We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the Curly Redwood Lodge for one night on our trip through the redwood forests. If you go on amenities and furnishings alone, you wouldn't describe the Lodge as modern and well appointed. The rooms are, indeed, simple as others have said. However, what the Lodge lacks in these areas, it more than makes up for in charm, cleanliness and value for money. Despite the lack of recent refurbishments, the rooms are absolutely spotless. The bathroom we had was cleaner than some that we have encountered in 3 or 4 star hotels. The rooms are also large and equipped with all of the basics to see you through your one or two night stay, which is what the Lodge is really for. The staff at check in are friendly, efficient and gave us great advice on what to do and see in the area. in relation to meeting expectations, the Curly Redwood Lodge definitely exceeded ours in terms of what's on offer and value for money, which is why we think it deserves "full marks"!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dxb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint place that is more reasonable than most but is a basic, no frills place. My room had a flat screen tv. Coffee is only in lobby. It was clean and check in folks were friendly. I lived the 50's decor and feel as that is when it was built. Loved the redwood! Unique place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were driving down the pacific coast highway and needed a place to stop for the night just south of Jedidiah Smith Park. Curly Redwood had a good rate and was in a great location for our needs. The staff was very nice and helpful and there were a few good restaurants within walking distance. The lodge is definitely a "blast from the past", as others have said, and the smell of wood can be a bit overpowering. The amenities aren't terribly modern or fancy - although the wifi was fast and free! - but it is a good one night stop!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RMWINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This motel features paneling and doors made from one redwood tree harvested in 1952. The rooms are large and clean with older tube T.V's. No refrigerator, coffee machine or microwave. Hand soap in the bathroom but no shampoo. The wifi worked well in the room we were in. The beds are older but adequate. It's 7:15am here and the office isn't open to get coffee yet. Luckily there is a restaurant across the street that's open. The property is shaped like a horseshoe. The rooms on the north have a second level above them. The stairs were right outside our window with people tromping up and down for hours last night. For what they are charging they should provide a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. If you plan on staying here bring your own coffee pot and book one of the south side rooms. You'll sleep better for it.

Room Tip: South side rooms have no rooms above them. Bring your own coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrMotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an older motel that has that 60's feel, but it was immaculately kept and very, very clean. The location was convenient to the boat launch and not too far from the town center. The person at the front desk was nice and gave us a little history of the place (and the massive tree it was made from). If you are planning on making a trip into the Redwood parks, this is a perfect place for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No frills hotel. For the area it was cheap and good. The room I had had new carpet, simple bed, and a decent bathroom. I would give it a higher rating but the walls are very very thin and I was woken up by the kids in the room next door talking very loud. The two working the front desk were happy to talk about how things used to be and try to figure out where I could get some gifts for people. We asked for few more towels, like 2 or so, and the maid gave us like 6 extra.

Room Tip: Right off of Highway 101 so if you want quite ask to be away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two teenage daughters. Yes. they were disappointed there wasn't a pool or flat screen TV, but we had spent quite a lot on hotels in the previous few nights, and I was looking for something a little more budget friendly. When we pulled up, the motel reminded them of the motel from the Disney movie "Cars". Our room was large, but again, no frills (No microwave or fridge) and the furniture was dated, but that was part of the look - very retro. It was clean, and that is my main concern. There were no bad smells (as some others have stated), the property was well maintained, and it met our needs for the evening. They have coffee in the lobby in the morning, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £42 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing