We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Stay”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I had a delightful three days at Hale-Hoola Inn enjoying quiet nights, beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean, lovely breakfasts and the most friendly inn keepers I've ever met. The directions to the inn were clear and easy to follow, rooms were very clean and each has it's own private bath and balcony as well as a shared sitting room. Upstairs was a large shared balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The gardens surrounding the inn were well tended and full of wonderful Hawaiian fruit trees and flowers. The inn is within 20 minutes of fine dining and a beautiful 40 minute drive from the heart of the Kona coast. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Thank you Mary and Bob. We loved your home.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank denlvspigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

We came for a relaxing time in Big Island. This place fit the bill perfectly. Bob and Mary warmly welcomed us to their beautiful, home. The house, surrounded by fruit trees, is a unique design - Mary's delicious breakfast is served on their deck overlooking National Trust land. Gecko's will keep you company as you eat. Bob is a story teller and a hoot! We laughed the whole time! We would definitely come back - in fact, we sent a couple there the day after we left.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MassachusettsJimdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Bob and Mary were delightful! Clean, quiet and centrally located with access to some key points on the island. Bob had a number of great insider tips on exploring the treasure spots this cool island has to offer. The morning breakfast features true Kona coffee and plantation treats. A really nice touch was having complimentary access to beach equipment for snorkelling, boogie-boarding and more! The restaurant review sheet they provide was most helpful...we enjoyed all of our meals at their suggested spots. Our stay at this B&B was really pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JMac_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We were thrilled to join Bob and Mary for their delicious and beautiful breakfasts and had a very comfortable "suite" all to ourselves. They went out of their way to give us great sightseeing tips (and shopping tips too!) and to provide everything you could possibly need from refridgerator and microwave to beach towels and umbrellas. We felt more like we were visiting family members than a business and found ourselves referring to them even at home. The room was very quiet and private. It was also pretty and spacious. The little fridge out on our private lanai was a nice touch too. We also enjoyed the close proximity to all the great snorkling and, kayaking. It was a great "home away from home".

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

I arrived on the West side of the island with no accommodations booked. I wanted to avoid the congestion of Kailua-Kona, so opted for Captain Cook. I called around 5pm and was told there was a room available.

Bob and Mary could not have been more gracious hosts. They had me in for tea one night and I felt as though I had been adopted. Mary's breakfasts were wonderful.

The B&B rooms are on the first floor of the house and the owners live on the second floor. There are no ocean views from the ground floor because of grown-up vegetation on the adjacent land, but each room has a private deck with a refrigerator and seating. Breakfast is served on the deck of the 2nd level and does have ocean views.

The rooms themselves were average....being that close to the water, there was mildew in the bathroom. The room was cleaned within an acceptable level but not immaculate.....then again, I showed up with only a couple of hours of notice so they may not have had an opportunity to tidy up.

There is a common living area into which all the rooms on the ground floor open. This is stocked with a microwave and tea options. They also have a wide selection of beach chairs, coolers, towels, snorkel equipment, etc that are available for guest use.

The property is lush and very quiet and relaxing. Be prepared to drive for restaurants, beaches and recreation. Bob provided some detailed recommendations....but I did have to spend some time in the car to see the local sights.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Remote Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

A very nice B&B, rooms are very clean and with a veranda.
Very delicious breakfast, made by Mary, wih a lot of fresh fruit; served upstairs on the veranda with a beautiful view.
Mary & Bob are very friendly people; a nice place to stay for a few days!
www.hale-hoola.com

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HawaiiDordrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We only stayed 2 days but wished it could have been much longer. The hosts Bob and Mary worked incredibly hard to make sure that our stay was perfect. The breakfasts were prepared with true care and provided a home-like beginning for our days. We stayed in the Plumaria room and found it to be clean, quiet and comfortable. Our private lanai was a great place to relax at the end of a day. A wonderful B&B for us. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
18 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
29.8 mi away
Pahala Plantation Cottages
16.1 mi away
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range: £96 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing