We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Motel Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Motel Value”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We are return guests and will return to Curly Redwood Lodge again when traveling in California. We were headed south on I-5 and detoured to the coast because of the beauty of the area and we knew we would have a beautiful, comfortable and budget friendly place to stay. The drive to Crescent City from Grant's Pass was a beautiful! We made a wrong turn onto South Fox Road, taking us into the Smith River National Recreation Area. We followed the Smith River canyon and were delighted by the beauty of the canyon and the Green water of the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    181
    95
    30
    14
See reviews for
110
166
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Curly Redwood 11 years ago when our oldest was an infant. Last night we stayed again with all 3 kids. Great 2 room suite so Mom and Dad has some privacy. Very retro furnishings and amazing redwood interior and exterior. Room was extremely clean. Will definitely stay again on next road trip!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jockolewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the CRL on a short trip from Medford,OR. The room was very spacious, and since we have two little children, lots of room for them to run around. The room contained 2 queen sized beds, and they were comfortable. There was a nice flat screen TV. Our room had a single shower, but I read that others have a tub. The furniture was retro, but it goes well with the rest of the hotel. I enjoyed our stay in the room, and if you are only there to sleep and relax, perfect! A must see is the drive down Howland Hill Rd, through the Redwoods, Stout Grove, and if you are an adventurer, try to find the Grove of the Titans!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthernOregon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The sea breeze took my breath away upon entering Crescent City , and the best option upon arrival is to set up at The Curly Redwood. It's got the best views and location in town. And the historic architecture is custom Northern California- from the good ol' logging and fishing lodge days. Rooms are priced very well with super comfy beds for after crabbing, fishing and surfing (I did all three in a weekend, too).

Room Tip: Room 5 is sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miles Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just go by and see this amazing motel. The redwood is everywhere on the building and it is beautiful 'paneling.' But don't stay here....there are other options in the city! Room was bare bones, no tub, a tiny shower with black mold (!), 50's furniture and the thinest mattress I have ever seen. Unfriendly check in....promised coffee in the morning but no one was there til after 8. Not a good experience but worth it to just see the place. The whole town of Crescent City had a bad vibe for me. Just saying.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopysoupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crlodge701, General Manager at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
You can't please everyone and it looks like you might be one. We are a property from the 50s and try to keep it that way, a blast from the past! Our many return and first time customers continue to tell us to never change. We have high end mattresses from Serta that are changed out every 5 years, if you want to pay 30-60 dollars more a night for a 10" mattress you might find one in Crescent City. But if you want a reasonable, simple, clean, comfortable night, this is the place. Sorry we couldn't please you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Its always interesting to look @ the reviews! My friend suggested I stay here now that I don't have my dog. They ABSOLUTELY do not take pets. You can't even leave your pet in the car in the parking lot! I'm assuming people tried to sneak them in...gold ole Americans! Anyway, the room is the size of 3 Motel 6 rooms! The bathroom shower will accommodate 2 people nicely. You don't get shampoo in ANY motels on the low $$$ end anymore!.Get real. The desk has a very comprehensive book of all the restaurants in town with some 'starred' from previous reviews of people who have stayed here. My only complaint would be no toilet seat cover as there is nowhere to put anything after you shower. I usually use the toilet seat cover for that purpose. Yes, the road noise is a consideration but dies down about 10pm. BIG bonus for me is that each room has its own parking space. No dragging your stuff from 6 parking spots down. That's probably because most of the motel is single story. 157,000 board feet came from 1 redwood tree....that's where all the wood came from!

Room Tip: Closer to the check-in. Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Four motorcycles which we could park under cover right at the door. The two-room suite has three queen-sized beds and lots of space. Free WiFi.
Heat was a bit hard to adjust and remember you share a bathroom for both rooms. However, at $90 for 4 people it was very inexpensive.
The fish place across the street makes for an easy dinner.

Room Tip: There are two-room suites if you have a small group
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#13 of 18 in Crescent City
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Property: Curly Redwood Lodge
Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing