We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Worth the $, and even better if you love the '50s”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Totally Worth the $, and even better if you love the '50s”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Truly a bargain for what you get: The rooms are very spacious, clean, and memorable. This motel was built in 1957 from one redwood tree. This place will not blend into the haze that is Motel 6/Comfort Inn/La Quinta....et al. Offseason (March, 2009) a single cost us $55. Unlike what I read in other reviews, the bed was comfortable (firm).

There is nothing fancy about the place, and its amenities are limited (no fridge, microwave, etc.) but it is kind of fun, totally retro, clean, well run, and conveniently located. Coffee in the lobby in the AM comes from what appears to be a 1950s era silver coffee percolator. Also, covered parking is a plus if the weather should turn rainy. Personnel at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The recommendation for breakfast at the Good Harvest Cafe was a good tip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    184
    97
    30
    15
See reviews for
113
169
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

The Curly Redwood lodge is a no-frills, comfortable place to stay in Crescent City. I've stayed there twice now on trips down the coast and have found it to be a very affordable (rates are on their website), friendly, somewhat quirky place to stay.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominion08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverlakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

the staff are wonderful and fun to talk to. the rooms were clean and it looked like everything was original, down to the older lamps. it was quiet. they provided glass (not plastic!) drinking ware!

Helpful?
2 Thank redwoodted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We arrived in Crescent City early evening and checked the prices of several hotels. The Curly Redwood was only $59. a night, about half of what the others wanted. Decided to stop by and look at the rooms. The lady wasn't at all wanting to show us a room, told us that they all look like this, a picture on the counter. The lobby was very charming, all curly redwood, as was the entire outside. Decided to "take a chance". The rooms were average size and definitely dated from the early 60's. But....extremely clean! New carpets. Bathroom was spotless. We went with some friends and their room was the same way. We loved the charm of the rooms and the hotel. Beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were flat. We asked for more pillows and cheerfully received them. There were no ammenities, but saving $50 a night we didn't care! Loved the sound of the fog horn, traffic wasn't bad at all. Only heard the sea lions a couple of times. Over all, we loved this hotel! We ended up staying for two nights! We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Crescent City.

  • Liked — nostalgic and very clean, price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This is definitely a "what you see is what you get" place, but in a good way. Is it fancy? Not even close, but it's clean and the rooms are large, the staff is friendly and you really can't beat the rate. My husband and I were travelling with a 1 year old and my parents and we rented a 1 room suite for a night - we didn't get a queen bed room (double beds in our room), but it was fine nonetheless. There was wifi available and a restaurant across the street. We would stay here again if in the area, but book in advance to get the bigger bed suites.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moynishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed one night at the Curly Redwood lodge on our visit to the Redwood national park. The lodge is located near Crescent city center, there are a few restaurants/diners within walking distance from the place.
The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very nice and the staff was very friendly.
The area is relatively safe, although not very attractive in the night.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Some reviews complain that the place doesn't look to have been updated since the 1950s. I found that to be a BIG plus. The motel is very clean, the check-in service was prompt and friendly, and of course the interior decoration was from the '50s. That is part of the motel's charm and ambience. Of course the place does have WiFi and 75 cable channels so it's not as if it hides from the 21st century.

The road noise from Highway 101 was negligible and contrary to what others have said, we couldn't hear anyone in our neighboring rooms. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shank_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
987 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Property: Curly Redwood Lodge
Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing