We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!!!”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed here for three days ...
Great price! Really attentive hosts who go way out of their way to make sure Your taken care of to the very best of their abilities (I Am a wheat free vegan). Breakfast superb!
Room (their cheapest) was just lovely! (veranda facing the sea :)
Pleas note they also have lots of snorkeling, & body board, gear + beach towels to borrow (no charge).
Bob & Mary ~ Thank Yoüü soooo much!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianmieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hale Ho'ola B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

This homey place with expansive views and decks is a lovely retreat. Mary is an extraordinary hostess and cook and thoughtful guide to the Big Island's treasures. Bob knows where to get the best wine, the best deal, and even calls ahead for your reservations for dinner!

We settled in like we were visiting friends for the weekend and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razzinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Bob and Mary happily include their guests into the family, sharing generous breakfast, stories and helpful hints to make the most out of your stay on the outstanding lanai upstairs. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Beach gear like umbrellas, towels, bodyboards are available for the guests. Conveniently located to the top snorkel and sunset spots south of Kona.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife & I were looking for a quiet B & B that served an actual breakfast & had two beds & a private bath. This was just the ticket. Our breakfasts made & served by Mary were "wonderful" and our morning conversations with Bob was helpful in directing us to the best eateries as well as places to visit. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank merlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My partner and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Hawaii, four days of which we spent at Hale Ho'ola and couldn't be happier with our experience. In short - Mary and Bob are fantastic! Both gave us some great activity suggestions, Mary provided some of the best breakfast we had throughout our stay, and Bob provided some of the best story-telling we've heard in a long time; Bob even broke out cigars and brandy and the two guys chatted for better than an hour one evening.

Their home is perfectly lovely. The previous reviewer is correct - it's not ocean front property, but nothing about Hale Ho'ola states that it is. There is a panoramic ocean view from the breakfast area and, when the Hawaii weather cooperated, it was breathtaking. Yes, it is absent air-conditioning, but none of the B&B's we stayed in throughout our entire trip had air-conditioning....it's Hawaii for god's sake - turn on the ceiling fans (which were more than enough), open your windows and breath the fantastic fresh air.

I don't know what to say about the previous review. Our trip was less than 2 weeks after theirs and our experience (and mind you - we actually stayed!) is without any complaint. If you want air-conditioning, a swimming pool, room service, etc... stay at some mass-marketed resort. If however you want charming accomodations, amazing food, colorful characters and an incredibly unique and memorable experience then Hale Ho'ola - and Mary and Bob - are a good bet.

Maholo.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank white-daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I have just concluded a return visit to Hale Ho'ola. My second experience has been a happy reunion with Bob and Mary and experiencing the delights of their hospitality, local knowledge, tranquility and Mary's luscious breakfasts. I was delighted to see again the well maintained tropical gardens. My suite was spotless and all amenities up to my expectations, especially the comfortable queen size bed - a wonderful, restful way to finish the day after traveling and sightseeing the beautiful island of Hawaii.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I had a delightful three days at Hale-Hoola Inn enjoying quiet nights, beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean, lovely breakfasts and the most friendly inn keepers I've ever met. The directions to the inn were clear and easy to follow, rooms were very clean and each has it's own private bath and balcony as well as a shared sitting room. Upstairs was a large shared balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The gardens surrounding the inn were well tended and full of wonderful Hawaiian fruit trees and flowers. The inn is within 20 minutes of fine dining and a beautiful 40 minute drive from the heart of the Kona coast. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Thank you Mary and Bob. We loved your home.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank denlvspigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
18.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
12.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
30.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range: £100 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing