We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kane Plantation Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albany, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Michael and David's attention to detail made the stay at Kane Plantation just perfect. David's breakfasts are scrumptious and too good to resist . Location, atmosphere and hospitality were absolutely top class. Tasteful surroundings, gorgeous views and garden. Here you gain a feeling of being thoroughly spoilt and away from the "workaday". The best value for money in all of the islands we visited. ( Oahu, Maui Big Island and Kauai)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
123
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you only had one choice of accommodation in Hawaii, make Kane Plantation Guesthouse your only destination.

Don't be worried about the rugged farm road that meanders up the lower slopes of Mauna Loa through coffee plantations and avocado orchards, as a tropical paradise awaits you at 1,100 feet with stunning views of the Pacific ocean.

You will quickly discover that this is NOT your typical bed & breakfast, but instead, an exquisite luxury retreat!

Michael and David, are gracious hosts and are there to make you feel instantly at home the moment you set foot on this property. Their impeccable attention to detail is reflected in every aspect of this place, from the exceptional design and decor of each suite, the personalised service from each staff member, the beautifully designed breakfast, through to the pristine condition of the property.

My wife and I stayed at the Kane Suite for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and everything about it was heavenly. The indoor atrium and waterfall provided the well needed tranquility for us to unwind. The bed was extremely comfortable and you get to watch the sunset from your room and wake up to a stunning ocean view each morning. The covered lanai in front of the room was a great spot to relax and enjoy the complimentary minibar drinks/snacks or home baked cookies.

The decor at the Kane Suite was absolutely stunning as you are surrounded by original artwork from world renowned Hawaiian artist, Herb Kawainui Kane. It was a humbling experience as you see his artwork everywhere you go in Hawaii from postcard through to museums. Michael and David have done an outstanding job by keeping Herb's legacy alive.

Breakfast - my favourite part!! David is a fantastic chef who creates a different menu each day using locally grown organic products. We were treated to a 5-star breakfast comprising a generous selection of fresh fruits, breads, granola and cheeses at the breakfast bar, followed by a cooked breakfast. You wake up each morning eagerly wondering what scrumptious meal David has prepared for the day.

With Michael being a licensed travel agent, he willingly shares travel tips and good spots to visit around the island, and can help organise excursions should you require it. The Guesthouse is also well equipped as they were able to provide us with snorkel gear, reef walkers and beach towels for our trip to the beach.

There is also a heated spa pool a real treat especially in the evenings when you get to enjoy a hot soak under the moonlight or clear starry skies.

Like most travellers, our only regret was not staying longer at Kane Plantation. We will definitely be back here on our next Hawaiian holiday.

Mahalo Michael and David!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Where to start? Michael, David and their team have created a truly special place to stay on Big Island. They fully appreciate how central an accommodation choice is to the enjoyment of your vacation and they manage to exceed expectations on every front. Every last detail is attended to with thought and care, and with an eye to local products and considerations wherever possible. The hosts are charming, breakfasts are delicious, filling and creative, and the views from the property are beautiful. Our suite, Kanaloa, was set up to allow enjoyment of the outside while being inside, with sliding screens to the bedroom and living area, which we loved. The hot outside shower in this suite was another plus. We would return to Kane Plantation in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Kane or Kanaloa are on the first floor with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We could not have asked for a more perfect introduction to the Big Island. The place is truly sublime. Our hosts were the consummate professionals while down to earth and just plain lovely. The entire stay was magical.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here in the fall of 2013 and had such a wonderful experience. After reading all the great reviews and first hand experience, I have planned my wedding here in late March 2014 and have guest attending from all over including Washington DC, Houston Texas, Canberra Australia, and Bogota Colombia.
The views from all over the property are breathtaking and the spacious rooms are very comfortable and relaxing. It is also pretty cool that you can walk among the orchards of avocados and coffee and macadamia nuts and other tropical fruits. Breakfast was awesome. So good.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kane Suite. It was very large and comfortable. The tropical garden out back added a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncthomeexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We couldn't recommend Lane Plantation more highly. David and Michael and the rest of their staff are lovely hosts who attend to every imaginable detail to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We even had special Christmas themed dinnerware for our four course Christmas breakfast! If you come to the big island, staying at Kane Plantation is a must.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovey stay at Kane plantation, one of the most beautiful and relaxing places in Hawaii.The Kona district on the West coast of the Big Island has a beautiful climate all year round, every day is near perfect. Kona-Kailua is a nice tropical town, but quite busy. Once you drive south, past where Captain Cook was killed you enter a magical area of old Hawaii. Spectacular, views, tropical vegetation and many small coffee farms.
Then you arrive at Kane Plantation. A very well run place with wonderful hosts, David and Michael. They serve a full delicious breakfast featuring local produce, in particular the excellent avocados grown on the property, a fully operational avocado farm.

The suites have been beautifully decorated in Hawaiian style and feature the art of the famous Hawaiian artist Herb Kane, who built the plantation and did most of his painting there. David and Michael love to explain the history of this wonderful property and show you around the garden, which does very well in the perpetual spring climate. The views back down over the Captain Cook monument and the city of refuge, some 1000 foot below is breathtaking.

The whole experience at Kane Plantation was the stand out of our time in Hawaii, it was like living a life that has disappeared in most places.

We will go bak there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
16.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
40.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
28.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kane Plantation Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane Plantation Guesthouse

Property: Kane Plantation Guesthouse
Address: 84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726-0619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse located in Captain Cook, the cultural heart of Hawaii's Big Island South Kona district, at the historic home of Artist and Historian Herb Kawainui Kane. The guesthouse is situated on a 16 acre avocado farm, with beautiful tropical gardens and sweeping views of the coast from Kealakekua Bay to Pu`uhonua O Hōnaunau. 77mi from Volcano and 26mi from Kona airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane Plantation Guesthouse Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing