We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redwoods”

Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Redwoods National and State Parks system, this state park was established in 1929.
Poway, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Redwoods”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you have an opportunity to drive through the Redwood Nat'l/State Forest you should take it. This is a beautiful area of the country and well worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susiev3733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    144
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing trees in Stout Grove!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Twenty years ago a crescent city local recommended Howland Hill Road to see some of the largest redwoods. Until last month I was unable to find them again. Then in June after doing some research online I was able to find this special place again. We had been going too far south into Redwood National Park and therefore kept missing these amazing giants. RNP has some amazing trees and is spectacular but I personally find the trees in the stout grove more impressive. Easy walk and beautiful drive. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foodlvrTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The trees are amazing. You know they are big, but standing next to them (SO MANY of them) is such a surreal experience. I only give the park 4 instead of 5 stars because of the campground. The sites are very nice, clean & private. But the showers require quarters (annoying when there are 4 of you to shower) and there is no soap or paper towels in the bathrooms? What? Do they have something against hygeine?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lil_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited the Jeddiah Smith Redwoods State Park - Stout Grove. Wow! This is a beautiful walk with old redwoods. The walk down the Smith River is breathtaking! A must!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCworldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Magestic”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

the most wonderful thing to experience in person. We drove in on Howland hill Road, we did part of the Boy Scout Trail (fantastic), and ended up at Stout Grove. Walk down to the river at Stout Grove. Very Beautiful <3

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park also viewed

 
Crescent City, CA
 

Been to Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing