this would provide). It sure did! Bob and Mary own and run this B&B. It is quite evident that they take great pride in providing comfortable accommodations and sharing helpful information about the island's activities. The best part: being served a wonderful home-made breakfast (including locally grown fruit and Kona coffee) each morning on the patio overlooking the ocean.
We stayed in the Plumeria room which was quite cozy with it's private lanai and bathroom. Each room has the same amenities (even a small fridge). There is no air conditioning but this is not necessary with the ceiling fan and the breeze off the ocean. We slept peacefully each night.
The B&B is located rurally about 45 minutes from the Kailua-Kona Airport. Restaurants require a short drive. Mary provided a list of recommended restaurants with driving directions which was very helpful. I highly recommend the Coffee Shack (beautiful view overlooking the ocean and great food), the Cafe Kei (Yum!) and Amici's (try the Seafood Pescatore).
There is fantastic snorkeling a short drive away (Bob gave great directions, even providing a map). Mauna Kea and Kilauea require some driving time but wherever you stay on the Big Island will require some driving to a number of activities. I have to admit the drives were very scenic and enjoyable.
Overall Bob and Mary, in addition to their wonderful accommodations, made out trip to the Big Island memorable. We definitely recommend this B&B and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecofriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at the Hale Ho'ola in the Pulmeria Suite, by myself (I was traveling for work), for two nights. The room is clean and has decorated nicely, the bathroom was a good size and the garden/ocean lanai was a lovely place to sit and read. The breakfast was the best bit, the food and company were both great and the little geckos only add to the ambiance.

Mary and Bob were considerate and kind hosts, providing beach towels, snorkeling things and boogie boards and an array of other fun things for their guests. They even went as far as to mail my cell phone charger back to me, when I stupidly left it in the room.

I would defiantly recommend this for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosthejackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights in December, and it was absolutely wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely, clean, and tastefully decorated, with a great view of the ocean and breeze over lanai. Bob and Mary really make you feel like home when you stay with them. They were very accommodating when our daughter joined us at the last minute. Daily homemade breakfasts were delicious, with fruit picked fresh from their garden (they even let us pick our own starfruit, since they'd grown more than they could eat) and curious geckos making a move for your juice. Mary and Bob can give you plenty of suggestions on places to eat and things to do, route to take, and most attractions are an easy drive from the B&B. Wildlife was abundant - wild pigs and roaming cows paid us a visit every day. Bob has plenty of stories to tell, so make sure you chat with him over breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeopoldinaIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed there for six nights and we were treated like king and queen. Bob and Mary, the owners, were never tired of giving good tips what to do. They made the reservation for us and helped wherever they could.
The breakfast was always a delicacy with a lot of fruits, tremendous coffee and always something warm, which was homemade.
An additional feature was the outstanding view over the ocean. In the evenings it was just lovely to see the sunsets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Mary and Bob are wonderful hosts. I had a few special requests as far as the timing of my visit was concerned and they accomodated me graciously and completely. Breakfast was a real treat with visits from a multitude of curious and colorful geckos. Those were the best pictures I took on my entire visit to the island. The accomodations are clean and simple and the location is great for exploring from Kona to Mauna Koa to Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncitsctlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Plumeria, a single room - clean and pretty. The view outside on the lanai was interesting with wildlife - wild cows, boars, chickens coming up to the fence to awaken us each morning at sunrise. Spicy conversation can be had with Bob while Mary graciously served a delicious and filling breakfast on the lanai with the geckos. Bob had the daily weather report and recommendations of good places to eat - we tried several of them. The very distant view of the ocean was usually clouded over in the morning. The small fridge on the lanai was convenient and the chairs and table comfortable and relaxing. The room may be freshened with clean towels and washcloths after 4 night stay. We traveled 40 miles to visit beautiful white sand beaches and other sites on the north end of the island. I would not recommend this B&B for those looking for a quiet, romantic, private stay. For those who enjoy lively conversation, early morning sounds of work, animals, people in the next room and a homey atmosphere - I highly recommend Hale Ho'ola B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Palm Room. Spacious, comfortable, clean. B&B has coolers, beach mats, boogie boards, towels and assorted goodies for guests to use. Warm, homey enviornment. It's like you are visiting your Auntie Mary and Uncle Bob. Nice private lanai with great view. It's fun seeing the wildlife cruise through the nearby ranch. And Marys breakfast...excellent, you will have a full belly for your daily excursions. Bob gets you the daily weather report for the island and gives good tips on restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunscreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
18.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
18.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 mi away
Kalaekilohana
Kalaekilohana
#1 of 1 in Naalehu
304 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mermaid Dreams Bed and Breakfast
18.5 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range: £102 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing