We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a First Rate Experience at Hale Hoola B&B”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a First Rate Experience at Hale Hoola B&B”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had a wonderful experience staying here at Hale Hoola. Bob and Mary are wonderful hosts; it's like staying with family or friends. Breakfast was exceptionally yummy, with fresh fruits picked right from Mary's garden. The room was clean and comfortable. Sitting on the patio, having breakfast, and enjoying the sun and the cute little geckos was an experience; you couldn't ask for anything better. If you are traveling in the Big Island, don't miss staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    39
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

On our journey at Big Island we spent 4 nights at Hale-Hoola. We were happy to get great tips from Bob, the host of the Hale-Hoola, what to do on our vacation. On our last evening at Big Island, he arranged us a table from Keèi Cafe where had execellent mahi mahi.
Mary served wonderful breakfasts and even made us "bag breakfast" when we had to continue our trip to Mau`i very early in the morning, thank you :)
Both of hosts were so kind and we felt like being home. Maybe the rooms could have been cleaner but that didn`t disturb us at all.

Heli & Mikko, Espoo, Finland

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights with Bob and Mary at their bed and breakfast after our daughter and her fiance' found them a year ago when they vacationed on the Big Island. We had a bit of a scare with the potential for the big Tsumani but we felt comfortable and well cared for through the warning. Bob even took my husband out to watch from a high point to see what was going on. Mary was kind enough to keep me busy in the kitchen at my request to keep my mind off of things! The B+B room was beautiful with our own private screen porch and bathroom. Everything was spotless and Mary's cooking is the best! Thank you for a great visit and we are glad the Tsunami was a "false alarm"!!!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CiCi543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed here for three days ...
Great price! Really attentive hosts who go way out of their way to make sure Your taken care of to the very best of their abilities (I Am a wheat free vegan). Breakfast superb!
Room (their cheapest) was just lovely! (veranda facing the sea :)
Pleas note they also have lots of snorkeling, & body board, gear + beach towels to borrow (no charge).
Bob & Mary ~ Thank Yoüü soooo much!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianmieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This homey place with expansive views and decks is a lovely retreat. Mary is an extraordinary hostess and cook and thoughtful guide to the Big Island's treasures. Bob knows where to get the best wine, the best deal, and even calls ahead for your reservations for dinner!

We settled in like we were visiting friends for the weekend and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Bob and Mary happily include their guests into the family, sharing generous breakfast, stories and helpful hints to make the most out of your stay on the outstanding lanai upstairs. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Beach gear like umbrellas, towels, bodyboards are available for the guests. Conveniently located to the top snorkel and sunset spots south of Kona.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton, texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife & I were looking for a quiet B & B that served an actual breakfast & had two beds & a private bath. This was just the ticket. Our breakfasts made & served by Mary were "wonderful" and our morning conversations with Bob was helpful in directing us to the best eateries as well as places to visit. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank merlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
18.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
38.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
12.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Property: Hale Ho'ola B&B
Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing