We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel but in need of some upgrades...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed 5 July 2005

The Curly Redwood Lodge is a unique hotel, for sure - it was made from a single redwood tree! The check-in lady was very nice and gave us hot water for our noodles, since there was no microwave or coffeemaker (or a fridge) in the room. Breakfast is interesting...they give you a voucher (if you ask for it) for a very bare-bones breakfast at a local casino (10-min drive), which was pretty smoked up, even though the french toast/pancakes were fine. The rooms were clean enough and very 1970s (even the TV looked 20 years old). Bathrooms seemed renovated and there was a shower stall. Although the hotel was interesting, I wish it had more in-room amenities, as well as its own breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UK_Traveller3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 446 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Fairfield, CA
19
Reviewed 23 June 2005

I booked two rooms for two nights at the Curly Redwood Lodge based on Trip Advisor ratings and only stayed for one night. Out of the 5 adults that stayed at the lodge, not one would recommend the lodge for an overnight stay. The preserved redwood was interesting, but as expected, everything was very old. There was no temperature control in the rooms and on a hot night you have to open a window that faces the parking lot to let a breeze in. You end up trying to sleep through parking lot and street noise and hope the breeze reaches you to cool you off. The towels were razor thin, the ice buckets very small, the beds were uncomfortable, and one of the rooms we rented had a horrible salty mildew odor. We opened the window but still could not get rid of the stench. The hotel was booked and we could not be moved to another room. Eventually, we ended up going to the store to get air freshener and fabreeze to make the room bearable. The Curly Redwood Lodge earns two points for the interesting concept and excellent affordability. If you are looking for comfort (more than just a large room) and amenities, you might want to look elsewhere for a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2005

The redwood used in the motel was interesting. The rooms were large and clean, and we experienced no problems, and the covered parking was nice in the mist and fog.

I felt somewhat intimidated when I was questioned as to whether or not we had pets, when we had already been told they were not allowed. The signs that were posted would leave little doubt as to the rules.

Also, it felt somewhat strange to find the TV and lamp were permanently attached to the tables. My husband could not see the TV from the bed, and there was no way to adjust it.

I personally did not feel the warmth and comfort that I enjoy when traveling.

5  Thank granpeggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, Califonia
15
Reviewed 15 June 2005

It is so nice to find a historically preserved motel from the 50s. Nothing fancy, just that good home cooked, apple pie, kind of place, No advertisements in the room to remind us that we were not at home. None of the ammenities that you pay a handful of cash for but don't use. The cleanest, most comfortable room with all that beautiful Curly Redwood paneling in the rooms and outside too.
Close to the beach and the redwoods. Good restaurants close by.
Near to the best Thai Restaurant that side of San Francisco
Will stay there anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pasadena, California
215
Reviewed 8 March 2005

What a fun 'n funky place! If you are a fan of Roadside America, this is the spot for you in Crescent City.

Decorated with 50's-vintage lamps and furniture, scrupulously maintained. This may be the cleanest room I have ever been in - it almost seemed sterilized it was so clean. The redwood panelling was very pretty. Also, at $45/night with free breakfast at the diner across the street, this is the least expensive room I can ever remember having booked.

Although it is right on the 101, it was winter, so I had my windows closed and didn't really hear any traffic. Also, since I was up and at 'em before dawn every day, I wasn't disturbed by cars outside my door (I was very careful not to do any disturbing, myself!).

And what richness surrounds you! Migrating birds, hushed redwood groves, the Wild and Scenic Smith River, spectacular coastal scenery...I will be back to Redwoods country and when I am, I will stay at the Curly!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2005

I was driving from Seattle to San Francisco in 10 days so I did not spend a lot of time in Crescent City. It seems like a stopping place for a lot of travelers on the way to somewhere else and it also seems to have a lot of seasonal visitors. Curley Redwood was fantastic. Don't expect a fancy hotel or a pool or jacuzzi BUT the people there are very friendly and the lodge has a very homey feel to it. The lodge has a carport for each room with additional parking for more than one vehicle. The neatest thing about the lodge was that it was made compeltely out of redwood trees and the rooms are pretty big and wide open. Also, there is a casino about 1 mile from the lodge and a pretty marina across the street. So though Crescent City left something to be desired, Curley Redwood made the stop extrememly pleasant and homey.

6  Thank sara2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2004

7  Thank austrascruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4488
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £40 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing