We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creepy.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redwoods RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Redwoods RV Resort
D c
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Creepy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Best and only good thing were the trees. Bathroom dirty and unacceptable to shower in. Oh by the way...it is located across from a prison which they inform you after you have paid. Creepy.And you are also told that you will hear sirens but not to worry because they are only rescue vehicles not for prison breaks or tsunamis. Live and learn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Marydruppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just stayed one night in this amazing park! Our family personally prefers a "state park" type setting that is more wooded and this place hit the nail on the head. Wish we would have been able to stay in the area longer as the kids really wanted to explore the place on their bikes, but atlas time didn't allow for that. The spots were very spacious and with nice large trees. The park was clean and quiet and the office staff was very pleasant and helpful when we checked in. Definitely will be back when we get into the area. Another plus, we were traveling with four children and they didn't charge us extra like some places do. Nothing irks me more than to have to pay $3-4 extra a person each night. How much extra utilities and water do kids use? Thankfully this park agreed and we paid about $35 for the night with our Good Sam discount and the sales tax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CouponClipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a lovely cabin, though it was much smaller than anticipated. We were only two people...and two dogs, so the space was fine, but I think it would quite cramped with six people (the number of people it sleeps). We stayed in a luxury cabin....number one. Also, we think this is actually a trailer with cabin siding, which was totally fine, just not what we expected. Also, the upstairs loft area has quite low ceilings....we had to crouch or walk on our knees....it's about 3-4 ft tall. I don't think the pictures portrayed that accurately. I've included pictures...of the loft, stairwell, and our view from the covered porch.

Room Tip: From the outside, it looked like the premium cabin was bigger than the luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in this perfect park; and I do mean perfect! Nice manager, clean facilities, wonderful layout and oh! Those beautiful towering trees! Even fully booked on a Saturday night the park is still serene. It was recommended to us by friends and now we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I normally book at the KOA in Crescent City and found The Redwoods RV Resort online and decided to give it a try after looking at their website and calling them 3 different times to ask a few questions. When you pull in there is an actual trailer park that people live in and its about 1/4 of a mile from Pelican Bay. They only had 5 tent sites that are not nestled deep in the redwoods like the website and photos show. While checking in the guy at the desk informed me we would hear sirens every night and not to worry it wasnt someone breaking out of the prison across the street. Those sites are all more for the rv sitea. we were in a 2 inch thick of dirt and dust site right along the busy hwy. campgroup street lights were shinign bright right into the tent to make it hard to sleep. best way to describle how small these tent sites are is zero lot line campsites with hardy any room to breathe with people right next to you. I was not happy that I had booked my vacation with 2 small children for 5 days. I told the office that after seeing our site and not wanting to unpack and stay here that i was not happy and this was nto what their website described nor was i informed while calling them to reserve my site. we stayed one night and had them refund our money the other nights and packed up and went to the KOA 3 miles down the road for the rest of our trip. The only reason we didnt leave the first night was due to the fact that the KOA was full the Wednesday night we came into town. i will never stay at the this campground again. Only nice this was it was a clean...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Runnergirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

It wasn't a parking lot type site, that is for sure. The wifi isn't reliable, but the friendly staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It was a nice central area to start out day journeys from. I didn't see any of the trails other reviewers talk about, we did spend some time at the horse shoe pits. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lander, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is the most beautiful RV park we've ever seen! Many of the spots are right back in the massive trees and very secluded while still being accessible to the amenities. There's plenty of foresty spots to explore right in the campground. The showers were moderately clean but the hot water access was spotty. I heard several people complain of no hot water, especially in the evening. We arrived after hours and missed the turn off the highway -it's not all that well lit-then had to set up in the dark because the street lights were out. We never could get the WiFi to work and the office staff admitted it was spotty but to stand near the office for better connection. We were camped 20 ft from the office and still had no luck. The beautiful location does help to make up for the few negatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCronkRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
8.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.7 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
8.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwoods RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwoods RV Resort

Property: The Redwoods RV Resort
Address: 6701 Highway 101 North, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing